We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Os Moinhos

Os Moinhos
Ranked #22 of 135 Restaurants in Terceira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crowley, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

As we drove up to the restaurant my husband and I were a bit skeptical of the place but we were blown away with our meals. The atmosphere and service was stellar as well as the food and the staff was very accommodating to our needs if and when they did arise. I informed all my friends of the gem and they were also impressed. One of the best restaurants on Terceira.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_Darlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    34
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
202 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a great meal here in an ancient atmosphere - an old cellar environment. Creative, homecooked Portuguese dining - worth the effort to find this out-of-the-way spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great food for moderate prices in a nice atmosphere. A bit hard to find but certainly worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivo_Huth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Must go on a Tuesday”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the restaurant. it looks like a restored home typical to many people who grew up on the islands. The mother in law soup was AMAZING, I could have ate it all if i didn't already order more food. On Tuesday there are folk singers that also come in which was a surprise for us. Great food, just make a reservation

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
192 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Terceira? Probably.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

As a regular visitor to the Azores, I discovered this place last year after locals recommending it. First visit in 2012 was with my girlfriend where there was a lovely ambience, set in a converted mill on the road going out of Sao Sebastiao towards Porto Martins. Be sure you know where this subtly signed place is before you go...

My most recent visit was where I took a group of 10 tourists here to experience excellent Azorean cuisine with both fish and meat options. Once again a beautiful, cosy atmosphere with outstanding value- from extremely reasonable garafes of Mainland Portuguese wine to local wine all very well priced. The food however is outstanding and fresh - lovely grilled fish (snapper etc) and steak from the island's cows too. All cooked as you'd expect in any upmarket restaurant in a major European city but at just 10-15 euros per main course! The seafood tile is my recommendation - subtly flavoured and certainly filling.

A nice touch at the end was a bottle of dessert wine on the house that we shared around which showed a personal touch so lacking on so many institutions too. Os Moinhos is on the agenda for my next visit for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Os Moinhos also viewed

Terceira, Azores
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira
 
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira
 

Been to Os Moinhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing