We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Worth a stop

On our way back to the cruise terminal, we stopped here as it's close. Loved ponta delgada... read more

Reviewed today
jofunkyfacepainter
,
Worcester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice monument

Saw this monument, represents something to do with the immigrants Has a lot of meaning if you live... read more

Reviewed 28 December 2018
ryanc3
,
northampton,england
via mobile
Read all 34 reviews
  
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
8
11
12
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
11
12
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews military museum sao miguel statue immigrants sculptures
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Just a nice statue near the water front in Ponta Delgada. You can take photo of it. Or, you can take a photo of you with the statue.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank TravelinAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I wish that I could find out a bit more about the background to this monument - maybe that is the point to question. i wonder if it was linked to the Spanish civil war ?
As statues / monuments go this is modern, well positioned, and a valiant attempt to give credence to a difficult subject.
Worth stopping and seeing - it is just opposite the gateway entrance to the Forte do Sao Bras.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This statue set is in the very nice plaza that is right by the cruise ship harbor. Many of the emigrants went to the USA, Massachusetts being a favorite place.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank bigtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Not all that interesting or pleasing, this is street sculpture on the major road along the port. In a traffic circle.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

This is almost a round about on the road. As you walk through the lower section of the town (to the left when facing the town coming out of the port). The tour guide we had explain the meaning and that the town's people are proud but also sad as it was a time of hardship that caused people to leave the islands to find work and a means to provide for their families.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews