We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, super location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel, super location!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Superb location 20 minutes walk from the harbour and nice views of Ponta Delgada. The staff here were very friendly and helpful but maintained a professional standard throughout. Facilities are excellent with Indoor and outdoor pools, well-stocked gym, sauna bar and restaurant with a reasonable buffet breakfast. Rooms were nice and clean with good air conditioning. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T2T20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    231
    72
    11
    3
See reviews for
120
212
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Professional and kind service, perfect location with plenty of parking for cars, walking distance to downtown and new big shopping mall. Nice Azorean buffet with some variation. The hotel has two pools, one inside and the other outside. Bring a swim cap if you want to swim indoors. There is a court for street soccer also. The hotel was originalet built as a school for catholic priests. You feel the touch if a good architect. We recommend this hotel. Small suggestions of improvement: salt & pepper on every table in the restaurant, gradually exchange or take away the floor carpets and put some thin extra mattress on the extra beds (we forgot to ask for it...).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudbeckius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I spend four nights at the São Miguel Park Hotel and enjoyed my stay very much.
The staff is very welcoming and friendly and helps with anything you need, practical advice for touring the island, or if you need any kind of help in the hotel - I had a small problem with the air conditionning which was fixed immediately.
Breakfast is very good, buffet breakfast with anything you might want. Salty and sweet, fresh fruit and vegetables, good, local bread, ham, cheese, eggs, yoghurt, you name it....The cakes change every day, which is nice if you stay a little longer.
The two pools are big enough to swim laps, the outside pool was a little cold, though.
There is a complete fitness club on the first floor of the hotel with anything you might need for a decent workout. There is a spa with sauna, too, which I have not used though.
The hotel is nicely situated on a hill looking down towards São Miguel, a walk into the old town center takes about ten minutes.
I had a room towards the parking lot - which was ok - but the rooms towards town and the ocean must have an amazing view.
Parking and internet are free!
The only 'fault' I could find with the hotel is that the rooms could need freshening up a little. I felt very comfortable in my room, but it felt a little tired. It was clean and nothing was really wrong with it, so it is difficult to explain what I mean exactly.
I think if the rooms were a little more modern, and maybe with a wooden floor instead of the carpets, I would definitely give the São Miguel Park five points.
Anyway, if I ever get a chance to go back to Ponta Delgada, I would stay there again, no matter what.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean, the views must be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunstar1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I took a brief but, full trip with my friend. Sao Miguel Park Hotel location was great for walking everywhere; downtown, public garden, mall, and grocery store. We booked 3 guided excursions which filled our days. Again the hotel location was very convenient for these tours. We took advantage of being close to downtown and the waterfront. Walking everywhere we got a great view of the area architecture. The door ways and balcony iron work is spectacular. Churches are very ornate. Even the sidewalks are ornately patterned in cobblestones.The people are friendly and polite. It was a pleasure spending time somewhere so civilized and safe.

Room Tip: our room was on the 4th floor near the stairs and elevator. Windows overlooked the outdoor pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SueBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel had a great setting. It was close to a couple parks and downtown was only a few blocks away. The staff was very accomodating- especially when we couldn't figure out how to turn on the lights! Haha Free continental breakfast as well!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

they let us go to the room when we arrived at 10am , big rooms for cuplle with cildrens, its a perfect hotel price quality the best., in this island we want to rest after a long and a tired day and this hotel is a good choice for family

Room Tip: larger and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sao Miguel Park Hotel for 5 nights. We came to this property on a Groupon deal so we didn't know what to expect. The hotel is PERFECTLY situated within a short walk into town for shopping and dining but set back enough to be quiet. It has a good deal of amenities, including a fitness center, 2 pools, whirlpool, sauna, restaurant, bar, and gift shop. A free breakfast is provided each morning in the restaurant, which my husband thoroughly enjoyed. I found the choices to be very limited but it was just enough to get us going in the morning before starting our day. We did not try the dinner buffet but were told by some locals that it was actually quite good. The bar was fine but a little pricey compared to others in the area. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were lovely and the outdoor one was never crowded. There is a rule about wearing bathing caps in both pools, whirlpool, and sauna (for both men and women), which (along with our limited time on the island) prevented us from enjoying those particular amenities that we would normally use. As many others reviewers have said, the hotel décor is dated. The tile, carpet, drapes, furniture and bedding all are worn and in desperate need of replacement. When we first arrived, I noticed it immediately. I think this is the only reason I could not give the hotel a perfect rating. If you can overlook this, the hotel's strong point is definitely it's location and level of service. The management and staff are friendly and attentive. I emailed in advance to request a room with an ocean view and balcony because we were celebrating both a special birthday and anniversary. When we arrived we found to our delight that we had been placed on the 6th floor (top) with a lovely balcony with both city and ocean view. Our room was perfectly clean and there was a small refrigerator and safe for our use. There is an energy-saving system in place for power in the rooms that requires that a key must stay inserted in a wall outlet by the door to keep the power on (both lights and air conditioning). This was not a problem for us, although it did mean having to wait for the room to cool off again upon our return from a long outing. A couple times we had to use our spare key to keep the power on while we were gone in order to keep our refrigerator on and our food/drink cold. The balcony was such a nice bonus for us and we used it frequently to enjoy the view and a nice glass of wine. The staff at the front desk was always friendly and helpful with arranging tours or calling a taxi. I will caution you though that you should handle your currency exchange in advance and/or outside of the hotel, as the front desk was NOT willing to exchange our USD (with the exception of $20 only once when we were there). We had not exchanged enough prior to our arrival, assuming that exchange at the hotel would be available. This was the only issue in which we found the front desk staff to be stern and unwaivering. We happened to run short on funds late one day prior to the next day being a bank holiday and it proved to be a little problematic. We fortunately found several ATMs in town and some restaurants (although not all) accepted credit cards.

All in all, our stay at the Sao Miguel Park Hotel was wonderful. If some care was taken to update the hotel furnishings and fixtures, it would be a 5 star place. From what we saw, it seems that many of the other properties in the area are in the same general condition. The location and most staff we encountered were excellent. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Babetha297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.9 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
763 reviews
1.0 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#10 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Miguel Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Miguel Park Hotel

Property: Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Amaral | Ponta Delgada, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-222, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#3 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sao Miguel Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
S. Miguel Park Hotel is located near the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, near the city Botanical Gardens. The ideal rooms for families are large, comfortable and fully equipped. Rooms with balcony where you can enjoy the panoramic view over the city and the sea. S. Miguel Park Hotel has a warm decor and cozy ambiance in all its common areas of entertainment and leisure. You can benefit from the outstanding Health Club, complete with a fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi, massage, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The hotel's restaurant has the best buffet in town, where you can savor typical Azorean dishes, locally and nationally recognized for its high quality and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sao Miguel Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Miguel Park
Sao Miguel Park Hotel Azores/Ponta Delgada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing