We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lajes do Pico
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is just as described. An eco conscious resort with top notch rooms / suites. Our suite was huge; had a fireplace and small fridge. The living area was very large and well appointed for relaxing. The hotel location is excellent; centrally located on the South coast of Pico sitting just above the sea. The grounds are extensive, so even with a "full house" you have room to roam and privacy to feel like you are in your own hideaway. The outside eating area is lovely as well and close by to all the rooms/suites.

Of note; the hotel is not suitable for anyone using a cane or a walker for stability. The natural setting has many stones creating unlevel paths, which although are very charming and fitting in this environment, would be challenging at best for those that are not absolutely sure footed. There are no ramps and many steps/stairs to negotiate to rooms, the pool, the lounge deck overlooking the sea and of course the rocky peninsula with the wonderful sunning "pods" with access to the sea.

Additionally, the hotel is rated 5 Stars and one might expect air conditioning. They do not have air conditioning or even overhead fans. While we were there the first of June, it was "unseasonably hot" per the staff, and our suite was rather uncomfortable the first night. We were lent a fan from the front desk and that helped somewhat, but not much. It was a night of little rest due to the heat. The following two nights were cooler and much more pleasant. The suite had a fireplace and radiators and extra blankets to provide comfort for chilly nights...but nothing to come to your aid in the event of heat. The addition of overhead fans would be respectful of the environment while also living up to a 5 Star rating/ providing a range of comfort for variance in the weather.

Breakfast was ample and staff was happy to please. Lunch was delightful as well. We did not have an opportunity to eat dinner there...but the patio and parking lot was full every evening. We were told by several people on the island that this hotel had "great dining."

Overall a charming and a unique place to spend your Pico holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the sea will have the best breeze and those on the first floor will have patios to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TetonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in May. Dinner excellent, breakfast ordinary hotel standard. Chalets delightful but uncomfortable beds and pillows. Staff friendly and tried hard. Beautiful place. Lovely swimming pool.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lucinda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay at Aldeia da Fonte was absolutely delightful. It is such a peaceful location, right on the water's edge. Ocean views from the hotel grounds are everything you'd expect, which is to say beautiful! The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The grounds and common areas are as well. While the weather was too cool for swimming during our stay (in April), the Bay swimming area has got to be awesome. Same for their swimming pool. The restaurant is frequented by the locals as well as guests -- that says a lot! Our meals were quite delicious, and the staff very helpful. Breakfast buffet was quite adequate -- plenty of selection to fill a hungry tummy. I would definately recommend this hotel to others, and will look forward to future visits on fututr trips to Pico. Nicely done Aldeia da Fonte!

Room Tip: Definately book ahead during high season.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rooms are really suites as they have large lounges with large bedrooms with king size beds. Breakfast is of good quality having meats , cheeses as well as various breads and yoghurt. The dinner menu features various local dishes such as conger eel and fish or meat kebabs. The hotel is in an idyllic setting, having a cliff edge walk and private sea bathing . Calm picturesque environment with friendly and attentive staff who speech excellent English. Well worth a visit

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Redbournite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Unfortunately I have to start out with a serious negative, even though we enjoyed our stay very much.

The bathrooms have the worst possible acoustic set-up possible, and you hear everything from your bathroom or the neighbors.

When ANY of the three neighboring rooms used the bathroom, we could hear EVERY groundshaking fart, plop in the toilet of their poop, their showers, and their conversations. And it was amplified by our bathroom, but closing the door does not help. I can imagine that in any of the other rooms its not as bad, but as we were centrally located in the unit, we got it from all sides. Its worth noting that you cant hear the neighbors at any other time, just when they are in their bathroom.

To the positives: incredible location with awesome views, excellent food, helpful and friendly staff all around, large rooms with good ammenities,

Room Tip: Room 5A has the best view, but is surrounded on all sides, so mornings will bring loud bathroom nois...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel is located on the sea in wonderful garden.
We were alone in the hotel and the staff helped us with maps for tracks in the area.
The food in the restaurant was delicious.
It was cooled so we just went to see the swimming pool and the veranda. Very nice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vered b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this hotel during a very slow period of the year. We were almost the only guest and therefore, did not expect too much of choice and service at this time of the year.

However, to our delight, the staff was always very nice and informative and they were caring for us to get something to bite (prepare food in advance and place it in room fridge to heat up for xmas eve on our own with a portable microwave). We found that very nice, since the entire island and all restaurants and bars shut down, so that it was impossible to get a hot meal otherwise.

Due to most restaurants being closed over xmas, we also had dinner at the hotel a couple of times and found it to be well prepared and tasty every time.

Regarding the room: it was in good condition, well heated and clean. The only thing we did not like so much was the fact that the bed was hard (only a mattress on a fixed-bar wooden frame) and twins put next to each other. However, this seems to be quite common and we had that in other hotels too. Another thing that was a bit surprising but not so disturbing was that bath towels sometimes smelled like they had been dried next to a deep fryer.

Breakfast was ok, we could not expect too much, first being on the Azores where there is no extensive breakfast culture and second being there in slow season. So it was basically the same every day. On some days, we could order eggs and real coffee with the waitress, whereas on other days when nobody from the hotel was around, there was no such opportunity and only lukewarm coffee that tasted like nescafe out of a metal container was available.

All in all, we enjoyed the time in this hotel and in Pico and would likely book the hotel again and recommend to colleagues.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HugoPoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajes do Pico
15.8 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#1 of 1 in Monte
58 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 6 in Horta
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 6 in Horta
182 reviews
20.3 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
20.4 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldeia da Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldeia da Fonte

Address: Caminho de Baixo | Silveira, Lajes do Pico, Pico 9930-177, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Pico > Lajes do Pico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lajes do Pico
Price Range: £57 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aldeia da Fonte 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldeia da Fonte is a "Charm Hotel" conceived to be a bastion for truly sustained ecological tourism. Its edification was based on the traditional local architecture and involved mainly the use of regional natural materials, such as basalt, our volcanic rock. It is a five-building based hotel, perched over the sea, having the splendorous Pico Mountain for background. The surrounding artistic gardens, with most of the original flora preserved, reflect the care and elegance invested on this serenity haven. The hotel provides 32 charming accommodations, each with personalized decoration that includes restored antiques and recuperation of various objects, depicting history and local culture. Its restaurant, "Hocus Pocus," has earned reputation of the best restaurant of the island. An Oasis of peace and serenity, in the Atlantic Azores, midway from America to Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Aldeia da Fonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldeia Da Fonte Hotel
Hotel Aldeia Da Fonte Pico/Lajes Do Pico, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing