We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect apartment, nice staff, perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antillia Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

At last we had the oportunity to take a trip to the Azores. It was a last-minute-decision, and we happily found room at the Apartment Hotel Antillia. We like to make some food by ourself, and to have some space and a terrace to sit down and relax, so this was perfect. Really quiet, even if there were a lot of guests. A nice area around the pool, and good food in the bar.

This hotel and the apartment was superb! It was equiped with all necessary kitchen-ware, and nice furniture. The wine-glasses was not so delicate, and the maid changed them the second day before we had the chance to ask for it. The maids were also very sweet and polite, same as rest of the staff. And almost everyone spoke English. I even tried the spa at the hotel, and got manicure and pedicure; really relaxing and nice!

The harbour with restaurants are just a few minutes walk away, about 20 minutes walk to the shopping mall, but it doesn't ruin you to take a taxi back:-).

If we come back to Ponta Delgada, we will stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Innsiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Antillia Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Amazing hotel, with very professional and very polite staff. Eco-friendly and very, very clean! It's close to the coast and to the city-center - just a few minutes. From the airport you can take a taxi - the drivers are amazing and it's cheap. Absolutely will recommend the hotel to my friends!

wi-fi is not available in the rooms. I hope that the hotel management will repair this little inconvenience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikolay_marinchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here in June for a week (room 409), with a relative, in a self catering apartment that used the top two floors of the hotel.

The town is partly developed for tourism, with a few big hotels, but is still mainly a locals town.

The hotel is a short walk from the harbour front, main shops and restaurants/cafes, but does not have traffic noise.

Also, it's only 5 mins to walk to the partly indoor fruit market (Thurs to Sat), which has a cheese shop/bakers in it as well as some souvenir shops.

There is a good size supermarket 10 mins walk away on the harbour called Sol Mar.

I reccommend the military museum in the harbour fort, bigger than you'd expect it to be and full of weapons, vehicles and equipment.

The apartment is really two standard layout single level ones, with a staircase added in between, but a kitchenette only on one floor. What this means is that each floor has a big balcony, lounge, tv, big bedroom and bathroom. This was perfect, so one person could be sleep or read and the other watch tv without disturbing each other at all and it was nice to have a bathroom each.

Also, 409 is just across the corridor from the hotel's side door, which saved time when going out, rather than having to go in the lift, through reception and along a tunnel to the road.

The bedrooms were big, but the hanging and draw space for clothes was only enough for two people, not the four who would normally use this apartment. It's a pity as there is space for a small chest of drawers at least.

Views from the balconies were great, across to the hills and out to sea.

The bathrooms and other rooms were always very clean.

The showers were hot but had only half the required water pressure for a decent shower, whatever time of day they were used.

The kitchenette had a hob, microwave, fridge and cupboard space to store food, but lacked some basics. There were no mugs, just cups. Also, there were no scissors, tablespoons or bread knife. The only prep knife was a really small flimsy one.

The room safe costs 2.50 euros per day.

The indoor and outside swimming pools were both big and freshwater an outdoors there were enough sun loungers.

The hotel's cable tv package is the best non-Sky one I've come across in med countries. There are several eng. language news channels, several USA main entmt channels and some portugese channels, that show current U.S./U.K. comedies/dramas, subtitled, with the original dialogue intact.

There's free wi-fi in the bar and reception and they have two internet terminals (1 euro for 15 mins).

Others have mentioned the tunnel to the hotel, from the road, which we found to be well lit and has enough room for a pedestrian and car to pass each other easily.

We went whale watching with the biggest operator, Futurismo, on their catamaran. We saw dolphins and fin whales close up. It was 55 euros each, but we preferred to have the comfort of a big, modern boat, rather than the small inflatables that were also available.

For a good value sandwich with nice local yeast bread, we liked the cafe (orange chairs outside) which was just off the piazza, opposite the main San Sebastian church west entrance.

Also near church at the bottom of Rua Hintze Ribeiro was the small Jordao restaurant, the only place we ate at twice in the week. Simple set up, menu and friendly staff. I had the house steak (which was like "frying steak" in England) which was good value for the price.

Room Tip: Good sea views from 4th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This apartment in Punta Delgado, Azores, Portugal fit our needs perfectly. I accompanied my husband on his business trip. We were within short walking distance of the town center, the harbor and its many restaurants and shops as well as close to many of the town's attractions.
With a full refridgerator, microwave and cook top we easily made our own breakfasts and snacks. The hotel also offers a reasonably priced breakfast for those that prefer that option.
Our apartment has a small kitchen, a nice living room with a view overlooking the ocean, a bedroom that also overlooked the ocean and a balcony that was accessible from the living room and the bedroom. Also a bathroom with shower/bathtub.
The people all spoke excellent English and helped me with my Portugese. The reception desk was great with helping set up taxi service, tours or just provide information and maps.
There were two swimming pools. One outside by the bar and one inside by the workout room.
The whole facility was very clean. Free wifi was a ailable in the lobby areas.

Room Tip: Our roomcame with two separate beds. We just pushed them together.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights while touring the island. The rooms are pretty basic. They have mini bars, although Empty. There are safes but u have to pay €2:50 per day to use them. Breakfast is basic and does not vairy at all. The best thing is it's cheap and in a great location. Near the pier and close to town. Has 2 pools so if it's bad weather u can use inside pool.

While staying in this hotel I manly saw Germans average of about 55.

The bar is cheap also, otherwise there is a supermarket up the road towards town for eveything u could need.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louisa_Tudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed one week at Hotel Antillia on January 2012. I was (and so was my sister) very pleased about the hotel. It was clean, new and the room was very comfotable - we had a kitchen where to cook, livingroom, bedroom and the balcony. I absolutely loved the balcony, the view to the sea was awesome.. those sunsets and rises. Only one minus of the apartment was that the humidity of the room felt a little bit high, but maybe it's only natural in that location on the middle of the ocean sea.

The pool was quite little and I saw no one using it on January.. a surprise? :) There was also a gym at the hotel but we didn't had time to use it. The staff at the reception were okay, maybe not so warm as could hope but they helped every time we asked something.

If I'll someday travel to Azores again, I may surely go to Antillia again. But nex time it's not winter, when I will meet the Azores again ;)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Our family of four stayed in one of the 1 bedroom suites for a week in February and were very pleased with the accommodations. If you are staying with 4 people they put linens on the couches under the couch covers and you just pull off the covers and pillows each night.

The staff was always very helpful with assistance with local arrangements. They also provided a drying rack on the balcony when we had a lot of swim clothes. The kitchen utensils cover the basics you need if not planning extensive cooking.

The location is just a few blocks from the harbor and we could easily walk to anywhere in Ponta Delgada. My favorite part was the balcony that spanned the living room and bedroom. Each night we would sit out and have wine and cheese (purchased at the Sol Mar at the harbor) and enjoy the view over the harbor and the west half of the island.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimWa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.2 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#13 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antillia Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antillia Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Peru 105, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-340, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: £51 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antillia Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antillia Aparthotel is located at the center of the city of Ponta Delgada, São Miguel Island, in a priviledged area in harmony with the existing landscape. Ideal for families, business and leisure. In this Aparthotel there are 47 apartments, one of them is wheelchair acessible, 6 rooms and 1 suite. All rooms have air conditioning, free wifi access, cable TV and private WC with amenities such as shower gel and champoo. Antillia Aparthotel has wide common spaces, gardens, terraces and balconies with magnificent views. It offers iddylic conditions for events. Furthermore, it has free private parking, a gym, indoor and exterior pool and a Spa. Smoking is only allowed on outside areas. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antillia Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antillia Aparthotel Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing