We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ponta Delgada”
Review of Casa Vitoriana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ponta Delgada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Vitoriana
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ponta Delgada”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I would highly recommend a stay at one of the places that Casa Vitoriana has to offer. We stayed in Casa Grande for two nights and were very happy and comfortable. Margarida, the owner, is most definitely a character! Being in an apartment-style accommodation was a great way to feel right at home as an Azorean in Ponta Delgada.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
31
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Compared to the rest of The Azores which we visited for 2 weeks in July 2011 Sao Miguel is very busy but at the end of an evening (we had 5 days here) it was very enjoyable to come back to the peace and quiet of this pleasant house in this quiet street.

We stayed in the Nespera Apartment which had a spacious lounge area leading on to a bedroom behind which in turn led to a large bathroom. The apartment overlooked a peaceful garden which was very quiet considering we were only just out of the centre of quite a busy town.

Margarida our host came up with some good suggestions for restaurants - a real benefit in Ponta Delgada which is not renowned for great dining - and this local knowledge is something you wouldn't get from a big hotel and helped us enjoy our time in Ponta Delgada.

The apartment is very well equipped with fridge,microwave, tea,coffee and kettle, nice lounge, comfortable beds and good shower and it was great to have your own space.

Sao Miguel is a great place to visit with several world-class sites such as Furnas, Sete Citades and fabulous whale and dolphin watching experiences (Futurismo were very good and seemed to have a real passion for what they were doing). I would suggest hiring a car to make the most of this large island, and Micauto were very reaonable to deal with and good value - only €35 a day.

The Azores are a fairly obscure destination and when we were researching where to go nothing really obvious stood out. However with experience ( we visited Sao Miguel, Flores, Faial and Pico) it would be easy to spend a week on each island and we definitely regretted spending not more than 3 days on Flores (a week would have been perfect). The Casa Vitoriana is a perfect place to begin your exploration of the perfect Azores islands.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Casa vitoriana is definitely a very beautiful victorian style house in the middle of ponta delgada. The house has a beautiful and very big garden. There are a few rooms in the main house and some little bungalow style houses in the garden. As i came alone i chose one of the rooms in the main building. The rooms are very big, nicely decorated, private bathrooms are across the hall. again very clean.

I believe it is a beautiful house but the atmosphere of the house is not maintained in the service and communication with the guests/customers. The owner, Margarida is a very good person but she acts very hectic and stressed with the guests. As it is a self catering house i assumed that we were able to use the kitchen/put some stuff in the refrigator etc. In the first two days the owner didnot tell me anytnng about the refrigator or kitchen. In the third day as I went to grocery shopping, at that day I went bymyself to the kitchen and linked the totally unused refrigator to the electricity etc and put my stuff in. After that day she put for me 1-2 plates and introduced me the kitchen. One day, I forgot to clean one coffee cup althouugh i had washed everythng else, she gave me a lecture of 10-15 mins about the unwashed cup in a very stressed way. If u are managing a hotel and having customers who are on hólidays, u should be able to deal with these things in a less stressed way...They may forget to wash one piece and would do it later...In the first night as i went to bed around midnight she entered my room after knocking the door and said that i should "walk" much more quite!! I didnt know what i had to do as i was anyways very careful and as single person i dont create so much voice anyways:) that scared me quite a lot and from that day on i was so silent and careful by walking that this stressed me a lot during my holidays! if u are flying from one part of the world to the other one and expecting to have a relaxed holiday, u expect to walk normally in a casa/hotel.

I believe it is a very beatiful house with a very good-hearted owner but the house needs to have a much more professional and distant relationship to its customers/guests. If u are a couple, definitely dont stay in the rooms but rent the apartments in the garden. There u have your privacy and it is a beautiful atmosphere. But staying in the main building might be stressy as the owner is sleeping one floor below and paying a big attention to silence and other rules, which are also written in every corner of the house....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Bruki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We just got back from the Azores, and stayed the final night of the week at Casa Vitoriana. We also stayed there last year. Both stays were excellent, but this time the owner outdid herself. She put us in a great little apartment where we had good access to the courtyard (great for a small child), and provided a cot and even snacks.

The location is great (maybe 10 minutes walk to the center of town at 3 year old pace), and with free parking and a great park around the corner AND only 15 minutes from the airport, we were very happy. In the morning, the housekeepers were harvesting fruit from the trees in courtyard. We were greeted like long lost friends, just as we were everywhere else we stayed on Sao Miguel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NateLowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This was my first visit to the Azores and I couldn't have been happier with my accomodations at Casa Vitoriana. Right from the first moment I contacted the owner I felt completely at ease and well taken care of. I stayed in the Framboesa apartment which had a small kitchenette as well as a mostly private sitting area just outside the door. The room was immaculate and the location perfect (just a few blocks to everything). I'd have to really struggle to find something I didn't like about the Casa Vitoriana... the bed was just a touch too firm for me... but that's personal preference. A wonderful, wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John02908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

It was our first time in Ponta Delgada and we were really pleased. It was a good decision to stay in the Casa Vitoriana.
We rented an appartment for 3 nights and loved the place. The appartment looked the same than on the pictures! It was nicely decorated and clean. The owner of the house was very friendly and helpful.
We had only one problem: we were 3 adults and the appartment had only 2 beds. They promissed to put an extra bed into the living-room, which supposed to be comfortable but it was small and the mattress very soft and worn. As we complained they exchanged it immediately for another bed, which was far better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fehne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I have been traveling often to Ponta Delgada, and every time I am trying out other places. This is the first really charming old house, with original old furniture and a very personal touch!

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.9 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
677 reviews
19.8 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#11 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitoriana

Property: Casa Vitoriana
Address: Rua Doutor Joao Francisco de Sousa 34, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-187, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic center of the town of Ponta Delgada, S.Miguel, Azores. Casa Vitoriana offers self-catering apartments in the garden, rooms in the Main house. It is a few minutes walk from local amenities, restaurants,shops, Botanical gardens, the Museum, University of Açores, the Library, the Marina and the Teatro Micaelense-Congress Center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Vitoriana Ponta Delgada
Casa Vitoriana Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing