We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent staff - not to miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

10 min walk from the city centre, in a quiet location, with a breathtaking view on Ponta Delgada, the hills behind and the Ocean...
The rooms are very spacious, nice, clean and with a good size balcony (with chairs and table) where you can enjoy the view while drinking a glass of wine.
Two PCs are available for the customers, wireless is also available.
The breakfast buffet is great, lot of choices, 100% local products which is a plus. We stayed at the hotel 7 days and some items in the breakfast buffet were changing now and then which is also good.
Do not miss the dinner buffet! It's huge, it's great and gives you a chance to taste a lot of Azorean dishes! Great value!
Parking is free and, if you book a car with Varela, you can get the car delivered directly to the hotel and leave it there at the end of the rental period...very handy!
Saying that the staff is excellent is not enough really. When we left I forgot my new boots in the room and I didn't even notice it. Then I received an email from the reception asking me where they could send them to me. As I was going back to Ponta Delgada the following week, I went to pick them up. I was really impressed by the service - well done! We have been in other hotels in the Azores but this one is definitely the best! Once again, a big thanks to the staff!

Room Tip: if you get a room in the higher floors you can get a wonderful view over Ponta Delgada and the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kyukkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Park Hotel gave us a solid performance. Rooms were simple, but well maintained, and the staff was great. We visited on a Groupon during the last week of March, and breakfast was included each day. My only slight disappointment was with the breakfast buffet. The food was exactly the same fare each day, and although well presented, it would have been nice to add a little variety. Most rooms, I gather, have twin beds, and some floors have balconies. The windows open to allow the Atlantic breezes in. The location is good, a short walk to the ocean-front village one way, or a shopping mall the other. The food court in the mall is a good lunch/dinner alternative. Internet/Email available in the lobby, wi-fi available for a small charge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel staff were very helpful. They all tried in various ways to make our stay enjoyable, from recommending places to eat, places to visit, tours to take and for something as simple as charging my Nook reader daily. This reception was unbelievable.

Room Tip: The room was large and sunny with two huge beds pushed together. This made it a very large king si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I went to the Azores on a tour. The hotel was lovely. The rooms spacious, the balconies clean, the linens fresh and clean.
The staff was great storing our bags, advising us of interesting places to see, giving directions, offering suggestions of restaurants and keeping us on track with our tour guides.
We were there for the first day of spring when potato chips, lovely mixed drinks, juice and nuts were out for all guests.
I was quite happy with the location, a short walk to the main gates, harbor and church/convents.

Room Tip: definitely the rooms on the south side facing the ocean above 5 or a room on the west side with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newyorkseestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The San Miguel Park Hotel in Ponta Delgada was very fine location for our six-night stay in early March. It is clean, modern, well-equipped and efficient. They offered early check-in (very early since our flight arrived at 7am) and honored an email request for a top-floor room. The room had two twin beds pushed together (I think they offer some doubles), and had a few condition issues which did not affect our use, though there was no clock in the room. There is a safe and small refrigerator. The bathroom was large and comfortable with plenty of hot water, but bring your own conditioner and tissues. We paid to have wi-fi in room about $37 for the week, otherwise you can use wi-fi or the computers in the lobby for free.
Breakfast was included and is good quality and plentiful, served buffet style in a white-tablecloth ballroom. If you don't like the European-style offerings there is cereal, yogurt, fruit, scrambled eggs, pastries, local jam, etc. It is a much higher quality than most US hotels' continental breakfast.
There is a well-equipped gym and we used the sauna and steam room (Turkish bath) which were excellent. The indoor and outdoor pools looked nice (you must use a bathing cap so bring one or pay 5 euros at the hotel). The Jacuzzi was not hot but very bubbly. I think the facilities are used as a health club by locals which may affect level of crowding.
The hotel is quiet and has free parking. You can walk to the main part of town and many restaurants in less than ten minutes, and it is a 20 minute walk to marinas for whale-watching. Also in walking distance, Jardem Antonio Borges (Garden), Gruta do Carvao (Cave), Fort Sao Bras and Military Museum, and the beautiful squares and churches.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view. Either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeeKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The front desk was very helpful in arranging tours. The free wifi in the lobby was a little slow, but workable. The rooms were clean and there was a small refrigerator and safe. They had a Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna, and pool. It was walking distance to the city and I loved the balcony. The breakfast buffet was fine. We tried to find an American style breakfast in town and they don't eat like we do, so the hotel's buffet was as close as we could get. I prefer coffee and tea hotter, but there was a large variety of food with white tablecloths on the tables. The water in the shower/bath was nice and hot. We used a Groupon which included air/room/breakfast and it was a very good deal. We enjoyed the trip.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ModestoSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Taking into context the minimalist theme of the country, this hotel was perfect. The staff was very helpful and nice. The free breakfast was plentiful and well maintained and offered the best of what is typical of this island's food fare. The location allowed us to walk everywhere and was close to marina for tours if desired. Our rental car was delivered to hotel, added bonus. ( Nuno, our futurismo tour guide was excellent and accommodating and asked us our preferences before continuing on, so it felt like a private tour. )Beds are comfortable, although mostly twins are offered. Upper rooms better for views. Bar was open all the time and drinks were inexpensive, music played and there was a limited snack menu and popcorn was given to all free. It also had a television.Cons were the indoor pool was mostly for exercise programs and bathing caps were necessary. Also, the lunch buffet was plentiful but overpriced, considering the extremely affordable prices in the area restaurants. The computer in the lobby was avail for use as needed with sign in info issued at front desk. The island is a great geo tourist destination. Check out the lava caves within walking distance if hotel. Explore tea plantation and liquor factories as well as the more known landmarks. We went in march, very little island activity. enjoy the cow cycle and the intensity of the religious undertones that shape the Azoreans. One of the most primal and remote places I've been, loved it immensely . I traveled with my 19 yr old son and there were not too many young people on this island. Hard to stick to the two bottle per person USA travel limit with all the wonderful fruit liquors . The rice pudding flavored creme liquor was a hit with all. Remember, most shops are closed both sat. And sun. So keep that in mind .Willing to answer more questions.

Stayed: March 2014
7  Thank wilparkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
718 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
#9 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
678 reviews
9.0 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#9 of 41 in Sao Miguel
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Miguel Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Amaral | Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-222, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: £56 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sao Miguel Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
S. Miguel Park Hotel is located near the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, near the city Botanical Gardens. The ideal rooms for families are large, comfortable and fully equipped. Rooms with balcony where you can enjoy the panoramic view over the city and the sea. S. Miguel Park Hotel has a warm decor and cozy ambiance in all its common areas of entertainment and leisure. You can benefit from the outstanding Health Club, complete with a fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi, massage, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The hotel's restaurant has the best buffet in town, where you can savor typical Azorean dishes, locally and nationally recognized for its high quality and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Sao Miguel Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Miguel Park
Sao Miguel Park Hotel Azores/Ponta Delgada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing