We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely central hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Talisman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisman
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely central hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Excellent location and lovely hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially on front desk. Breakfast was very good on the whole. The first morning we were there it was very busy, (we think there had been a wedding the day before) but after that service was fine. Great views from the pool area at the top of the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivienne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    275
    75
    13
    5
See reviews for
96
376
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one week starting 16 August 2014. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good breakfast choice. Even though hotel was packed, the staff did well to replenish the breakfast choices.
Room good. Quiet. Air-con worked well and adjustable. Bed comfy. The whole hotel and room had classic character. We tried the swimming pool on two days; clean, well maintaine- very nice. Great roof terrace view. Beach towel deposit and daily towel exchange worked well. Room safe one Euro per day-well worth it. fridge handy.
Local people who supervised our tours of the island knew this hotel and acknowedged it's quality.
All in all a very pleasant stay.
Thanks Hotel Talisman.
Chris and Hayley. England.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Great location! We are able to walk to local shops & restaurants. the hotel has a Quaint style. Great food, Best breakfast on my Acores trip was here. So great I came back on a night for dinner, it was good too. Nice views of the city from the pool & rooms. Nice place to stay on the island.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Adnana_Mendieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We choose this hotel after reading the reviews on here and we were not disappointed.
We had room 125 and we had separate lounge with 3 tables and 6 chairs, though we had no view from the window it was nice to have the separate sitting area, it was also very quite at night with no noise at all. The beds were really comfortable and there was all ways plenty of hot water. There was tea provided in the room but no coffee which we remedied by visiting the local supermarket we also stocked up fresh milk for the fridge, much nicer in the tea.
Upon arrival the fridge was not working properly but was soon fixed after raising with reception. The air con in the bedroom was not very efficient, think this was due to the positioning on the wall right by the window.
Hotel guests get 15% discount in the restaurant in the evenings and the food was very good and reasonably priced, we ate there every night and were joined by friends one night who were staying else where and they enjoyed it too.
The hotel is situated right in the heart of town and can easily walk to all the attractions easily, the pavements are decorated with local stone and each one seems to be of a different pattern, makes a nice change from the usual dull ones at home.
Reception staff were all very helpful and spoke very good English and were able to sort out day trips for us.
There is a small pool on the roof with a few sunbeds but no shade, was supposed to be heated but was quite chilly when cooling down. There are some great views across the town from up here.
The airport is quite close and there are lots of aircraft flying over during the day but nothing too intrusive.
We had a lovely week here and if we come back the Sao Miguel we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Suomi, Eurooppa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

On our one week trip we had large and clean room with separate living room and bathroom. Staff, especially front desk was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite common hotel breakfast. Location was perfect for day trips and you could walk around in down town. We rented a car for several days and parking near hotel was cheap. Market, restaurants etc. were close by and yet still street was not too crowded and loud. As a bonus you got discount from restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
483 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The oldest part of the building does have a very nice exterior. We had a big suite with classical furniture (in a new building). We liked the suite and the staff was very welcoming. The breakfast was extensive, but a bit noisy. The location couldn't have been better. But the hotel lacks a bit atmosphere to give it a top rating. But you won't find many better hotels on the Azores!

Room Tip: Go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great hotel, real friendly staff, clean, nice breakfast buffet (wide selection), and the best is their location. Real close to everything including many good restaurant surrounding it, 2 streets from Marina, 2 streets from free parking, 2 streets from grocary store, 2 streets from a bakery. Can't ask for a better location.
My only complaint, is that we had a room right next to the stairs, and we could hear on some nights time till late, loud people in stairs or in restaurant downstairs.

Room Tip: Get a room away from stairs. It can be loud late at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckydan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
19.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.8 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
20.2 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisman

Property: Hotel Talisman
Address: Rua Marques Praia e Monforte 40, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-089, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisman 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Talisman Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing