We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice! super helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very nice! super helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. THe hotel is a few blocks off the main drag, but not a bad walk. The rooms were clean and had a balcony. The desk staff spoke great english and were super helpful suggesting local places to eat and helping out. We had a tour issue and they got it straightened out. Unfortunatly it was too cold for the pool, but it looked nice!

the only critism was Breakfast was ordinairy and there was no variation. The coffee was the worst in the Azores. and the bar prizes were double the rest of the town. Don't bother drinking there go one block down and you get it for 1/2 price with local flair!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    219
    69
    10
    3
See reviews for
112
201
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here in March and thought it was a perfectly fine hotel. Yes, the beds are two twins pushed together, but that is very typical for Europe. The breakfast buffet was large and plentiful with lots of options. Ponta Delgada doesn't really have any places to stop for breakfast, not even pastry shops. The hotel staff helped us book a reservation for one of the restaurants in Furnas which was fun. The rooms are fine and remind me of something along the lines of a Holiday Inn. The shower was great and always hot. They don't have conditioner so you might want to bring that. The lobby does have wifi but you have to be standing in the right spot. We found it difficult to get wifi on the whole island and were always surprised at the places that did have it. We enjoyed our stay and if we were to go back to Sao Miguel, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kmgass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The proximity to downtown and to the new mall with grocery store was amazing. It was about a 5 minute walk to the new mall Parque Atlantico which is where I got free wifi in the food court. There was also free wifi in a small shopping center ,SolMar, which is by the harbor and was a little hard to find until I walked into it by accident. That and downtown are about a 10-15 walk. I had trouble finding ice, as I have always heard about Europe, but forgot about it. I was able to get two cubes on the flight over, and the hotel charged more for ice than beer, wine, and about as much as a salad. Not a bad thing, just letting you know ice is hard to come by. The hotel staff was great and set up my tours. I am roughly 6'2" and I found the beds a little uncomfortable. Two small beds pushed together with some small blankets and not the softest in the world. I felt I was just too big for one and it was awkward having two with dip in the middle. Besides that, shower pressure was great and hot and everything else was superb, especially for the price. Would absolutely stay again. Also, my room view overlooked the pool towards the harbor and was spectacular when the rains came in.

Room Tip: My room faced East and could see Southeast to the harbor and could see the mountain near Furnas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelinJash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed for a week in April which I now know is the quiet season, the main season beginning in June. I agree that the hotel decor is a little tired but actually it became irrelevent given the brilliant location overlooking Ponta Delgada harbour and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. I only had bed and breakfast, choosing to eat out in the evening and actually the day trips which I did included a midday meal which was more than adequate as a main meal. The breakfast was ok.
Because it was out of season I never had a problem with using the spa facilities but I can imagine that it could be an issue later in the season with the locals using it. On Ponta Delgada in general, there was one day when a Celebrity cruise liner with 2800 guests docked and all available coaches and minibuses were booked in advance making it very difficult to book trips.

Room Tip: Corner room had very large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Four of us stayed in two rooms for 6 nights. I cannot think of any major thing that was wrong, disappointing or negative about our stay however, some things you should be aware of:

- No Wifi: You can obtain an internet voucher from the front desk to allow you internet access to a PC in the loby.
- Pool: You will be required to wear a swimming cap which you can rent/buy from front desk. If you use the hot tub you are asked to wear a shower cap, but we did not.

Positives:
- The bar let us borrow a cork screw, to open wine we did not purchase there.
- The work out facilities were lovely with plenty of windows.
- When we wanted to rent a car the front desk showed us options from their preferred company. (Who were excellent)
- The lobby had a large table which was perfect for meeting the rental car company and doing the paperwork. We were allowed to park the car in the lot overnight for free and the hotel took care of returning the car.
-Everything was very clean and the housekeeping did sweet things like folding our pj's in cute ways.
- Water pressure was excellent in the bathroom and the water was very hot.
- You can order 'juice' in the morning to be delivered to your room. The hotel goes above and beyond sending not only juice but coffee/tea and a basket of bread.
- Breakfast buffet was massive with a LARGE variety. (No pancakes, bagles, or waffles though) Meats, eggs, breads, items to make sandwiches, cereal, drinks, yogurt, and plenty of fruits.
- The hotel is situated higher up in the city and has breathtaking views.

We are returning this coming October 2014, and not staying at the same hotel (not by choice-purchased through Groupon). I hope the second hotel can compare.
- Beds are twins and are comfortable.

Room Tip: Use the stairs as the elevators can be a bit slow. Dining is on the 2nd floor. Purchase knick-knac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

There are many nice features about this hotel so let me start with those: it is very clean and centrally located for walking the city. The staff are wonderful and speak excellent English. The bar is a good place to hang out at night and sit outside by the pool with an after dinner drink or coffee. Now the negative stuff: we made our reservation in January and (based on TA's previous reviewers) requested a room on an upper floor with ocean view. We arrived to find a small, tired room on the lowest floor that looked out on a paved soccer pitch where teens gathered every night to play and yell. There was broken tile in the bathroom, the chairs were old and torn, the curtains were broken and only opened part way, the closet doors were also broken and it took some muscle to open them. The safe had to be pried open with our fingernails after we typed in our code because,it too, was faulty. We asked at the desk for a better room and the woman said no.Parking was hard to find in the hotel lot and we discovered that the reason was most likely locals coming to use the indoor pool and/or gym. I'm guessing they can buy a membership. That led to another problem; the pool was never useable because it was full of screaming children who dominated the place while their parents took up the entire small hot tub. The indoor pool was also located next to our room so even though we would like to have had our windows open, the noise was just too obnoxious. Breakfast was included and the quality varied day to day as the staff also changed daily. One day the food would be replenished quickly and was hot, the next day there might be no coffee and everything served tepid. We never knew what the situation would be. The hotel, while well located for walking, is in the center of one way streets - all going in the opposite direction from the hotel. It's a nightmare trying to find your way back on any but the one street that allows access to the hotel, so make sure you have your GPS with you. This hotel was given four stars -- I assume because they offer several amenities, but we really couldn't use most of them due to overcrowding. The place is very clean but needs updating in different areas - especially the carpeting and the elevator which takes forever so we always used the stairs. I would choose a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: There is no website for this hotel but call and ask for an ocean facing room on an upper floor...hop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed a week and really enjoyed this hotel. Very close to a lovely park, the mall and downtown restaurants and shops. The rugs need to be replaced, but it is not a deal breaker. The beds were very comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. Breakfast should be included and they offer the same thing everyday, but they have a good variety. Ask the staff for an espresso and they will make it for you. I had three issues with this hotel.... The room temperature is too hot and there is no way to regulate it. We slept with our balcony doors open every night. They have two elevators and only one was working. We got so tired of waiting, we started taking the stairs down four flights (not so bad). They have great outdoor and indoor pools and a Jacuzzi. Don't know why they make such a big deal about wearing bathing caps??? The most outstanding thing about this hotel is the staff. They all speak English pretty well and always willing to accommodate you. They gave excellent dinner recommendations, supplied us with maps and stored our luggage. "A" for effort! They also have two computers with WIFI in the lobby for guests to use. I think the spa services seemed overpriced. We had a nice stay.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a balcony. Rooms without a balcony, seem very small. We stayed in room 408 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsgoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
Azoris Royal Garden Hotel
#6 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Miguel Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Property: Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Amaral | Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-222, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sao Miguel Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
S. Miguel Park Hotel is located near the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, near the city Botanical Gardens. The ideal rooms for families are large, comfortable and fully equipped. Rooms with balcony where you can enjoy the panoramic view over the city and the sea. S. Miguel Park Hotel has a warm decor and cozy ambiance in all its common areas of entertainment and leisure. You can benefit from the outstanding Health Club, complete with a fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi, massage, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The hotel's restaurant has the best buffet in town, where you can savor typical Azorean dishes, locally and nationally recognized for its high quality and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sao Miguel Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Miguel Park
Sao Miguel Park Hotel Azores/Ponta Delgada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing