We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta do Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sao Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta do Mar
Ranked #1 of 42 Sao Miguel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nick and Chris and Porto could NOT have been friendlier or more accommodating!

Within walking distance of a great local restaurant and right along all the major roads needed to get anywhere on Sao Miguel.

Be sure to ask them for restaurant recommendations, they know incredible places dotted across the islands.

World class breakfasts and all the wonders of the Azores await, we could not have had a

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
201
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The icing on the cake! We loved this and stayed here for 5 nights in June. It is situated in an ideal location for exploring the whole island by car, and enjoying the wonderful daily fish catches at the exceptional Bar Caloura, just down the road. Nick said this is the sunniest spot on Sao Miguel and we believe that, having driven all over the island. The accommodation is excellent, very well thought through in design, and the landscaping and planting are delightful, as is the daily performance by the colourful lizards in and out of the stones on the wall bordering the breakfast patio. Chris's breafasts are really superb, and will set you up for the whole day, and there is often gorgeous homemade cake available for guests during the day to help themselves to with complimentary tea or coffee! The pool area is lovely, plenty of choices for lounging, and the atmosphere is great. Dark green beach towels are left in the rooms, which can be taken out for the day; a really thoughtful and appreciated additional facility. WiFi is available around the pool area, but not (as yet) in bedrooms; this may improve next year when the owners are planning to extend the accommodation. Our thanks to Nick, Chris and Gilda for their expert care and company during our visit. Don't even think of staying anywhere else on Sao Miguel!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snodland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here from 28th June for 1 week and wanted somewhere special to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. We could not have found a better hotel situated in a lovely fishing hamlet. The hotel only has 4 rooms and Nick and Chris make you feel part of the family on arrival and until you leave. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean as is the rest of the hotel and gardens. The breakfasts prepared by Chris and ably assisted by Gilda were superb with the main theme changing daily. Nick and Chris were both good company and helpful with their knowledge of the island and nothing was too much trouble for them. Thanks to Nick, Chris and Gilda for a wonderful stay and hopefully we will return. A car is a must to explore this wonderful island.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms have same view and very similar in size and layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micksueKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for the last week of June. I booked our stay to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday and was looking for something special. I can say that without doubt we certainly found it ! The hotel only has four rooms but the actual area guests have is quite vast. The design and layout is fantastic with so much thought having been given to guests requirements and comforts. The gardens are lovely with a fantastic array of flowers. Rooms have all home comforts and are kept spotlessly clean. This in itself would be enough to recommend a stay but you then get the added bonus of Nick, Chris and Gilda. They genuinlely couldn't be more helpful and breakfast becomes an event to look forward to with Chris turning out some delicious and varied choices. Nick and Chris are both knowledgable guys, great company with good advice on the island. Taking everything into consideration I would recommend this fantastic hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Actually it makes no difference. There's only 4 and there pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed several nights here. Although it's a little off the beaten path in the quiet cute town of Caloura, that's also what makes it special. Nick and Chris were very hospitable and made recommendations on sights and places to eat. In addition, my boyfriend has a dairy allergy and they went out of their way to serve breakfast for him without any dairy and even provided soy milk for cereal. The breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool was always the perfect start to the day rain or shine. The orange juice was awesome and so was the fresh fruit and the variety of main and side dishes. The rooms were basic but large with a nice patio/balcony. One of the main drawbacks is no Wifi in the rooms but there is Wifi in the common areas. The gardens and rooftops are great and I recommend taking the short walk up the hill to get a nice view of Caloura from above. They have many tour guide and information books and offer an honor system drink bar with tea and coffee/24hrs. You really get the feel that you are staying with friends and family. Gilda is gracious and also very helpful. I would highly recommend a stay here - say Hi to their dog Porto!

Room Tip: Currently they offer only 4 rooms but are building 2 larger honeymoon suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAR1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkdare, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from wonderful trip to Azores, which included 1st 2 nights in Quinta do Mar. I cant really add much to what previous travelers have enthused over. Chris & Nick are welcoming, friendly & helpful hosts & you feel privileged to be sharing their beautiful home. Caloura is a charming spot & it is a pleasant stroll down a traffic-less road to the harbour, where the outdoor cafe/restaurant is situated. Rooms are lovely & breakfast fantastic. We stayed for our last night in Ponta Delgada but much preferred Caloura, which is only about 20mins drive from the centre - and the airport. Nick also kindly arranged car hire for our stay and made recommendations for tours, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

After our stopover to Lisbon and round trip of selected Azores islands we much enjoyed the discovery of Sao Miguel in more details but to relax as well in the beautiful Quinta do Mar with her pleasant atmosphere. We fully give our consent to the overall true positive reviews already given. Summarizing it was a wonderful place and we would like to express our greatest thanks to Nick & Chris and to Gilda and bow-wow 'Porto'!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
11.0 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.7 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#7 of 41 in Sao Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
10.2 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Mar

Property: Quinta do Mar
Address: Rua da Portela 43 | Caloura, Água de Pau, Lagoa, Sao Miguel 9560-216, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Miguel
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a small, 4-bedroomed, British owner-run 'boutique hotel' in the popular, picturesque fishing hamlet of Caloura. It's ideally situated, half-way along the south coast, 15 minutes from the capital and 20 minutes from the airport. Relax on the terrace, overlooking the pool with the sea beyond, enjoying a carefully prepared hot breakfast. The informality of a private villa, the comforts of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Mar Hotel
Quinta Do Mar Azores/Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing