We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Botanical Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming-pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming-pool
Logo Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Swimming-pool
Logo
Terrace
View through the window
View through the window
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jaromir48
Roznov pod Radhostem, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Botanical Paradise”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have spent five days in the Casa das Clivias. The apartment is hidden in the small botanical garden behind the palatial villa. The villa is in the wide street in the modern part of Ponta Delgada. It is easy to park on the street. The old town with its narrow streets, churches, famous Porta,.. is in walking distance. The apartment is neat, very clean and fully equipped. It is surrounded by very nice garden, like in Eden. There are only few steps to a nice pool from the apartment. Living there was very comfortable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doris202
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“difficult to believe you're in the city”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The owners were exceedingly welcoming. The accommodation is a small, extremely clean wooden chalet in a private area of their large & beautiful garden, containing many fruit trees, another holiday cottage & the swimming pool. Ponta Del Garda town centre was about a 15 minute walk away, wonderful on the balmy summer evenings.Ample parking was available outside . I find it difficult to sleep & like to have the windows open, but this was not possible in the main bedroom as they open inwards & it would have been easy to knock against them. This meant we had to have the air conditioning on at night and it seemed quite noisy , so not good for light sleepers I'm afraid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: hard pillows & air conditioning at night
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eeva K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome Home or at your personal hide-away!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa das Clivias for 14 days, me, my husband and our 22months old son. This was our third trip to São Miguel and the first in a private accommodation. The contact with the owner(s) was very good, all questions were answered and I felt confident that everything was in promised order. Also, the incommon language, English, was good and resulted in no misunderstandings.

While arriving, the owner, Maria Antonia, was meeting us at the door and led us to a beautiful garden belonging the main house (in which she and her husband live in), and into a secluded area where the Casa das Clivias stood in. The Casa das Clivias is a small wooden house, like a summer cottage, with a porch and basalt steppingstones leading to a beautiful swimming pool (at our disposal when ever we wanted). There are avocado trees, kaki-fruit trees and a mandarin bush growing by the Casa, and on the othey side of the well maintained camelia hedgerow grow bananas and much more lovelies and treasures. Eventhough in the city, the place is a calm oasis, with only a distant growl of the life out side its walls.

There was a very welcoming sight welcoming us, the tired travelers- avocados, and bananas and kaki fruit from the very garden, fresh bread and home-made jams (guava and blackberry) and also water (though, the water from the tap is drinkable).
The kitchen is well aquipped, only a bakingoven is not present, but with an outdoor grill in the garden, there is no need for it. If you don't plan on baking, which we didn't.
The bed linen and towels are provided for and if there was anything we needed, we just had to ask. There was even some washing powder in case we wanted to do some (manual) laundry.
There is an airconditioning machine in the Casa das Clivias, so there is a possibility of keeping the place dry and comfy even in the hotter and more humid days.

If you need a taxi, or need to hire a car, Maria will also help you with that. As she propably will with almost anything within her power, because she really is a very warm and helping person.

The owners, and the maid, were very sweet to our toddler, and would definietly recommend Casa das Clivias for a small family. The only "if" is the pool, but then- I have to mind my child anyway, so there was no danger. The pool is that far away, that one has a possibility of keeping an eye out for her child, while still letting him roam free in the Casa das Clivias part of the garden.
Our son enjoyed the stay immensely. Playing superivised in the pool steps, kicking ball in the garden, watching ants do their thing, listening to the roosters morning kock-a-koo!, trying to hug the somewhat reluctant cat and so on. (In everywhere we went to, peolpe were smiling and noticing the toddler and it really made his day.)

The only minus, that I can think of, are the beds, They are hard and in the humidity and the warmth, also sweaty. A bedding madress would propably fix this. Because my back is a no-good sack of you-know-what, I slept on the more comfy bedding sofa (And visited a massagist for a couple of times during our stay), which was fine.
Otherwise, the closets, cuppboards and the bathroom are clean and cleaned once/twice a week by the maid. The towels are fluffy, bedlinen washed with a sufficiently non-allergeninic wahsingpowder and the promised WiFi is fast and working.
So the hardness of the beds is absolutely the only thing I can think of as a minus.

Near the Casa das Clivias is a smaller grocerystore within a block, a larger Sol Mar-shopping center a few blocks away (there a pharmacist), a hotel for those too lazy mornings, when you just don't want to bother with a self-made breakfast, bakery Pão do Rei, a couple of cafeterias and a coal grilled chicken take-away (Xurrex, try it!). Also somewhat near is a playground/-park, Parque Século XXI, which is a very good place to know if you are travelling with children (who for some odd reason find the sticks and stones of the garden, the pool, the neighbours rooster or the owners lovely cat, Violetta, or the free space to just run around naked, boring). It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the Portas do Mar, the same to the mall, Parque Atlantico.

When traveling with small children, remember that ponta Delgada is an old town, with very narrow streets and pavements, steep hills and even somewhat roughly paved streets, so pushing a pram isn't the easiest way of gettin around.
We didn't even take a pram/a pushchair with us for our stay, but instead we had an ergonomic babycarrier (Ergo) and a couple of babywearing slings for some diversity. This solution was the best for us, because we also could visit the Gruta do Carvão (magma tunnel), Monteiros lava stone "beach" and walk around the city where no prams would manage it (and if carried by hand, the trip would very soon be over...).

MiniBus, linha B (blue line, drives counter-clockwise) has a stop one block away, at Rua Nova da Misericordia, and costs 0,35€ (discount if you buy a serial ticket of 10), paid to the driver.

São Miguel is a beautiful island, so I would recommed you to hire a car, even for a couple of days. There is good parking space in front of the house, on the street.
The hiring companies also have a selection of baby safe seats, for your babys protection.

All in all, Casa das Clivias was a very pleasant and positive experience, and I would definietly recommend it to anybody, who likes her/his privacy, the home-like atmosphere, the seclusion from the buzzing of the city and the paradise-like surroundings of the garden. I also recommend the Casa das Clivias for small families and for those, who like the summer cottages with a twist.
We felt the most welcome during our whole stay.

We will definietly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and the avocados
Liked least: The hard beds
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinofLinc...
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Casa dos Clivas is a wonderful oasis in this lovely island capital.
Maria is warm and welcoming and always available to help with your holiday.
The cottage in her beautiful garden has its own private space surrounded by avocado and fruit trees, and views of the large swimming pool. Awake to the sound of bird song and enjoy your breakfast on your own terrace surrounded by nature in an urban environment.
I can not recommend this location, property or the owner too highly, it is the best of all worlds, comfort, calm, in a city location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm, tranquil location with a wonderful host.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Günther K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing