We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for.”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located. The outside building indicates its glorious past. Inner room is what I expected, as we read review before booking. The unfortunate part is this is the week of students celebration. I was told by the front desk. It is 3:40 in the morning. I am writing the review. Music, screaming, and yelling is non stop through the whole night. The whole building is shaking under the youth of new generation. After sleepless night, I am not sure if I would still consider this is a charming town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereAboutEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    155
    124
    58
    40
See reviews for
64
215
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is very centrally located in Coimbra. The view from the windows facing the street is wonderful. The hotel was once a classy place, but it is way past its prime. The beds are noisy and uncomfortable. The rooms are musty and are not particularly clean. The hallways are dark and dank. Wifi is available only in the lobby. The place has the potential to be a first class hotel with a massive overhaul, but at present, it is barely a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Spent a pleasant two nights in this historic and charming hotel, and slept well. Our spacious and sparsely furnished room with three single beds faced the river and had a balcony. Noise no problem.
The bathroom was spacious in art deco style, and had a shower/bath combination. The water pressure was unreliable - new plumbing needed perhaps.
The downstairs public spaces were charming and old worldly, with free wifi access in the lobby area, not in the rooms.
Breakfast was served in an attractive dining room. Food nothing special but quite adequate. central location, easy walking to shops, restaurants, university and other sights.
Staff, except for one grumpy fellow, were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour and I must say it was our least favorite. Yes the location was great for exploring Coimbra but our room was the pits. The bed was ancient and creaked with every movement. The pillows were atrocious and the room smelled of dust and mold. I would have traded location for a better night's sleep. We were here for 2 nights and the room was never swept . The public areas are very historic looking but again this hotel could use much needed renovations. If we return to Coimbra which was a beautiful city we would find another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coimbra hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is beautiful, with all the art deco touches. The rooms are adequate and the bathrooms are clean with a shower tub combo. We took a room facing the river, which unfortunately was also facing the busy street. There was traffic noise throughout the night, but not terrible. Also, if you are driving here, there is no free parking. There is a lot across the street, where you have to purchase a parking ticket between 8 am and 7 pm. You can purchase tickets in 4 hour slots. You can purchase one for the morning the night before, so you don't have to wake up early. The free breakfast is very nice. The hotel staff are courteous.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

What a pleasant surprise! The hotel dates back to 1926 with the original lift still operational. The reception and dining area is furnished with beautiful antique pieces. The rooms are large and spacious with old style furniture. We had a room on the fourth floor with a view onto the Rio Mondego. The views where stunning especially watching the late sunset. The hotel is located in the heart of Coimbra allowing you easy access to most important sites in the city. Within meters of the hotel lies numerous pastalerias (coffee shops) selling exquisite pastries and fabulous coffees. You can even have a local beer or vino do Porto (port wine) whilst watching passers by.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauladca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I spent a very comfortable night here and was attracted to the hotel initially by its great location, right next to all of the major sites. I was pleasantly surprised to find my room was quite large with very high ceilings and windows overlooking the old town and the university. It was quite quiet at night and I slept very comfortably.

The bar area was very nice with comfortable chairs and a strong wifi signal which allowed me to relax and plan my sightseeing. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was only OK, certainly not bad but nothing to get overly excited about either.

All in all a great spot to use as a home base while exploring the charming town of Coimbra.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Avenida Emidio Navarro 21, Coimbra 3000-150, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel overlooking Mondego River in historic university town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing