We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel-good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel-good value for money”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Potentially this is one of those big chain faceless hotels. However we had a great room, it was clean and the staff were generally very pleasant. The hotel was good value for money. There is plenty of free parking around the hotel and it is a short pleasant walk along the river to the town centre. It's not the sort of hotel where you would want to spend a holiday but it's great for an overnight stop, city break or business.

I must say that even with my GPS I did have some difficulty finding the hotel. However I didn't have to drive into the town and as stated above it was only a short walk to the centre. Some signposting from the main road would have been useful.

We were a little annoyed when we went to enjoy a coffee and brandy and a hot chocolate after a night out only to find the Barman missing. When he did return he served a large group of Portuguese young men first who arrived after us and my wife had to go to the bar to get a hot chocolate. I didn't bother with my brandy coffee. To be fair he did apologise and the hot chocolate was on the house.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibsandbobs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaRia, Meeting & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to share your comments about your stay at Meliá Ria Hotel & Spa.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us, regardless of the episode with our Barman. We're sure this was an isolated even and will not happen again.

Hoping to see you soon,

Best regards and best wishes,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    433
    138
    39
    11
See reviews for
211
389
17
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The architecture of the hotel is surely contrasting with its surroundings. Insight is nice spacey hotel. Rooms are large, comfortable and quit. Great large beds. Super breakfast with lots op choice. Just avoid having breakfast at peak time as the elevators are quit slowly. Having a room at e.g. 5th or 6th Floor it will take lots of time to go up or go down. The old city centre has numerous bars and is at walking distance

Room Tip: One site has a view over the parking lot that is far less interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Dww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback here on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belluno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nice hotel and SPA. Big and clean room. Easy to reach with big parking place. Confortable bed. Good brekfast. Nice staff. The centre of th city is not far away, only few minutes by foot. I haven't use the spa but it looked nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariotronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.
We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards,
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights.
- The breakfast was very good.
- The rooms are super quite and comfy
- The hotel service was good
- Good and easy to use wireless connection
- The restaurant has an awesome view of the lake

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes,
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed teo nights on a business trip. The hotel is about a 7 minute walk from downtown Aveiro, which is great, so you are close but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle. The room I got was overlooking the lake. Try to get a room with that view.
The room itself was comfortable, clean. Did not get to use the pool and spa, but it seemed nice.
I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.
We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Quiet and convenient location. 10 minute walk into town centre and shopping nearby. Reasonable price for good-standard hotel. Reception staff helpful but hotels should not charge guests for use of facilities such as pool and gym (10 euros in this case).

Room Tip: Hotel in quiet location so, in my experience, no traffic noise. Long wait for lift at busy times so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We would like to inform you that we have available a large number of special programs and promotions that include both the breakfast and the access to our Wellness Centre/Health Club.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was for the 4th time in a couple of years in Melia Ria hosted.

What we liked:
The hotel is very nicely located, so you can go by fit to the main streets of Aveiro or the night life area. On both you can find several very tasty and good value restaurants or bars. In the surroundings there is a open road shopping mall with plenty shops cinemas and fast food places.

The amenities are from good quality, the room had good space. Bed sheets as well as very comfortable mattress and pillows.

The personal is friendly and helpful, we had a small problem with the TV which was solved in promptly

What we didn`t like:
The room cleaning was very bad this time, all areas which are not directly visible were really bad cleaned, full of dust and even hands grease.I`m not really very sensitive with this things of small defects or usage marks, but this was much more then that. I would not right it here if I thought it was the mistake of once, but by the amount it seams that some one including the supervision is not taking the right care, and note that a Melia is normally not a cheap hotel.
The shower head was also not being possible to fix, as we found already on the last time in another room. So once more proof of not good care. There were a couple of small things that showed that the supervision shall take a closer look to make the costumers happy, as it start not to fit with Melia normal offer.

The breakfast was also very medium, lack of selection of bread, variation of sliced cheese or ham. The fruits, cereals, juices and others are also very limited in the choice. I can even not say that the quality of the products there were good, but just medium. And I have the feeling that was already better.

Next time I would evaluate other options for the same price.

Room Tip: Check upon arrival, the condition of the shower head fixing and working, as you don`t want to figure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsi4av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.

We're very sorry to hear your last stay was not perfect, and we would like to comment on some of the aspects you've refered.

Concerning the cleaning issues, we periodically perform a full room clean-up, that includes all the details that are not usually visible to our guests (such as the interior part of the minibar cabinet).

There may be a few rooms that require this intervention right away - we will do a check-up on those rooms, following your comments.

Regarding the shower head - its repair is a very simple operation performed by our maintenance staff, at the request of our housekeeping staff, when they notice that intervention is needed. Following your comment, we will reinforce with the housekeeping staff the need to pay more atention to this particular detail.

And finally, concerning our breakfast, we must inform that we've been keeping the same standard for it for over 2 years: we've got 8 different varieties of bread, 4 types of jam, 7 types of cold items, 3 types of cheese, 6 types of fruits, 3 kinds of cereals and 3 fruit juices.
There may have been a period of less food available when our colleagues where replacing the items.

Thank you again for your comments, that will help us maintain a quality servisse.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries. and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aveiro hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Veneza Hotel
Veneza Hotel
#3 of 16 in Aveiro
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aveiro Center
Hotel Aveiro Center
#7 of 16 in Aveiro
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardim
Hotel Jardim
#6 of 16 in Aveiro
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel As Americas
Hotel As Americas
#8 of 16 in Aveiro
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel das Salinas
Hotel das Salinas
#5 of 16 in Aveiro
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Ria Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Ria Hotel & Spa

Property: Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Address: Cais da Fonte Nova | Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aveiro
#2 Family Hotel in Aveiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aveiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Ria Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa is located in a superior quality residential development in the centre of Aveiro, with views of the lake formed by the Ria de Aveiro. Located next to the Cultural and Congress Centre and the train station, just a short distance from the historical heart of the city, 7 km from the beaches, and 60 minutes from Oporto airport, with easy access to the A1, A25 and IC1 highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Melia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Ria Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aveiro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing