We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place!”
Review of Vila Nova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Nova Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to Ponta Delgada in August ....one of the busiest months with our whole family from the ages 5 months to 57 years old and loved every minute! We stayed at ...I would say the best hotel in Ponta Delgada the Hotel Vila Nova!
Rooms were spotless!!! Unbelievably clean the maids do an amazing job!!!
They have AC!!!!!!!! And it works amazing!!! If you've been to Portugal you know what I mean ( some hotels have A/C but you can't even feel it)
Staff were amazing anything you needed you had in a flash!
Breakfast was free with the room your normal breakfast, dinning staff were fast, kind and helped with anything you needed! Very pleased! I myself traveled with my two boys one 5 months & the other 8 years old.
The Hotel gave me a crib for my baby and it was exceptionally clean! I was very pleased!!
Free wifi which was great!!
5 minute walk to downtown!
Rooms over look the water, pool was a great with cool games room. You are near the airport but honestly it will not disturb your sleep flights only start around 8 am and are done going out around 8 pm, seriously anywhere you are on the island you can see and here the airplanes lol the island is not that big!!!! Lol you cannot here the airplanes in the morning if your window is closed!
Bank machine is located right outside of the hotel :)
I would defiantly return to this hotel every time we visit Portugal!!
We had family stay at the Atlantico hotel on the main strip and were not pleased at all!! Ac only turned on at night, rooms were outdated they were not happy at all.
Also our last day our flight was canceled so Sata got us accommodations at the Bahia Palace near vila Franca beautiful place but after staying at the Vila Nova we would never stay anywhere else!!!
Take my advice stay at the Vila Nova!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raquel_euro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We tried to check in at 0830 right after our flight landed but the receptionist told us our room wouldn't be ready till 10. That was fine with us and I expected her to say 1 pm. The room was nice and clean. The room included a nice breakfast buffet with juice and coffee. They have a dinner buffet for 25 euros but we didn't have it favoring a different restaurant downtown every night. Internet service was free and fast.

The hotel is an easy walk to downtown. We arranged a rental car through the front desk and it was delivered to the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay her and would consider returning.

Room Tip: Take one overlooking the pool if possible. Most of the others look over at other buildings I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim4_1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My Mom and I just returned from our trip to Ponta Delgada and had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was clean and the staff was great. We had a room facing the pool which was great.
There was a satisfying buffet breakfast.
The town center was a short walk from the hotel. Yes, we are close to the airport but it didn't make a negative impact on our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are best and make sure it has a walk out balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggiannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Vila Nova upon good reviews from relatives who had stayed there last year and good reviews we saw on the net.

We would definitely go back. The location was a bit of a walk to the main centre but very doable. Very close to airport and we thought the plane noise would be excessive but it was fine.

Pros - Parking situation was very good. private lock (with key access) and it cost us about $2 euros a day. We worried that lot would be full some days but we always managed having a spot.

- Very clean throughout the premises
- Staff was very friendly and helpful
- Inexpensive

Cons- Not too many cons but if i had to critique, i'd say the breakfast was a bit limited but if was fine for our purposes
- Our room backed onto the street . Not a good view so if you could get one overlooking the pool much better.
- having free wifi was great but we found that it worked best in the lobby. In our actual room it was slow and you would get kicked out a great deal. (not a big deal though)
- Very limited entertainment in the bar and bar closed at midnite (or even sooner). Again not a big deal b/c we didn't go there to hang out much in the hotel but always good to have. Apparently this is a criticism of most of the hotels in Sao Miguel as they are meant for sleeping only. No active lobby area with entertainment so I can't really fault this hotel for not having much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mystique7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just arrived back from the Azores.Myself and daughter stayed at the Villa Nova 17-24 aug.Easy checkin,great filling breakfast,from cereal to differnet breads/rolls/cakes and yogurts,bacon,eggs,beans etc filled you up till dinner.Staff friendly.Could do with having someone by the pool area to serve drinks food etc,as if you wanted a drink you need to go through reception to the bar and then wait for 10-15mins to get served as there is no-one at the bar continuous.I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 4th floor,over looking the pool and a great view of the sea.Big rooms.Lovely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Positives:
+ The hotel staff are extremely helpful, particularly those on reception and speak excellent English.
+ The hotel is within walking distance of the centre of Ponta Delgado.
+ Dirt cheap.
Negatives:
- The hotel is beneath the airport approach & you will hear aircraft noise
- Poolside rooms are preferable. Streetside rooms overlook a construction site, a skeletal building and can be noisy.
- The bar cabaret on Sat nights is dire

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metaldread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is well located just a ten minute stroll from the town centre. The front looks over a small industrial port complex so a rear room overlooking the pool is a better choice. All staff very friendly and the whole hotel is spotless. Breakast is fine if a tad limited in choice but it is perfectly adequate. The pool area is great sun trap in the afternoon after your day's exporing. Other than the super hotel, our trip incuded a dolphin and whale whatching trip and we fortunate enough to see both. Some lovely darl sand beaches 15 mins out of town by bus or car. Car hire is a must to explore the rest of the island and the hot springs etc. Make sure to take out SUPER Collision Damage Waiver. Normal Damage Waiver still has a 1200 Euro (yes!) excess !!! Hotel and the Azores were a super holiday and suprisingly affordable once you got there.

Room Tip: The front looks over a small industrial port complex so a rear room overlooking the pool is a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterChisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
1.0 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
505 reviews
1.4 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#13 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Nova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Nova Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Francisco Cabral 1 3, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-208, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: £44 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Nova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Nova Hotel is centrally located in Ponta Delgada, 1 km from the Convento da Esperanca. The hotel features air-conditioned rooms, a heated outdoor pool and a gym. Vila Nova's guest rooms are decorated in blue and grey tones. They include a minibar, extra long beds and a private bathroom with bathtub and shower. Guests can enjoy a daily breakfast buffet and dinner in the poolside Atlantis Room. The Vila Nova bar serves exotic cocktails and crispy afternoon snacks. The swimming pool area has a large sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. After a busy day, guests can enjoy a refreshing dive or play some billiards in the games room. Vila Nova is located 5 km from Milicias Ocean Beach and 4 km from Pope John Paul II International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Nova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Nova Hotel Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing