We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the hill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Maria de Deus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sao Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Maria de Deus
Ranked #11 of 42 Sao Miguel B&B and Inns
Ocean Park, Maine
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Top of the hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I never have felt any more at home than I did at Maria's place. Her hospitality is just great. Having experienced the Santo Christo festival in Ponta Delgada the week before, I was not expecting the starting of another festival in this small town. The town is very closely knit together around the local church. Maria was able to find the the choir director of the church and he had a key to get us into the beautiful chapel. The tour was fabulous. If you do go there, try to get some of Maria's strawberry jam. Our breakfasts were great and able to send us along our travels full for the day. There was only a slight problem and it was the shower in our beautiful room. It was much too small for this big man. I was offered to go upstairs to a larger one, but I did make do with it. It may be a little hard to find, but if you can find the church you can find Maria. Stay here and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: You will like the first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigerRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Myself, my wife and daughters were greeted by Maria, a warm, hospitable woman who truly made her home our home. Caring and outgoing, Maria bakes, makes suggestions for your plans, makes your breakfast, provides you lunch and greets you at night to make sure you are comfortable. Sitting at her dinner table, it is as if you have joined cousins for a visit. Dina is close at hand helping where needed always with a smile. Maria can give you stories about the island, explain local history and direct you to the most wonderful geothermal baths ever experienced. Ask her about a Cozido Furnas! My body is in New Jersey, but my heart and mind are in Povocao, ready to return to Maria's home in the square.

Room Tip: Make sure you write down the address. It is just outside the center of Povocao.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dadder3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Lucky to find this place. For Single Travelers a perfekt home to come back after a Daytrip.
I Stayed in April 2013 for 11 Days. I didn't regret one single Day.
Dina gave me a feeling of being at home.
She welcomed me every morning with a big breakfast.
I could use the kitchen, like oven, fridge, microwave. The kitchen is fully equipped.
Even a washing mashine and dryer exists, what has been
desperatly necessary.
The Weather was partly very rainy and foggy.
Lomba de Loucao is in a beautiful nature part of the island.
I took long walks through the woods.
Was happy to have free Wifi.
I would always come back and dive into Life of the Locals.
Thanks to Dina for her Hospitality.
Perfect Place!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for peaceful place to stay on Azores, this is the place. Fantastic location, beautiful house and super nice hosts.
We stayed there for week and it was perfect "base" for trips to all locations on Sao Miguel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Bartosz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night and it was too much to handle. From the religious paraphenalia to the overzealous host who insisted on knowing every detail about us, followed us into our room and looked over our shoulder while on the internet, to the communal breakfast where we had to face a barrage of questions at 8am before we'd even had a coffee. Staying at the accommodation felt oppressive and there isn't much in the way of bars or restaurants, or even foot traffic, within walking distance.
I'm glad so many people enjoy it: Yes it's cheap, yes the view from the back garden of the hills is great and yes the host Maria sure gives it her all to make you part of her family. But if like us you are a young couple looking for some privacy you won't get a slither of it here. People reading this might assume we are obsessed with privacy or just strange people, on the contrary we have done many homestays and stayed at many backpackers - we first met in a hostel common room - but this was just too much. I rarely write bad reviews, prefer just to support those doing a great job, but since going there after reading the 100% positive reviews just wanted to set the record straight.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mquinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausset-les-Pins
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We enjoyed this place and especially the warm hospitality of our host Maria! we've been there for a few nights in August 2012. Maria prepares lovely breakfast - everyday there is something completely different and you don't walk away hungry! You can have your breakfast outside on the terrace: You will enjoy the beautifull green hill landscape with Sao Miguel mountains in the back.The garden and the patio are covered by flowers.The rooms are large and clean (as is the whole "casa") and very quiet. Maria also provides you with good advice on things to do or nice spots to discover (ask her for some beautiful beaches not crowded by flocks of tourists!), regardless if the weather is fine or rainy. If you are looking for heaven on earth, this must be it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank subbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My wife and I spent 7 nights at Casa Maria de Deus in April 2012. This was our first trip to the Azores. In a nutshell, the accommodation is excellent. We were really happy with all aspects of it and we would not hesitate to stay there again.
However, the best thing about the house is Dina (pronounced 'Dayna'!). Dina looks after the house and guests all year round, while Maria, the owner, spends just the 6 summer months from May at the property. Therefore we did not meet Maria, but everyone speaks very highly of her too.
Dina makes the breakfast, chats (if you want to) and does all the housework. She keeps the place absolutely immaculate. Her English is good and as an Azorean she has good local knowledge. She is SO helpful and generous - she's just a really nice, hard-working person.

The property itself is situated right next to the church, in the main square of a lovely sleepy little hill village (Lomba do Loucao) just outside Povoacao. You'd need to hire a car or taxi to get you from the airport - it's an hour's drive, most of which is along the south coast's lovely new motorway and the rest is via winding, single roads, lined with the most beautiful acacias and hydrangeas.
Inside the property you will find large bedrooms, with plenty of wardrobe/storage space, plus plenty of space in the lounge and kitchen/diner areas. You have free run of the kitchen - I cooked an evening meal on a few occasions.
There is a bar just down the road, run by Paula (who is also very nice), where you can get a cooked meal and watch football on TV. There is a cash machine in the square and a local store about 100 yards away.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing location, this could be the place for you (depending, of course, on who the other guests are!).
As for the Azores - I kept texting my family to describe the place as 'Paradise on steroids'. It's soo beautiful - every corner you turn provides you with yet another 'picture postcard' view. Even if it rains, you can go to one of the hot thermal springs, jump in and soak away all your cares. It has beaches, rain forests, hill walking, touring, sightseeing, geological experiences, etc, all in a very small area. And in addition to this, it's not at all 'touristy'. They don't charge entry for many things (eg the tea factories), and when they do charge entry it's minimal (2 euros for the thermal spring pools in Furnas).
In summary - it's 'thumbs up' for both Casa Maria de Deus and The Azores.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geoff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
4.5 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
3.9 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel do Mar
Hotel do Mar
#3 of 3 in Povoacao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#7 of 41 in Sao Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinta Atlantis
Quinta Atlantis
#3 of 5 in Povoacao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maria de Deus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maria de Deus

Property: Casa Maria de Deus
Address: Rua Visconde Botelho 4 | Lomba do Louçao, Povoaçao, Sao Miguel 9650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Casa Maria De Deus Hotel
Casa Maria De Deus Azores/Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing