We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with old world charm”
Review of Hotel Talisman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Talisman
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location with old world charm”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The location is just minutes from the center of Ponta Delgada and a number of restaurants. The staff was very friendly, and the public rooms have interesting period details.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding, and had a variety of breads, cheeses, eggs, sausage and bacon, cereals, yogurt, tomatoes, cucumbers, jams, juice, coffee, and even waffles made to order. This was a great way to start our day.
The room was clean and large, and the wifi connection was free and fairly fast. We found the bed a bit hard, and there were no comfortable chairs in the room, just one small chair at a tiny table. The bathtub/shower was large and water was nice and hot. The floors throughout have no rugs, so were a bit cold under foot. There were a wide variety of channels on TV but reception was not outstanding. There is no refrigerator or tea pot in the room. A large bottle of water was in the room and was complimentary, a nice touch.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5JMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    279
    75
    13
    5
See reviews for
99
378
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely helpful staff, comfortable room, huge choice on breakfast menu, and interesting evening menu. Local food, fresh well cooked - ideal.And a truly memorable evening of local dance and food the roast octopus was a triumph.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

On our first night we were checked into a room that had no hot water, finding out the next day that this room does have a hot water problem regularly, so the staff was aware of the problem. however did not inform us at check in, perhaps there was no other choice on Dec.31.
The replacement room was clean and adequate.
Breakfast was average, however the F&B staff could do well with some training..( We were asked to hurry up to finish with breakfast....)
After all that our stay was still satisfactory and we would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Xeny43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were luck enough to stay at the Talisman for a week in January. We had Room 226 which, was spacious and clean with a huge bathroom and a large balcony overlooking a park. It had tea-making facilities and a mini fridge which we found convenient.
The breakfast buffet was a great start to our day and the staff were very nice and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Talisman is like stepping back in time, in a good way. The staff were so friendly and
helpful, especially Fatima. I loved the old-world furnishings and décor and the restaurant
food was great. A lovely place to unwind and catch up on some reading.
The Azores are an old world gem, and its people just lovely. I'll be going back.

Room Tip: whichever side of the hotel you face the views are interesting, any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

we booked in there last min after an overnight sailing trip fell through. Room is big and clean, service is good, location is central. We got a good last min deal which is great value. Hotel restaurant serves traditional Portuguese food.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mowana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great location, but avoid the rooms overlooking the street with bars (inc. their own!) on a Fri & Sat. The Fri & Sat buffet is a good way of sampling local cuisine and represents excellent value. For a 4* hotel, I thought having to ask for the minibar be filled and then being charged regardless of whether you drank it was rather tacky!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.8 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
20.2 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisman

Property: Hotel Talisman
Address: Rua Marques Praia e Monforte 40, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-089, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisman 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Talisman Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing