We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Tryp Coimbra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very pleasant stay, Good Rooms
Some problem with internet connection.
A little distant to the center but very close to the Hospital and University (My event was there)
Excellent Restaurant for Dinner!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Edmilson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very good hotel for a family. The room is very good for a 4 star hotel. The staff is very nice. Its well located for access the famous places of coimbra. I recommend for who want to ho to coimbra.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank João Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Excellent hotel in nearly all respects: staff, facilities, comfort, bed, bathroom size etc.. Aircon sounded like a Soviet tractor. Well sited at top of hill, easy taxi from station. Shops and cafes nearby. Could put more hardcopy info in room re facilities. especially restaurant, for which menu not even online either. So we ate locally not in hotel. Not likely to come to Coimbra again soon but would certainly stay here. Good rates on room by any standard. Minibar a little austere! Wish European hotels provided tea/coffee-making facilities in room but this omission is not peculiar to this hotel. Enjoyed our stay. Rooms at front noisy if window open.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Minna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My experience in hotel was good ine general! Only the internet access was very slow, including the other two last times in this hotel and I don´t no why, yet!
The breakfast is good with very options and variety. The team very profissional and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

First positive impression comes from staff - friendly and willing to help. I asked for an early checkin and my room was ready in a minute. Rooms are spotless, beds not big but extremely confortable, bath offer all you need and even have a small kitchen in the corner.
Breakfast offer a wide selection of juices, bread types, cheese ham... Jams... Yogurts... Etc, all very good quality...
Only problem of the hotel is the wifi only really works in lobby.. Never got it to work in my room(was far away from reception) and if you move around in hotel you need to conect each time

Attention for those without a car - is not walking distance from city center. 5 minutes downhill by car

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ruienc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

they have a small meeting room that is above the restaurant. so you can have a meeting with a door slamming all the time and it seems the floor is going to collapse...what a nightmare... when I present my complain that told me that they knew...so that know but do nothing about

Room Tip: do not use it for meetings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CCBCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a functional comfortable hotel. Room was great, bed comfy. The best part were the staff. More than helpful. From tourist directions to booking taxi's to solving my wi fi problems. Nothing was too much trouble. I ate at the bar one night. The food was simple and delicious. The wine was great. An all round good stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appear quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
1,120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Coimbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Coimbra Hotel

Address: Alameda Armando Gonsalves 20, Coimbra 3000-059, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#5 Family Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range: £50 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Coimbra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant and bar is located on a hillside 100 meters from the University Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Melia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing