We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best old furniture hotel,museum look-a-like.Only 2 stars but confort of 3-4”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alentejana Residencial
Ranked #8 of 26 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best old furniture hotel,museum look-a-like.Only 2 stars but confort of 3-4”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Took a trip in Coimbra and stayed at this hotel only one night but it was very nice althought it looks old on the outside,inside you will find clean and biiig rooms,we had room 13 with 2 beds,one double and one single.Bathroom was biig and nice,very clean,shower worked just fine.Furniture is old and looks very good,beds were ferm,AC unit was ooooold with creepy remote control,maybe the first AC unit with wireless control,worked just fine wasn;t very quiet but it held up the room temp just fine.
Location is good,Coimbra will kill your muscles,taxi fares are good:)))
There is a restaurant next to hotel on the left on your way out of hotel,i don t remember it s name but daamn we ate good and cheap.Definetely recommend and will return to this cozy old grandma's house Residencial Alentejana.
P.s wifi free with goood signal,rooter next to our room

Room Tip: Room 13 is biiig and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here over the summer while in Coimbra for a conference. Very helpful staff and a charming place to stay. It is a bit of a walk to the university campus, but I think you're in for a hilly walk no matter where you stay. This is located near many small restaurants, but not in the most touristy part of town (which is fine with me!). I didn't have a car but I really don't think you need one if you're just in town for business. Very quick and cheap taxi ride to/from the train station.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, FL
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This B&B is just uphill from the university and a fairly long walk from the touristy center of the town, which is near the riverfront. The building is a large old house, converted into guest apartments, and reeks of atmosphere. Our room was lovely--high domed ceiling, a small balcony looking out over the town, bathrobes, writing table, huge comfortable chair; and the staff were excellent, helping us find our way around, suggesting restaurants, and making reservations. Two caveats: The only access to the B&B is up a staircase that might be difficult for some people with heavy luggage, and our room had a bit of a noise problem. There was traffic noise during the day, and a bar/restaurant across the street attracted loud people at night. Still, the noise was not sufficient to interfere with sleeping or anything else we wanted to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoBeRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I booked this B&B without paying close attention to the scale on the map I was using. It's a good 30 minutes walk into the old town where most of the restaurants are (and 30 minutes back again, all up hill). There are buses available, but we never mastered the timetable and ended up walking. On the plus side, there's free parking on the street right outside the front door.

The rooms are fine, if in need of a little redecoration. We were travelling with 2 young children and were given 2 extra beds (albeit for €20 each). Overall, this place is okay, but next time I'd look for somewhere nearer the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramses2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for one night while traveling through Portugal and this beautiful, clean, delightful bed and breakfast was simply one of a kind and absolutely perfect. I am particular about location and cleanliness and this had both. I would never stay any place else if I were in Coimbra.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gjersee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I loved RA because it is a relaxed, comfortable, and friendly, extremely clean no frill place. The service can impeccable and the place for ideally located for me as I was there for a conference at the University. Staff is very careful about details and one feels immediately at one's ease. It's all about small touches - like they bake a new cake every morning for breakfast. Delicious!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaunMaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Almedina Coimbra Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alentejana Residencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alentejana Residencial

Property: Alentejana Residencial
Address: Rua Doutor Henriques Seco No 1, Coimbra 3000-145, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alentejana Residencial 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alentejana Residencial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing