We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent Hotel, Great Service , Nice location, Nice Breakfast.
Enjoyed the stay at this hotel.The room was clean. The breakfast was very nice . I will definitely recommend this hotel for its nice ambience.
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Thank you for your comment and your preference for our hotel. We were pleased to have a good time with us. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Great location. Helpful & kind staff. This is very family friendly. Love the little kitchenette, divided rooms ( we booked the 1 room suite) perfect fit for 2 adults abd 3 kids. We would stay here again. It's by no means a 5 star hotel, but it 100% fits for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vnewsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Thank you for your comment and your preference for our hotel. We were pleased to have a good time with us. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is good, but no more than that, breakfast obnoobrazny and tasteless, very pleasant and professional staff, convenient mestorapolozhenie, nice rooms. There are airport-hotel-airport and the overall impression is udobno.No average

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jancko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Thank you for your comment. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at the Gaivota because the hotel which was recommended to me was full at the end of May 2014. That kinda got things off to a bad start but I was delighted by what I found at the Gaivota. The staff were friendly and helpful. I arrived way before normal check-in time but they got my room ready within the hour giving me a bit of time to explore the locality.
The room was huge and reasonably well appointed if a little old-fashioned. Everything worked and was clean and well-maintained. The best thing was the convenient location though. Just across the road is the main entrance to the marina area, on that weekend it was busy with the clebrations of the Festival of St Christ of the Miracles. Right in the heart of things but not too noisy. The hotel is only about a 5 minute walk from the Cathedral too.
I was in the Azores for a fishing trip and the Gaivota is but a 2 or 3 minute stroll from the marina.
There are bunch of bars, restaurants and cafes close by the hotel but if you want to stay in your room for a rest then you purchase provisions in the neighbouring convenience store or even in the Azores Gift shop just a couple of shops to the side. There's a kettle, microwave and small hob in the kitchenette with a reasonable supply of utensils, cutlery and crockery. Nothing fancy, but all clean and ready to use.
Internet connection is possible in your room but you'll probably need a cable, WiFi is available in the bar/restaurant/lobby area, it's free, but just a bit slow at times.
Breakfast is ok to good. Assorted cakes, breads, cheeses, fruit etc. Machine coffee though.
Don't be worried about taking a room at the front of the hotel, the noise from the road isn't intrusive, Ponta Delgada is not a huge city.
The Gaivota isn't somewhere to stay if you want fancy.
For for clean, comfortable, convenient and good-value it's definitely worth a look.
If I'm in the Azores on another fishing trip alone or with buddies I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Even the rooms overlooking the main road are quiet, Ponta Delgada isn't a huge city after all.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMcMurray_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Thank you for your comment and your preference for our hotel. We were pleased to have a good time with us. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have wanted to stay at Gaivota for a long time. Last year, we had the chance and don't regret the choice one bit..! The location is perfect..! Close to restaurants, cafes and shopping. It was a bit noisy, when the slider was open at the front of the room, but expected, since it was right on the Avenida, where the action is..! The bedroom was at the back and nice and quiet. The rooms were very clean and it would have been perfect for a longer stay. Regretfully, we were only there for the last night of our trip. The price was perfect, and included breakfast. Nothing remarkable there, but certainly adequate..! Would definitely stay there again and would request the same room, although I'm sure all the rooms were lovely. There was a mixup in our reservation, but when I called the hotel, in a panic, the man on the desk was extremely helpful and put me at ease that the reservation was indeed in place..! The only problem, albeit a very small one, was that the free wifi only worked if you were in the lobby (downstairs), or in the hallway/balcony, outside the room. It was still very convenient, since there are tables and chairs to use while trying to communicate with home or checking email. There is a wired internet service in the room, but I had a wireless device that necessitated 'outside the room' connection. All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Avenida a bit noisy, but when the slider is closed, it's much better. Our...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acoreana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel location is great, in the center of everything, across the marina and port. The reception staff is very attentive and will do its best in order to satisfy the guest needs. Plenty of outside eating places around.

The lobby and room wooden furniture is quite outdated. TV is still a 25" tube one but who cares. The elevator is tiny for 2 persons (or 3 thin ones). The reception desk handles registration by manual cards.

Breakfast area is wide and sufficient. Breakfast includes warm and cold food, a nice variety. Bread - unlike other places in Portugal and Europe, bread and rolls were NOT crunchy but wet (I mean that they were at least 15 hours old). Coffee - dispensed from a multiple choice machine, therefore not the European style strong coffee (we asked and received an espresso instead).

No kettle (coffee maker) or silverware in the room but after the first night we asked and received a kettle and 2 cups. There is aircondition w/o heating option, so after the first night we asked and received a floor heater. There were no enough electricity receptacles so we had to unplug the TV plug in order to boil the water (we brought coffee and tea bags along with us).

Bathroom amenities are of the low cost type. We stayed in the rear side of the hotel, facing an empty lot and ruins of an old building, but it did not bother us.

Room Tip: Whenever applicable, ask upon arrival for a coffee maker and a floor heater in the room. Probably it...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marathon308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Thank you for your comment. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very helpfull staff in the hotel, perfect location - the best between the 4-stars hotels, opposite Marina and directly in downtown! Execellent big room, seaview is gorgeous! Good cleaning and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.4 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#13 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 103, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-764, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: £48 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Ponta Delgada and next to Portas Do Mar, this hotel offers panoramic views of the marina right in the capital of the Azores Archipelago.All rooms at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota have wooden floors and elegant furnishings. Each of the air-conditioned rooms features a cable TV, and a minibar. Guests can enjoy their breakfast in the privacy of their room, while using the free internet. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes with terraces. Packed lunches are also available. The ocean pools of Ponta Delgada and the city's public pools are less than 50 meters away. Ponta Delgada Airport is 3 km away, and the hotel offers a car rental service on site. Currently the Hotel puts at your disposal nuptial apartments T1 Vip, T1, T2, rooms, apartments and a nuptial suite, bar and a conference room and expositions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing