We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel, highly recommended!”
Review of Hotel D. Luis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D. Luis
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Hotel D Luis is overlooking the historic centre of Coimbra from a hillside a couple of kilometres from the city centre. The rooms are very comfortable and are tastefully furnished, with air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities, refrigerator, toiletries and all the usual amenities. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and there is free wifi throughout the hotel (althogh it gets a bit unreliable in more distant rooms). There is free fruit and madeira wine (!!) on offer in the lobby and the hotel has lovely and comfortable public areas. Breakfast was great, with all the usual choices (fruit, cereal, ham, cheese, cold cuts, pastries, egg, etc.). They also have bikes for hire, although this may not be such an attractive proposition in a town as hilly as Coimbra. All this for an extremely reasonable price - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Excellent hotel - rooms on one side (facing the river) have lovely views of the old centre of Coimbr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luis. Your review describes very well some of our services, we thank you for that.
Everytime you visit Coimbra, we will be at you total disposal for everything you need.

Hope to welcome you next time you came to Coimbra, we remain.

Yours sincerly,
Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

A quality 3star hotel, deserving of a higher rating! Spacious rooms, a great view over the river to the city (even a lovely view from the back rooms onto the woodland behind) and really good food. Breakfast was all you could want and they have a special rate for the evening meal for residents, so budget conscious travellers benefit all round -tasty and well-presented!! Staff really friendly and helpful.
Would certainly stay here again and thoroughly recommend, even though a little out of the town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetGill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so thankful to read your review. It was a pleasure to have your stay with us. Thank you for your words.
We will be waiting for your visit when you have opportunity, meanwhile we are at your total disposal for any queries needed.

Hope to welcome you soon, we remain.

Yours Sincerly,
Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Easy to find, easy to get back to from town, easy to park and free WiFi. We enjoyed the Best Western D. Luis. We like to walk and were able to walk from the hotel right into the old town area pretty easily. About 25 minutes at a brisk walk. We walked across the Santa Clara Bridge and that was a nice way to discover Coimbra but wish the front desk person had told us about the pedestrian bridge that was much closer and easier to use. There is very little on the hotel side of the river in the way of restaurants or little markets. Rooms were fine but nothing outstanding. When the doors close they bang loudly due to the way the latches work. It was very irritating when people checked in late. Breakfast was pretty mediocre. Most of the breads tasted as if they were packaged products. Fruit was from a can and the eggs were iffy. We needed to leave early about 15 minutes before the breakfast room was ready and wanted to grab something. They said we had to wait until the appointed time. Exceptions come difficult to Europeans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwkrengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís.
We carefully read your review and we are very thankful about all the information you shared. It will improve our performance in all the aspects you mencioned.
Hope to welcome you in the near future.

Yours sincerly,
Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Our stay in this hotel in Coimbra, Portugal was very comfortable. Our room has a patio and we looked out to the lights and waterway of Coimbra. It was very beautiful. Staff was helpful. Room was clean. Food was great! What more could you ask for? I recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "front side" have a view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay at our hotel.
We were very happy to read your comments regarding our service. We really appreciate your words.
Hope to welcome you in a near future.

Yours Sincerly,
Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our room had a terrific view. We could see the city. That is also a downside of this hotel. You would have to drive with a car to see the city centre. It is too far to walk. The breakfast area is large and has a lot of products, but when we we're there at 8:30 a lot of products (ham, cheese, eggs) we're not available anymore. The hotel has the vibe of a business hotel. So if you are planning to have a romantic getaway, then you can better stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review at TripAdvisor and we are thankful for your words.
Your opinion is very important, it's a contribute to improve quality. We will take all our attention regarding the details you'd mentioned.

I are very glad that you had enjoy your stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís and we hope to welcome you another time you come to Coimbra.

Yours Sincerly,
Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Quiet, comfortable and good food. What more do you want? Coimbra is a beautiful city and this is a great place to see it from. Sure would stay here again. The view alone is worth the price. Our evening meal was delious and served quickly and without issues.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelwisard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís.
Coimbra is a very interesting and a beautiful place to visit, with all the gastronomy, history, culture, Fado, nature and plenty of activities to do.
We were very thankful that you have choosen our hotel to stay and for your kind words regarding our restaurant.
Hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Your sincerely,
Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Don't expect to find luxury in this hotel. However the price you pay in my opinion is very good if you look into the amenities the hotel provides to you ( wifi, parking...). If you look for a place to rest with a very nice view this is a good option and you won't regret, that's for sure. Rooms are simple, comfortable and very clean. The staff is helpful ( a small issue we told to the receptionist and he just rushed into it and solved it ) and ready to provide information about Coimbra. Last but not least...very good breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hofmann1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís. Is for us very important to know our guests feedback.
We would like to welcome you another time you visit Coimbra.

Yours Sincerly,
Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Almedina Coimbra Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
1,179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,317 reviews
2 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#8 of 23 in Coimbra
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D. Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D. Luis

Address: Rotunda da Ponte Rainha Santa Isabel, Coimbra 3040-091, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range: £35 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel D. Luis 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel D. Luis is located near downtown Coimbra, in a quiet area with stunning views of the city, the Mondego River and the University of Coimbra. Inaugurated in 1988 and in keeping with a classic and functional style, it combines a family atmosphere and personalized service that distinguish it from other hotels. With areas worthy of a 4-star hotel and adapted to the new technologies, Hotel D. Luis provides comfort both in pleasure trips and business trips. Access to the WIFI network is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. Its excellent location allows its customers to be near the town centre and simultaneously enjoy its calm atmosphere, without having to worry about parking. At sunset, the gardens of the hotel induce to walks that will transport your imagination to another time, because wherever you look you can contemplate one of the oldest cities in Europe. In the Panorama restaurant you will have the privilege of tasting the most exquisite foods of the city and enjoying the best views of Coimbra. The bar, with a varied list of cocktails and appetizers, is the ideal place to relax after a day in the city. Hotel D. Luis rooms and services are also ideal for meetings, for it has 5 rooms provided with the newest technology, perfect for hosting meetings, conferences, wedding receptions or dinners for special occasions, making it the ideal complement for the many events that take place in Coimbra, the University and the hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel D. Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western d Luis
Best Western Coimbra
Coimbra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing