We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good medium sized hotel with atmosphere in town centre.”
Review of Hotel Talisman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Talisman
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good medium sized hotel with atmosphere in town centre.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is a medium sized boutique style hotel in the centre of Ponta del Garda. The situation of the hotel was excellent, and far better than some of the larger out of town hotels.The rooms are stylish, and well equipped, apart from electrical sockets, which were woefully scarce. No face flannel was provided, and housekeeping was a bit erratic, in the replenishing of complimentary tea and toiletries. The restaurant was good on the whole and we particularly enjoyed the Azorean Tasting Menu, which was good value. Service was satisfactory on the whole. Breakfast was average with a reasonable choice, but nothing special, and too few staff to clear the tables promptly on some mornings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    293
    80
    14
    6
See reviews for
105
396
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here on two separate 4-day stopovers during a recent island-hopping jaunt in the Azores and were more than happy. The hotel is reasonably priced, ideally located close to most everything in Ponta and the staff are cheery and helpful. Best is that the hotel has the feel of a traditional European hotel, not some chain. Breakfasts were the best that we had in the Azores, and we also tried their buffet dinners on occasion which were good. The hotel is divided into a newer and older section: Beds are a mite firm,there was no coffee maker, but rooms have ample closet space. In-room safes are provide at a cost. The older rooms front on a pedestrian-zone side street and are a bit tired, but are large, quiet and spotless. The newer rooms are slightly better appointed and front on a lovely park, but traffic noise might be an issue to some as every car screeches its tires going around the cobblestone curves. The hotel has a small roof-top pool (chilly in early May) with a great view, but with limited lounger space. Convenient parking is available nearby for 6 Euros/day. WIFI everywhere. My favorite hotel during our visit to the Azores.

Room Tip: The older portion of the hotel fronts a side street and is quieter, whereas the newer portion fronts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QCern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was the last place we stayed in after spending two weeks in the Azores and it was a great place to end the trip at. Our favourite part was the roof-top pool and sunbathing area that overlooks the city and gets a great amount of sunshine. There is complimentary WiFi everywhere in the hotel and an early breakfast which gets pretty busy.

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city close to the city gates, shopping streets, many restaurants, and a couple museums.

The hotel staff are very friendly and let us check in early. The sports bar staff, on the other hand, wasn't as friendly or accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateryna_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We first arrived in Ponta Delgada and checked into this hotel. We were travelling with my mother and two children (ages 5 and 8). We had reserved one cot so that one of the kids could stay in our room and one in my mother's room, however, our room was large enough to accommodate a second cot so that the kids could stay together with us (which they loved!). The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was outstanding and we found parking quite nearby for not much money (6 Euros/day). The breakfast buffet was great but I did find that the restaurant for dinner was not ideal for young children. The weather was not so great so we didn't get to enjoy the rooftop pool as much as we would have liked, but we found the beds were really comfortable and got a great nights sleep both nights we were there. Would stay here again if we came back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in room 226 for a week. Large room with balcony overlooking the park. Bathroom huge with large spa bath, separate shower, two wash hand basins. There is an unstocked minibar in the room which is great if you want to buy your own beers/ snacks/water. The building is very old with feature stair cases and lots of character. There is a good rooftop pool too.
The hotel is located very centrally is very near the main square where a lot of the festivities for the Santo Christo festival takes place. The square is fully lit up with live music acts/stalls etc every night for a week. The staff in every department were superb. We were welcomed with a complimentary drink from the bar. The reception staff were helpful in organising visits for us.
The live entertainment in the bar every night is great, Andrea has a wonderful voice and does requests.

We ate off the all carte menu in the evening twice, the food is excellent. Breakfast is good too with plenty of choice.

Tips/advice
Hire a car to get around the island, roads are very quiet
The hotel has a carpark which is locked at night a very short walk from the hotel €6 a day (much cheaper than the underground car parks )
There is some free parking but when the town is busy this is hard to find.
When booking ask for a room with a view of the gardens (I don't think all rooms have a good view)
If you like wine visit the local vinyard Quinta da Jardinete the tours are very good
Visit the island when the Santo Christo festival is on as there are lots of things to do and see

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel welcomed us on our first trip to the Azores with a very helpful and friendly front desk staff. We had a rental car and they went through parking options (there was ample parking on street within a block of the hotel, but that may not be the case if its high season)`

We ended up with a suite room, which was huge, even by US standards. It had a balcony overlooking the park, which was in full bloom in May. The beds were among the most comfortable we encountered in Portugal, and the overall room finish was attractive. The hotel has an in-house bar/lounge (complete with an entertaining lounge singer!) which we enjoyed winding down in a few times. The breakfast that was included with our rate was well worth it - huge selection of items, including fresh fruit, rotating hot items, and waffles. A step beyond the typical meats, cheeses and breads.

The location was central, and everything in the city was easily reachable on foot. The dinner options in Ponta Delgada are much more varied then on the rest of the island (where you are often faced with only a snack bar). We enjoyed this hotel enough to book an extra night here after a night in Povoacao. This is definitely the place to stay if you want to explore the western or central part of the island. Our second room wasn't a suite, but was still large - it was also a park-facing room. WiFi was very good throughout the hotel - strong signals through most of the hotel, and a fast connection. There is also a small rooftop pool which we didn't use - but the view from up there was worth a look. Overall a well run hotel in a prime location - a great choice for your first visit!

Room Tip: Park view seems to be the consensus. We enjoyed two different rooms. Suite is nice for spreading o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erk42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were extremely pleased with the hotel and its staff. We arrived on a Wednesday morning at 7:00 am and took a cab to the hotel. We decided to see if our room was ready knowing that check in time was at 3:00 pm. To our pleasant surprise it was. We settled into the room and took a short nap. After the short break we went to the front desk to get information about Ponta Delgada. The 3 people working the desk all spoke perfect English and were extremely helpful in providing information about what to see and do. They also provided us with a free street map of the city.

The hotel is located right in the center of Ponta Delgada and everything was within easy walking distance. The room was large and contained 2 double beds which weren't the most comfortable but were pleasant. The bathroom was one of the largest we have come across in Europe. The room , the bathroom and the hotel were all spotless.

The hotel has a restaurant and a pub with nightly entertainment. Breakfast is included in the room rates and we loaded up every morning and didn't have to eat again until dinner time. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, assorted cold cuts, numerous choices of bread and rolls as well as fresh fruit and yougurt.

The most pleasant part of the hotel is the staff. Everyone we dealt with was extremely helpful. They arranged for a rental car for us for 2 days with pickup and dropoff at the hotel.

All in all, I can recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCod1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.8 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
295 reviews
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
479 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisman

Property: Hotel Talisman
Address: Rua Marques Praia e Monforte 40, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-089, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisman 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Talisman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Talisman Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing