We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rui is Absolutely the Best!”

Azores Private Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: My name is Rui and I am a Sao Miguel Island native. I love meeting people from other countries and making their visit to the Azores one they will never forget. My customers are not just clients to me – they are new friends, and as such they receive personalised service. I have many years of experience as a professional private driver, and you will find me an enthusiastic host with an excellent sense of humour. I can provide VIP services, Private Tours by Car and/or Minivan, and Airport Transfers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rui is Absolutely the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I had a week in Ponta Delgada and I had booked my tours with Rui before leaving Canada and am I glad I did. We took two tours, one half day and one full day and they were both excellent and made our vacation so special.

Rui is such a pleasure to spend time with and so knowledgeable and helpful. He arranged our full day tour so that we could see all the points of interest that we wanted and what a wonderful day that was. Our trip to Furnas was so memorable and anyone visiting the island should make sure they book Rui to take them there.

Out of all of the private tours we have taken Rui is absolutely the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    6
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My 4 year old daughter and I recently flew to Sao Miguel for a short weekend and I called Rui for a tour. Let me say that we had a wonderful day! He is polite and very knowledgeable. Also, I have an injured foot so he helped my daughter get in/out of the car and carried her as we walked around. It is that extra step that sets him apart from his peers. I will definitely recommend him to anyone visiting Sao Miguel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwendoline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To visit the land that our Ancestors came from-Sao Miguel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

There were 5 of us on our trip. We made our reservations for our tours prior to us arriving in Sao Miguel. You never know what you are going to get going into a country we have never been. Well there is many words to explain how wonderful Rui was. He was very kind, patient, he did not rush through the tours, explained the history of each site. We went on 3 tours: 1 full day tour and 2- 1/2 day tours. We felt like Rui became a good friend and part of our extended family. It was sad to have to say good bye to our new friend. For anyone needing a tour guide, I highly recommend Rui for the job. Thank you Rui for such an awesome experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“August 16, 2013 Tour of Sao Miguel with Rui Medeiros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife, our two daughters, ages 7 & 6 as well as my brother-in-law and his wife visited the island of Sao Miguel on August 16, 2013 at the end of our two week trip to the Azores. While some of us had visited Sao Miguel there were some who had not plus for those of us who had been there previously we knew there was more for us to experience about this mystical island. As such upon searching TripAdvisor I booked a full day tour with Rui Medeiros of Azores Private Tours. Immediately from the moment that Rui met us outside our hotel we all knew that we were in for a great experience. He was extremely courteous and accommodating to all us. Throughout the entire day he went above & beyond providing us so many extras which having been on taxi tours of the island previously I had never before experienced. First he gave us a tour of downtown Ponta Delgada pointing out several things that we should visit later in the evening including the religious image of Santo Christo. Then based on his recommendation due to the very good weather conditions we climbed the hilly terrain above the Lagoa do Fogo for a spectacular view of the island including the cities of Ponta Delgada, Ribeira Grande and Lagoa and the village of Vila Franca do Campo. The view was breathtaking and Rui even became our photographer snapping some great photos of our family with our many cameras. Then we descended to view the Logoa do Fogo from a closer vantage point and then some natural hot springs. Then upon a request from my brother-in-law Rui took us to the passion fruit factory where our group received a great tour from the one of the factory's owner which was thanks to Rui's connections. He even took us to a former factory and explained how the companies merged. We were then off to a great viewing point on the northern side of the island before visiting the tea factory of Gorreana. Rui provided us a great private tour where we learned so much about this very intriguing company. From their we descended down to the village of Furnas for a nice lunch break at Tony's Snack Bar which was just the perfect spot for our group especially our two little princesses. He then gave us a tour of the downtown and even stopped at the beautiful renovated Terra Nostra hotel so that my brother-in-law and his wife could tour the property. We then visited all of the hot springs and went on to the lake area to see the cooking taking place in the holes dug into the earth by the locals. He provided us a great background to the chapel located on the lake that while I had visited this area previously I had never heard before. Once again, Rui's knowledge of the island and its great history was extremely awesome. The final area we visited was the chapel overlooking Vila Franca do Campo which breathtaking, however, he then proceeded to show us the marina area in the town below which was above & beyond the tour schedule. Lastly, upon seeing the new McDonald's restaurant in Ponta Delgada when we arrived on the island our 7 & 6 year old daughters after two weeks on the islands were really hoping to visit this restaurant which Rui was extremely kind enough to stop at before dropping us off at our hotel. Once again he went above & beyond. I and the members of my group cannot express enough how delighted we were with the tour and the time we spend with Rui Medeiros on the island of Sao Miguel this past August. He made our trip simply remarkable and unforgettable. All of us would strongly recommend him to anyone visiting the island of Sao Miguel who really wants to learn about the island and receive a unique experience. We will definitely book Rui again the next time we visit Sao Miguel.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank wsmendonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic tour guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Rui was very knowledgeable about the island, its history and geography. He was very friendly and personable. Rui was very flexible and accommodating. His English is excellent!! We would certainly book with him again on our next tour of the island when we visit next time.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azores Private Tours also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Azores Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing