We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating”

Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts
Ranked #20 of 64 Tours in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Azoren Travel Experts is a company based in Ponta Delgada and offers as main services guided sightseeing excursions, cruise shore excursions and many hiking trails. In addiction to that we offer Whale watching and Dolhpin Swimming adventures.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived in Ponta Delgada in the afternoon and stumbled upon Josef's booth at the marina. We were interested in a tour of Furnas, etc. for the next day. All his tours were book, but he was able to fit us in and personally gave us a great tour that showed us everything we wanted to see. At a great price also. Highly recommended.

2  Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

We appreciate your reviews and we are happy to hear that our services helped you enjoy your vacation. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked a half-day trip to Sete Cidades with Josef. This was a really outstanding tour - going out with Josef and his colleague Fernado was like seeing the island with a couple of your best friends. They very very knowledgeable, flexible, professional as well as good fun. Highly recommended !

2  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We met Josef on his booth at the marina. We first booked a half-day trip to Sete Cidades. He is very flexible , patient and manage to tailor the trip to his customers. His great knowledge is very helpful and at the end of the tour you feel that you had a really nice time. So we booked another half-day tour to Lago do Fogo. And it was amazing too!
The success of his tours is his love for the island.
Thank you Josef!

2  Thank Thalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived in Ponta Delgada and stumbled across Josef at his booth at the Marina on our first day. After speaking with him we felt very comfortable booking our first tour with him. He was not pushy and incredible flexible as he ensured us he could show us whatever we wanted to see. We loved that his tours were so private and personal and catered to just the needs of our family. He picked us up in his immaculate vechile at our hotel on time and was such a gentleman opening and closing the doors of his vehicle for myself and my three daughters for the duration of the tour. His incredible knowledge along with his sense of humour offered us a wonderful day of memories that will stay with us for ever. After day one we booked a second day tour with him and was not disappointed. His experience and knowledge of the islands history was outstanding. We enjoyed our second day so much we booked him for our third and final day on the island. We will be forever grateful for the time he took to be sure we did not miss a site even when it meant his day would be longer than usual. If ever we travel to the island again we will be sure to look him up and visit with him as a friend as well as a guide who gave us his undecided attention. Thank you so much Josef. So glad we found you ! Love The Araujo Family

2  Thank Araujo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

we are very happy to see your good reviews about our services and happy as well to hear that you enjoyed your holidays. it's our goal to help our clients have the best out of their trips.
many thanks and welcome back on Sao Miguel whenever you decide to visit the island again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Today was our second tour with Josef Steininger tours, booked with him as previous day tour was top quality, and you only have so many days on holiday, so went with them again,turned out to be a good choice.Picked up at arranged time at hotel by Sarah whom had guided our previous tour. Different minibus this time, but still same high quality and cleanliness. First stop was to pick up an Italian couple from another hotel, really great couple were great fun on the day and a pleasure to be with.our first proper stop was Ermida da Senhora da Paz (Our Lady Of Peace Chapel).Amazing place built on to the hill, great photo oppurtunities both of the chapel and out to the coast.After this we visited the volcanic area where people cook by burying their meal in the hot volcanic sands.Next stop was Tony's restaurant where we had booked lunch as extra cost option(highly recommended, great quality, not expensive) The meal was take from volcanic sands where it had been cooked in a pot buried in the sands earlier.I had a vegetarian option which was absolutley excellent.Trip then included trip to a hot stream bathing area and on to see the hot springs bursting from the ground,just amazing to someone who's never seern that before.Thanks to both Josef and Sarah for a great and memorable day.Josef can be found on the prom with a display trailer set up and on the internet,top man very accommadating,and Sarah is an excellent guide.

1  Thank rock652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

I am happy that you enjoyed your holidays through my services. many thanks for your good reviews, this help me to improve even on a better level the quality of my services.
have a nice day
Josef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing