We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Hotel Beira Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Beira Mar
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Terceira
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had a couple of rooms at the Beira Mar for three days in November, 2012, arriving in a storm and then enjoying fine weather for the rest of our stay. The hotel's location is exceptional and the staff, rooms and breakfast all contributed to making our time there very agreeable. Even parking was no problem as we found a space outside the hotel every night.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenz250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

we stayed there for a couple of days at the beginning of October, staff friendly room clean but a little basic, the views were stunning, breakfast was good for Azorian Hotels, dinner very good and fairly priced, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a refridgerator [ours didn't]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

the major advantage of this hotel is its position: straight in front of the beach of Angra, few steps from the marina, our room had a beautiful view to the sea and we really liked it. The room was essential, clean but a bit small. There was free internet connection and the breakfast was quite good. We also had dinner at the restaurant: the food was good, but the service was horrible. We were sitting outside and we had to wait for an incredible amount of time to get served, despite we called and complained more than once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, it's obligatory in a place like this!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OminoDiGhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

not shmancy, but clean and spacious room/balcony facing the bay from which i could hear the waves :) room is simple yet has character. unlike other hotels, nice flatscreen tv/cable and in-room wifi worked very well. i'm a very light sleeper and didn't have any noise issues.

room for improvement: one female staff was super-friendly/helpful, the others more business-like. would have to say that i didn't like the restaurant's food or service.

but overall, compared to the 2 other azorean hotels at which i stayed (angra garden and vila nova on sao miguel), this was the best value and therefore the best :)

Room Tip: facing the sea, ask to preview if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcl932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have been for business in this hotel in an room the second floor, last May.
The personal was reserveid and cordial; the restoraunt was good.
The room was clean but a few optional. The cost was not high!
I recommend this Hotel to all tourists!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbarletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Location is good if you get a room to the sea, if not you just get a wall in front of your window. We get a lot of exterior noisy because of the weak isolation of the windows. There are a lot of interior noises too all over the day, specially in the morning.
At the restaurant the food is very good but some of the restaurant employes do not have a profissional behavier.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventure65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Hotel Beira Mar is a 3-star hotel in the centre of Angra near the new marina and with views of Monte Brasil . There are only a couple of hotels right in the city centre but major building work into the cliff face on the other side of the marina suggests new competition is being built.

We stayed for 4 nights in April and were initially given a twin room at the top of the hotel overlooking a picturesque sandy bay. Unpacking our clothes, we were shocked to find the wardrobe drawers covered in a white mould which, on closer inspection, also appeared in patches on one of the walls. Night staff seemed genuinely upset when we pointed it out to them so, with the offending drawers removed, we decided to stay put. In the morning the room felt very damp and, returning from breakfast, there was a strong damp / mouldy smell in the air. Despite being told by one gentleman that the mould on the wall "is not a problem" and "the weather's fault" we were given a different room without argument.

The second room was at the side of the hotel with a nice view of the street and the church but right away felt much cleaner and airier. Maybe it had been refurbished recently or maybe just not used as often as the sea-facing rooms but everything was in a better state of repair, less worn and generally cleaner and fresher than the first room. It had a light airy bathroom and there was more space overall. If we went onto the balcony and peered down the street we could even see the sea! Room service was reasonably priced and there's a fridge in the room for your own use.

Breakfast was good if you could beat the flies to the buffet. In their defence, staff seemed aware of the problem and efforts to cover things were made. There was fresh local bread, fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, cold meats and cheeses, yoghurts and a large cake (that turned up on consecutive mornings waiting to be finished). Coffee was alright and there was orange squash in lieu of juice. All in all though, we've had worse breakfasts at 4-star hotels and the restaurant would have been a lovely environment to eat it in if it wasn't for the same Frank Sinatra CD being played every morning.

Despite our problems with the first room, I wouldn't want to put anyone off staying here; it's considerably cheaper than most of the other hotels we looked at in the area and staff were generally friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the overused sea-view rooms. : (
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClairkeithTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Terceira hotels
0.7 mi away
Terceira Mar Hotel
Terceira Mar Hotel
#1 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
695 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel do Caracol
Hotel do Caracol
#2 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
430 reviews
9.7 mi away
Atlantida Mar Hotel
Atlantida Mar Hotel
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Teresinha
Hotel Teresinha
#2 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angra Marina Hotel
Angra Marina Hotel
#6 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 7 in Angra do Heroismo
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beira Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beira Mar

Address: Largo Miguel Corte Real, Terceira, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Terceira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Terceira
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beira Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing