We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but comfortable”
Review of Hotel D. Luis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel D. Luis
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have been frequent guests so have a room at the back by choice as it is quieter. The hotel has stunning city views and free parking. Very good value. Come off the motorway at Condeixa sign. Then take Coimbra signs. This avoids going thru town.Tea and coffee facilities in bedrooms and free wifi. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Views or peace and quiet. Your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nottinghamowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bw H, Diretor de vendas at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Coimbra and for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was such a pleasure to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and our city.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel is located outside of Coimbra, off a roundabout on the ring road but with a great view over the city.

It is very dated in both the decoration of rooms and public areas, and in the restaurant, which was a bizarre place to eat given what every other restaurant in Portugal is like.

Still, it was cheap and comfortable so no complaints.

Room Tip: Half the rooms have good views over the city - the other half look the other way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillcoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bw H, Diretor de vendas at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Coimbra and for your wonderful review about our hotel and restaurant. It was such a pleasure to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and our city.

We were very pleased with your comments about our services and our meals.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I like this hotel. It's what you can expect from a Best Western, good value for what you need. When you check in ask for a room with a city view. Coimbra looks nice at night. There's also free wifi and the breakfast buffet was to my satisfaction. Only downside is that the only way to and from downtown is via cab. Overall, i had a pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again the next time im in Coimbra.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erickson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bw H, Diretor de vendas at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Coimbra and for your wonderful review about our hotel and restaurant. It was such a pleasure to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and our city.

We were very pleased with your comments about our services and our meals.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here as a base to look round the area. The hotel it's self is a little dated but has all the usual facilities and services you need. The hotel has a great position on the hillside opposite Coimbra city centre so make sure you get a room on this side so you can enjoy the views. The breakfast is adequate but nothing special however it does cater to all tastes.

The good things about this hotel are:
Plentiful free parking
Free wifi
Views of Coimbra and good central location for the region
€5-6 to get a taxi to the city centre
Friendly and helpful staff
Rooms have a safe
There are two great restaurants just down the hill - try Praxis for great steak and home brewed beer

Bad points:
We experienced allot of noisy guests (outside the hotels control) so take earplugs
There isn't a foot path to anywhere that we found, so get a taxi, drive or use the little worn unofficial path down to the roundabout.
The restaurant doesn't open until 7.30pm which is inline with other restaurants in the area so expect to eat later than at home.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Toxtethtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Manager at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Coimbra and for your wonderful review about our hotel and restaurant. It was such a pleasure to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and our city.

We were very pleased with your comments about our services and our meals.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour. Otherwise do not bother. It is up a hill with a distant view of the old city. It is in the middle of nowhere with no access to restaurants or grocery stores. You are a captive audience. The food was not great. The hotel itself was clean and had free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jubliladaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Manager at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Coimbra and for your wonderful review about our hotel.

We were very pleased with your comments about our services and our meals. Unfortunatly, it didn't correspont to your expectations. We always try our best.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Good parking and location. Breakfast is average(staff need a kick up the backside), food was short, sausage was disgusting, no beans, toaster was pants, good coffee from machine. Staff at reception good(Nelson was excellent). Room clean, bathroom lacked a bit. The bit which really got to me, was the poor wifi reception(5th floor). If you are advertising it, make sure it works properly!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QualityFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Manager at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Coimbra and for your wonderful review about our hotel.Thank you so much for your comments regarding our service, we'll use them in order to improve.

Hope to welcoming you again next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hotel D. Luis is perfect, albeit not in the center of Coimbra.
The rooms are comfortable, the beds large, wifi reception great, the service is professional and friendly.
We were a group of 7 ocupying 3 rooms. All of our rooms were very comfortable, they were facing the forest in the back which provided a very tranquil and peaceful night.
The morning breakfast was very good, above average for a hotel at this price, everything from scrambled eggs to pancakes, fresh fruit, cereals, etc.
The view from the dining room is beautiful.
Coimbra is a beautiful and somewhat romantic city, offering everything from a long academic history to endless shopping oportunities inn the historic area. Many great places to eat, freindly people, great views.
DO NOT MISS OUT on the Fado ao Centro for the original Fado de Coimbra, the most beautiful fado of Portugal.
this hotel has plenty of free parking, howeer, it is not in the center. it's a 5 minute drive to a free parking lot where you can walk to everything or a short 5 minute taxi ride.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have a spectacular view over Coimbra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AH-Terceira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Coimbra and for your wonderful review about our hotel and breakfast. It was such a pleasure to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and our city.

Thank you very much for you to score our hotel with the maximum level.

We were very pleased with your comments about our services and our meals.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Soares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
767 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Almedina Coimbra Centro
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
1,156 reviews
2 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#8 of 23 in Coimbra
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D. Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D. Luis

Address: Rotunda da Ponte Rainha Santa Isabel, Coimbra 3040-091, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range: £39 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel D. Luis 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel D. Luis is located near downtown Coimbra, in a quiet area with stunning views of the city, the Mondego River and the University of Coimbra. Inaugurated in 1988 and in keeping with a classic and functional style, it combines a family atmosphere and personalized service that distinguish it from other hotels. With areas worthy of a 4-star hotel and adapted to the new technologies, Hotel D. Luis provides comfort both in pleasure trips and business trips. Access to the WIFI network is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. Its excellent location allows its customers to be near the town centre and simultaneously enjoy its calm atmosphere, without having to worry about parking. At sunset, the gardens of the hotel induce to walks that will transport your imagination to another time, because wherever you look you can contemplate one of the oldest cities in Europe. In the Panorama restaurant you will have the privilege of tasting the most exquisite foods of the city and enjoying the best views of Coimbra. The bar, with a varied list of cocktails and appetizers, is the ideal place to relax after a day in the city. Hotel D. Luis rooms and services are also ideal for meetings, for it has 5 rooms provided with the newest technology, perfect for hosting meetings, conferences, wedding receptions or dinners for special occasions, making it the ideal complement for the many events that take place in Coimbra, the University and the hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel D. Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western d Luis
Best Western Coimbra
Coimbra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing