We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore the island”
Review of Furnas Lake Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Furnas Lake Villas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great base to explore the island”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice place well located on the eastern side of São Miguel, close to the thermal village of Furnas.

We stayed for a week in April and would say that was enough time to see the best of what this beautiful island can offer, and the villas were the perfect place to relax after a days walking or whale watching. We also hired a car as this seemed like the best way to see everything, would recommend you do this, there is so much to see!

Overall everything was excellent, highly considered design of the bungalows makes you feel quite integrated with the outdoors and yet they offer a real sense of privacy. The location is pretty impressive, inside a giant crater enclosing Furnas Lake with views from all the bungalows of a smaller volcanic cone where you can watch the local bird and animal life from your living room thanks to full height windows.

The bungalows are quite well equipped with wifi (clocked at 3mb) plus a TV, climate control and a wood burning stove, the kitchen is basic but we found it was perfectly adequate and well stocked with a stove coffee pot and fridge freezer. Bedroom was huge and also had full height windows for the view, we also had a bath in our hut no.7.

This was a first visit to the Azores and the island genuinely exceeded my expectations, particularly early in the season as I had real concerns about the weather. It all made more sense when we got here, the views are ever changing as is the weather in April, having a car enabled us to go where the weather was good as everything is no more than an hour away from the villas. It was nice cosying up at the end of the day anyway, stoking up a fire, overall the whole experience comes highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tim-eggelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    26
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My darling and I decided to fly out to the Azores last November.
We had very few preconceptions to be honest and found the biggest island to be pretty deserted at that time.

To be honest, it was almost like a ghost town. In any event, we really enjoyed our stay no small part due to the nice Furnas Lake Villas. It's a relaxed resort that ideally situated to explore the magnificent nature surrounding the hotel. You have great access to the streets connecting the small towns, sights and villages.

The lodges per se are very clean and and well looked after. Service was always very friendly and attentive. The people running the Furnas Lake Villas are very considerate and helpful in planning your trips around the city.

You have to be aware, however, that there is very little going on in terms of social activities or dining. There is no bar or restaurant on the premises and the venues in the surrounding villages are rather disappointing.

If you want to enjoy nature, the Furnas Lake bungalows are certainly top-notch.
You need a car to get around. Don't skimp here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vince K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We came for christmas holidays, booked in advance- and as we arrived, the fire was lit in the house.
It felt a little like coming to a cozy cabin. And everywhere there were birds!
We had all we needed, and made home-cooked christmas meal for all.
The ducks that do their ducking in the little lake under the houses, got very friendly with us. They are adorable.
But the family are soo very friendly and helpful! They really stretch their hands out to you if you need help with booking. And Lucky, the dog has never felt sadness I think.
In low season it was quiet and calm.
Thank you for great hospitality- I´ll be sure to recommend :)

Room Tip: I would recommend the brick house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

beautifull area and extremely quiet. very ecological and great integration into nature. very nice couple , the owners. beautifull modern (even though already 10 years old) houses with amazing view integrated into amazing nature.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dirk n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Beautiful bungalows impeccably appointed and maintained in a park-like property. Nice swimming pool with WiFi access in the pool area. In the morning a wonderful breakfast basket is brought to your door by the staff, so that you can enjoy it in your bungalow. Very close to Furnas' Lake, as the name implies, about 3 km from downtown Furnas - a car is recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLS-ALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. The place is absolutely stunning and the gardens are beautifully maintained. The bungalows are beautifully clean, with a basic kitchen, lounge, bathroom and bedroom. We borrowed an internet cable, which allowed us to use our laptop. The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming. There is a small pool, which was very cold for adults, but the temperature didn't deter our 8 year old boy from using it everyday! As we were leaving they had installed a solar heating system into the pool, which I'm sure will make a big difference. The villas are very close to Furnas village, which has small supermarkets and restaurants to choose from and the owners gave us excellent recommendations upon our arrival. Our car hire, whale watching and swimming with dolphins were also organised by the owners, which made everything very easy for us. The whale watching and dolphin trips were amazing and I can't express how wonderful it was to be in such close proximity to such beautiful creatures. We saw Fin whales and swam with Common dolphins.
I would highly recommend staying here, for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glascoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for 4 nights which I had booked via hotelopia.com. As we were arriving on a late afternoon flight from London Gatwick and did not drive, we took a taxi from the airport which cost 40 euros, which was less than we expected. Upon arrival, we noticed that someone had obviously paid attention to my instructions advising them that it would be a very late check in (made worse by flight delays) and was there to greet us, so this was very good to see. They made sure we were fully briefed on the local area and what there was to do in and around the lake and in Furnas itself and showed us everything in the property, which I thought was a helpful touch.

The breakfast was seemingly expensive at 12 euros per person, but when we received it the following day (at a time of our choosing), we could see why it was this price, as we received a basket full of a variety of breads, cakes, local meats, cheeses, milk, water, yoghurts and freshly squeezed, home-made lemonade. It kept us well fed for the majority of the day!

As we did not drive, we ventured into Furnas on foot to buy food for the rest of our stay, which was a long way (~2 miles on foot), but once you've cleared the lake (~1 mile), you can choose to risk following the windy road, or head off to the right down the hiking trail into the village through beautiful forests and rivers (another ~1 mile). The bigger supermarkets, just for your info, are further into the village near the large church (north of the river), as we spent about 30 minutes wandering around trying to find them. There are also a few restaurants here if you don't want to cook, but the staff at Furnas Lake Villas said they were considering providing amenities like this themselves in the near future anyway, so it may become even easier soon!

Given how quiet and remote the property is, you may think that you'd quickly run out of things to do, but this is not the case, as the staff are able to organise canoe rental, bike rental and horseriding. We rented a canoe for half a day for 20 euros and this was all arranged for us for the following day and just had to walk by the office and pick up the oars and life jackets, so it was made very easy for us! There are also plenty of trails to walk, one around the lake, another branching from that same lake path into the forest and one starting further down the main road (southbound towards the coast) to a waterfall. The huge volume of birds and exotic plants were also interesting for nature lovers and there is also a seismic research station nearby that you can apparently visit. If you're a swimming fan and/or want to do something other than walking, there's a small pool on site to swim in but if you go in May when we went, it will feel chilly outdoors.

Overall, I found the location and the property itself to be an absolutely lovely place to relax and unwind (albeit the weather is a little dicey in May and it sometimes felt quite chilly). The staff couldn't do enough for you and were extremely helpful, friendly and even dropped off some change I forgot to pick up upon checkout to our second hotel in Ponta Delgada later that day, which I have never before seen be done, so I must say I am extremely thankful!

Some may consider it expensive, but it's in a beautiful, remote location with plenty of things to do with clean, modern facilities, so I don't understand why people have questioned the price, as it would be just as much or more for the equivalent anywhere else in the world! As far as I am concerned, it was a lovely experience and I was extremely impressed with the customer service and attention to detail given to us by the staff and they made it an absolutely wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank samollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
1.6 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
1.8 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
16.8 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
272 reviews
10.5 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#7 of 41 in Sao Miguel
401 reviews
6.4 mi away
Convento de Sao Francisco
Convento de Sao Francisco
#27 of 41 in Sao Miguel
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnas Lake Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnas Lake Villas

Property: Furnas Lake Villas
Address: Estrada Regional do Sul, Lagoa das Furnas | Lagoa das Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-090, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Sao Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Furnas Lake Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnas Lake Villas is considered one of the boldest tourist and architectural projects on the island of São Miguel. It became particularly known around the world for the Scandinavian input on the architecture of the buildings, but also on the interior design, while maintaining high modern standards and at the same respecting nature. Keeping a familiar and welcoming charisma and a modern and relaxing environment. Here, gardens and dense mountainous vegetation surround a peaceful area with 10 modern and fully equipped bungalows, swimming pool, reading areas, restaurant and bar, family and play room. Guest can hike and bike around the property and the lake (just 150 m from us), horse riding, canoeing, as well as all the other activities that the Islands offer, from whale watching to snorkeling and surfing. Furnas Lake Villas is just 35 min drive from the airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Furnas Lake Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnas Lake Villas Hotel
Furnas Lake Villas Azores/Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing