We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quinta dos Acores

Quinta dos Acores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
251 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I used to live close to Quinta, and often meet friends for lunch there. They have a GREAT lunch menu; fixed price and you get soup and main course. Maybe drink too, can't remember. I think the lunches are are delicious, but especially on Thursdays. :) And of course you have to get the ice cream. The caramel sauce is like a gourmet salted caramel; out of this world. My family likes the burgers. The sandwiches on the local bread- bolo levado (like an English muffin, but 100x better) are awesome too. I'll miss the ice cream and caramel sauce from here, and the great lunches with amazing views. My toddler LOVES the soup here too. Great place! (PS: For lunch, arrive around 11:30. If you wait till noon, there isn't very many tables left and you have to wait.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    112
    46
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The ice cream is the fat-richest and very popular among the Terceirans. Everything there is produced on Terceira. The menu has lots of variety and there's a gourmet shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aishasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A friend took us to this local restaurant/creamery . We were surprised to find amazing food and salads with a great view and service. Local products are also sold at the gift shop upstairs. You can purchase meat, cheese ice cream ,liquor and other local souvenirs. The food was delicious and presentation excellent. Finished our meal with amazing ice cream and espresso. They Offer flavors not found anywhere else. Don't be put off by the outside of the building as it looks like just a cafeteria and creamery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dougrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Freshest food ever! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This place is a foodies dream come true . The food is so fresh and delicious , the prices are very reasonable and the view is great ! They have amazing ice cream too . I would recommend not going around lunch time if you don't want to wait in line for a table . Also avoid Sunday afternoons since this place gets packed after church . Overall a great place for great food !

Helpful?
Thank Hpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
237 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you are doing self-catering while here on Terceira, make this your first stop or visit this place at the beginning of your trip. You can stock up on great local produce.

Our landlady told us about this place and we visited only to eat at the restaurant, not realizing that we could buy stuff as well. I suppose if we had not gone on a Sunday we would have been able to see the cheese-making process as well.

Quita dos Açores isn't easy to find. I did not see any signs anywhere and the address listed here is wrong. If you click on the website link above, you will see that it is located in Saõ Bento on a street (or maybe it's the area) called Pico Redondo. You can access it from one of the roundabout exits on the highway from Angra to the airport.

We stopped by for lunch on a Sunday and should have done so for dinner, cos we over ate. The place opens at 10am and closes at 10pm, even on Sunday.

I ordered a sirloin steak (think that's what it was - bife de lombo) with pineapple reduction, roast potatoes and salad and my brother a hamburger without bun. Was too much for lunch. We couldn't leave without having a scoop of ice-cream and are glad we didn't miss out on it. This was excellent.

Orders at the neighboring tables also looked great. There was a small little play area for children and high-chairs as well.

This is not a tourist place and has a contemporary cafe ambience, full of locals. Prices are also very local!

So join in and taste some of the best produce from the island. If you have a car, this is a must. If you go on a weekend, go early cos the line got very long at 1pm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franinmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quinta dos Acores also viewed

Angra do Heroismo, Terceira
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira
 
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira
 
Terceira, Azores
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira
 

Been to Quinta dos Acores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing