We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful place to relax"”
Review of Furnas Lake Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Furnas Lake Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. The place is absolutely stunning and the gardens are beautifully maintained. The bungalows are beautifully clean, with a basic kitchen, lounge, bathroom and bedroom. We borrowed an internet cable, which allowed us to use our laptop. The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming. There is a small pool, which was very cold for adults, but the temperature didn't deter our 8 year old boy from using it everyday! As we were leaving they had installed a solar heating system into the pool, which I'm sure will make a big difference. The villas are very close to Furnas village, which has small supermarkets and restaurants to choose from and the owners gave us excellent recommendations upon our arrival. Our car hire, whale watching and swimming with dolphins were also organised by the owners, which made everything very easy for us. The whale watching and dolphin trips were amazing and I can't express how wonderful it was to be in such close proximity to such beautiful creatures. We saw Fin whales and swam with Common dolphins.
I would highly recommend staying here, for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glascoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for 4 nights which I had booked via hotelopia.com. As we were arriving on a late afternoon flight from London Gatwick and did not drive, we took a taxi from the airport which cost 40 euros, which was less than we expected. Upon arrival, we noticed that someone had obviously paid attention to my instructions advising them that it would be a very late check in (made worse by flight delays) and was there to greet us, so this was very good to see. They made sure we were fully briefed on the local area and what there was to do in and around the lake and in Furnas itself and showed us everything in the property, which I thought was a helpful touch.

The breakfast was seemingly expensive at 12 euros per person, but when we received it the following day (at a time of our choosing), we could see why it was this price, as we received a basket full of a variety of breads, cakes, local meats, cheeses, milk, water, yoghurts and freshly squeezed, home-made lemonade. It kept us well fed for the majority of the day!

As we did not drive, we ventured into Furnas on foot to buy food for the rest of our stay, which was a long way (~2 miles on foot), but once you've cleared the lake (~1 mile), you can choose to risk following the windy road, or head off to the right down the hiking trail into the village through beautiful forests and rivers (another ~1 mile). The bigger supermarkets, just for your info, are further into the village near the large church (north of the river), as we spent about 30 minutes wandering around trying to find them. There are also a few restaurants here if you don't want to cook, but the staff at Furnas Lake Villas said they were considering providing amenities like this themselves in the near future anyway, so it may become even easier soon!

Given how quiet and remote the property is, you may think that you'd quickly run out of things to do, but this is not the case, as the staff are able to organise canoe rental, bike rental and horseriding. We rented a canoe for half a day for 20 euros and this was all arranged for us for the following day and just had to walk by the office and pick up the oars and life jackets, so it was made very easy for us! There are also plenty of trails to walk, one around the lake, another branching from that same lake path into the forest and one starting further down the main road (southbound towards the coast) to a waterfall. The huge volume of birds and exotic plants were also interesting for nature lovers and there is also a seismic research station nearby that you can apparently visit. If you're a swimming fan and/or want to do something other than walking, there's a small pool on site to swim in but if you go in May when we went, it will feel chilly outdoors.

Overall, I found the location and the property itself to be an absolutely lovely place to relax and unwind (albeit the weather is a little dicey in May and it sometimes felt quite chilly). The staff couldn't do enough for you and were extremely helpful, friendly and even dropped off some change I forgot to pick up upon checkout to our second hotel in Ponta Delgada later that day, which I have never before seen be done, so I must say I am extremely thankful!

Some may consider it expensive, but it's in a beautiful, remote location with plenty of things to do with clean, modern facilities, so I don't understand why people have questioned the price, as it would be just as much or more for the equivalent anywhere else in the world! As far as I am concerned, it was a lovely experience and I was extremely impressed with the customer service and attention to detail given to us by the staff and they made it an absolutely wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank samollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Imagine someone will come in the morning with your breakfast in a basket. Then go to the balcony and see the view, listen the silence and birds around. Go for a walk up to the Furnas. Taxi a taxi uphill and then walk down up to the lagoon and have (or take) a lunch. What else?
In the afternoon, take a walk to the village and visit Terra Nostra park and have a bath in the hot sulphuric river. Have dinner with a good red wine.

Room Tip: every apartment in very well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FVentura357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Good location for a 3day stay very quiet and spotlessly clean. Expensive.
The rooms were fine but the kitchen lacked worktop space and the cooking facilities comprised of a microwave and 2 electrical rings. No oven.
We requested an iron and ironing board which never arrived
We had luke warm water for 24hours apparently due to a malfunction.
The TV was tempermental with a complicated box on top. The owners carefully explained how to use it and we followed the instructions but each time we switched the TV on there was some problem and in the end just didn't bother.
We did not have a laptop and I enquired where I could use the internet but was not offered the use of the one in reception.
A somewhat disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirkwall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and can safely say that you won't find a better location in furnas. The villas were clean and modern with a good layout but the beds were rock solid hard, we both had sore backs every morning. The only thing that really disappointed us was that we arranged to go horse riding for our last night there and were told first that we were too early, then that they'd come and get us when they had found the boss. They came by an hour later to tell us they might be back at six and never came, so we wasted 3 hours of our last day waiting around and never got to go, no apology or explanation.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baby_bassist_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The only structures you see from the rooms are the other villas, which all fit nicely in the environment.

We liked: The villas are well designed and functional. The owners are extremely kind and eager to help with recommendations and suggestions. The villas are close enough to town yet not to close to be disturbed by it (you will definitely need a car though).

We did not like: There is no wireless access in the villas (but you can plug your PC for free if you travel with one in tow). Our fireplace did not work well. We tried repeatedly to turn it on, but as soon as the flammable substance burned, the fire would die. We wanted to rent bicycles to go around the lake (1h 20min on foot) but were asked to fork out €10 for each bike, since they only rent them per day. This is a bit extreme, since you can rent a car with unlimited kilometres for less than €40 per day.

We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Apartements of latest design, comfortable, full of light all day long with a nice view.
At the same time excessive prices, which is the reason why I won't return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cickai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
1.6 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
18.2 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
356 reviews
1.8 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
326 reviews
10.5 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#5 of 41 in Sao Miguel
422 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnas Lake Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnas Lake Villas

Address: Estrada Regional do Sul, Lagoa das Furnas | Lagoa das Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-090, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Sao Miguel
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furnas Lake Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnas Lake Villas is considered one of the boldest tourist and architectural projects on the island of São Miguel. It became particularly known around the world for the Scandinavian input on the architecture of the buildings, but also on the interior design, while maintaining high modern standards and at the same respecting nature. Keeping a familiar and welcoming charisma and a modern and relaxing environment. Here, gardens and dense mountainous vegetation surround a peaceful area with 10 modern and fully equipped bungalows, swimming pool, reading areas, restaurant and bar, family and play room. Guest can hike and bike around the property and the lake (just 150 m from us), horse riding, canoeing, as well as all the other activities that the Islands offer, from whale watching to snorkeling and surfing. Furnas Lake Villas is just 35 min drive from the airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Furnas Lake Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnas Lake Villas Hotel
Furnas Lake Villas Azores/Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing