We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As being at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antillia Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“As being at home”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Maybe it doesn't have 5 stars - but for me, yes. (and I rarely give five:-)
Antillia apartmentos
First of all I would like to thank again the receptionist Helena Reposo ( if I misspelled the name - sorry) who is very helpful and helped me to rebook when SATA airlines screwed our flight and helped us with many things. But all the other receptionist are very nice as well.

Overall and location
From the first second I felt very good - probably some good vibration.
The apartments/hotel are located on the east part of the old town, very close to merchado (market), cheese store, some restaurants and snack bar and main avenida/promenade. We had view (partial) of the marina and sea. The hotel although is modern doesn't have the impersonal feeling and coldness. The hotel was thoughtfully built so there are green terraces and roofs, where you can rest. Hotel is very clean and maid service excellent.

The room/apartment
We had room 307 and no complaints. Living room/kitchenette has 2 nice sofas, some cabinet (full of blankets and pillows), table with 4 chairs and kitchenette with the fridge, microwave/grill, sink and mini stove with 2 ceramic burners. There are cutlery/dishes - just bring your own knife since there is only one " micro" knife and bread knife. The stove is efficient and the exhaust hood as well (well, I didn't prepare any big meal - but for breakfast eggs, some sandwich good enough). The prep are/sink area is very tiny- but as I said, no heavy cooking. On the first day I missed some dish detergent, but it was added promptly without even asking.

We had the bedroom with 2 separate beds- absolutely comfortable mattresses, tons of pillows. There is a huge balcony, and I mean huge with the plastic chairs and table.
The bathroom is ok, the shower head should be different and more water pressure would be nice. But water was hot. Please note - there is only liquid soap in the dispenser, so if you need anything else, bring your own. Hair dryer is provided.

Misc
There is a pool with jacuzzi which we used everyday after the trips, parking is free ( nice , since we rented a car) and around is enough snack bars, restaurants etc. nearest supermarket is 10 min and 5 min is cheese store - a must ! with excellent selection of cheese, wine and bread. Next door is farmers market wit fresh veggies and fruits. Don't forget to have a cheep , but absolutely excellent coffee (espresso or capucino) - we had many every day.

Wifi- supposed to be in common areas and if you have a laptop there is a cable you can use. I think this was the only disappointment - since we travel with IPad so no possibility to connect with the cable. In these days common wifi is really necessary especially if you are planning your trips on day to day basis.

I cannot comment on food and drinks or hotel's restaurant, since we didn't use any - i believe there is a million outside options for better price.
Transportation
From / to airport taxi costs aroun 12 euro, no public transportation for airport.
City transport - we didn't use - but there are frequent minibuses as well as island buses. There is very good web page.
We rented a car - sometime scary since we are from very flat part of Canada and hilly, foggy San Miguel can be challenge - but absolutely breath taking.

When in Ponta Delgada don't miss the Jesuit Church with breathtaking altar, cemetery etc. there is a lot to see. I hope I will ave time to post (write) a report from our wonderful trip.

Would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely. We are already thinking about an another trip to Azores and I will definitely stay in Antillia Apartmentos if in Ponta Degada.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chef Bronia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    95
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
62
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Located in central Ponta Delgada, the hotel is clean and comfortable wth spacious apartments. Very friendly and helpul staff. Outdoor pool is quite small but there is an indoor one too, shared with users of the fitness club. The snack serviuce in the bar could be a bit variable but all in all, Antillia can certainly be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for two weeks and thought it excellent value for money , unlike the majority of appartment hotels we have stayed in the rooms were cleaned every day, bins emptied with fresh towels provided if required and fresh bed linen every three days. A real bonus. The appartment itself was large, bright, in good order with modern furnishings. A large balcony ran the length of the appartment with great views over the harbour. The kitchen area was very good and well stocked with all the esentuals.

In addition to the outdoor pool there is a modern gym and indoor swimming pool, all are free to guests, in good condition and cleaned regularly. The bar offers snacks and the usual drinks all at a fair price. Unfortunatly the resturant was closed during our stay. Staff were very helpful.

On the down side the location is difficult for anyone with mobility problems or very young children, due mainly to the narrow footpaths and lack of a dedicated pedestrian entrance to the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by housing and access is through a very narrow tunnel with limited space, on more than one occasion we had to stand against the wall to avoid incoming traffic. However, if you hire a car then it is ok as you can come and go in safety, also the town has excellent car parking facilites.

We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Very good hotel in the centre of Ponta Delgada. Staff helpful, room spotless, perfect location. Only improvement offered would be the inclusion of a hotel information package in the room. That aside the Antillia offers great value for money and I would recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Ponta Delgada.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tag2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Good hotel, very clean and tidy. The apartment was clean and spacious, however lacking storage space for some of your clothes. Don't be put off when you arrive at the tunnel like drive way, this is just access. When you arrive the staff are helpful and the rooms cleaned everyday. Easy walk to town, but difficult to find you way in and when you drive, the towns one way system can be a nightmare. This was a great place to stay for a weeks holiday.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisndunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanata
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had a 9 night stay in a one bedroom on the 4th floor with a lovely view over rooftops and the harbour, and the mountains and coast. the place was spotless, cheerful and fun. The decor is bright and it is furnished "Ikea style "Our apartment gave us plenty of space , the balcony was big and in full sun. If we wanted there were loungers round the pool, on a roof top patio, the bar, a 5th floor library with panoramic windows. The place has been cleverly built as infill and is terrassed. If you look from the church above the hotel it is hard to see the hotel as the roofs of each level are grass and bushes.
It was a 4 minute walk to the harbour where we got our whale watching tour. It was a similar distance to the local Solmar supermarket which we could see from the balcony and a few more minutes to the seafront supermarket. The fruit and veg market was on our street and only a few blocks away.
The Antillia is in an old area of town with narrow , cobbled streets and small or no sidewalks. As we walked the area we sometimes had to flatten ourselves against the walls of houses to avoid being hit by car wing mirrors. Because of one way streets the hotel can only be approached from the west and you turn in through a concrete tunnel and into a large parking area. There are many spaces but they are small. Also on weekdays after work there are often no places till after 8pm as locals come to use the hotels fitness club and pool. The exit to the car park takes you to another one way road which runs in a northerly direction. it means that you really have to plan your route in and out to accommodte the street directions. Things were made harder during our stay by the town tearing up the road by the garage exit forcing people to back out of the hotel in the wrong direction.
Would I recommend it --- definitely "yes"
Will I return --- certainly.
Note -- -it's advertiing says it has a minimarket but it does not. However a supermarket and fruit market are very close

Room Tip: ask for 4th floor, overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stellajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Everything in this hotel was good. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The hotel bar and restaurant were good. The hotel has both inside and outdoor swimming pools and a gym. Good location. Good service. Nice lobby.
I could stay there again, anytime!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
#13 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#5 of 22 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antillia Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antillia Aparthotel

Property: Antillia Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Peru 105, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-340, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Antillia Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antillia Aparthotel is located at the center of the city of Ponta Delgada, São Miguel Island, in a priviledged area in harmony with the existing landscape. Ideal for families, business and leisure. In this Aparthotel there are 47 apartments, one of them is wheelchair acessible, 6 rooms and 1 suite. All rooms have air conditioning, free wifi access, cable TV and private WC with amenities such as shower gel and champoo. Antillia Aparthotel has wide common spaces, gardens, terraces and balconies with magnificent views. It offers iddylic conditions for events. Furthermore, it has free private parking, a gym, indoor and exterior pool and a Spa. Smoking is only allowed on outside areas. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antillia Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antillia Aparthotel Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing