We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Acores Atlantico
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Rooms a little bit tired. Most variety of breakfast items of all the places we stayed in the islands. No wifi (or at least free wifi) --- But you could use one of two comptuers in the lobby for free.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davispeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2009

My 2 weeks 15-29 sep. was the BEST vacation ever! Was going sept 2009 again but we had a Death in the family, so next year I hope

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RolleHanko_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 14 days. The location of the hotel in Ponta Delgarda is perfect - just next to the marina, and very close to the town center, tourist bureau, bus stops, whale watching office, parks, mall etc. which is very convenient.
Our room was on the top floor (6th), which means we had a wonderful view of the Atlantic ocean. The cleaning staff were friendly and serviceminded, and did a really good job cleaning our room!!
This hotel is rated as a 4 stars hotel. However, it was build in the 80'ies and needs a makeover if you ask me. The international breakfast is avarage compared to other places I've visited... is missing the 'touch' of a cook, and was a little disapointing.
Free internet is normally associated with a 4 star hotel, but here the price is EUR 5 for 30 min!! There is no minibar in the room. However, there is a safe and an empty fridge which can surpricingly be used againt the fee of EUR 5 pr week pr item!! The initial fee for using room service is EUR 3 - each time!
All in all this is an OK hotel to stay at. However, I would not expect this hotel to be equal to a 4 star hotel like in Asia or western Europe. Having stayed at quite an amount of hotels around the world, I would rate Hotel Acores Atlantico no higher than 3 stars.
If you book at this hotel, make sure to get a room facing the marina. (This is the only reason why I would recommend this hotel, compared to some of the other accommedation choises in town)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fenzholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Had requested room on lower floor - was given one of the fifth floor. Bathtub dirty, as if someone had washed feet and not rinsed off afterwards. Old, dried dog-poo on balcony; found when moving table towards left wall - stepped in it (nice,eh). Lots of noise from early morning (7 am and earlier) until late in the afternoon - 5-6 pm. (Noise from paving being laid as well as noise from pneumatic drill).

No where to hang towels, the hooks were missing in bathroom.

Complaints to management/reception re. the dog poo went unnoticed (the receptionist shrugged his shoulders, that was it), the cleaners only came when we cornered them in the hallway one day.

Also, they charged Euro 9 for one hours use of computer - the local Sol Mar Centers computer corner charged only Euro 2 for one hour !

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ann38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

I stayed here as part of a package tour.
Location; Great, at the sea front, 2 minutes walk to shopping and restaurants, but Ponta Delgada is not a big city so most hotels are close to or in city center. Right across the street is the town's pool area, an entrance fee is required.
When I stayed here the harbour was a big building project so it was very much noise, but it looked like it will be nice when finished.
Rooms: average, most of them have a balcony.
Breakfast; 4 points! I much liked the fresh fruit salad every morning.
Indoor pool and exercise area exists but signs said you had to wear a cap to swim so I did not.
I missed an outdoor area to sit in the shadow and read a book but my balcony was just fine when I wanted some sun in the afternoon.
I did not need any help from staff, I only saw them do their job properly.
( Tip: there is a new seaside walk eastwards, when I was there it was built half the way to the beach 4 or 5 km east of Ponta Delgada, so I walked to and from the swim there.)

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank mcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

The hotel was a plesant experience. The staff was very friendly and serviceminded. The food was ok. The lobby bar was world class! The rooms was a tired and needed a makeover. The pool and relax area wasn't very nice.

Stayed: February 2003
Thank TravelerStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Stayed for 1 week in June 2007. Nice and clean room, but very noisy from the street and other rooms. Breakfast OK. At dinner time they only serve buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
#9 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
720 reviews
19.1 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acores Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acores Atlantico

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 113, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-770, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Acores Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acores Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acores Atlantico Azores/Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing