We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Historic location, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel and we had a great experience. The hotel is located in a historical site (Pedro and Ines romantic saga) and it would be a good spot to be visited if only by what it represents. On top of that service is excellent, grounds are really beautiful and very well maintained and accommodations are great. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which are not that big but are really nice for the price you pay for them. Beds and pillows are comfortable, bathroom is very spacious and well planned. There are better rooms in the Palace side of the hotel, but more expensive. They also have a good spa where you can enjoy a sauna and a refreshing swimming pool. Breakfast is very good and we had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was a very nice experience. We had one of the menus. Food was delicious and service was excellent. Hotel is located close to the river and to Coimbra main attractions and to the train station. Walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molnar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    312
    163
    44
    21
See reviews for
161
566
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a one-night stay here and enjoyed it. We have been to several Relais and Chateaux hotels now so know that we will receive good service and a good room but always like to review them just in case! The Garden Rooms aren't amazing but good value for money, really comfy beds and a large size. The problem i have with staying in most places in Portugal, even 4 stars and upwards, is that there usually aren't any tea-making facilities; sometimes coffee, sometimes neither. That does baffle me, especially at the more expensive places, as staying 4 stars and up i would expect that, whether it's common in that country or not! But anyway, that's just me. We had a lovely walk around the grounds and the staff were attentive and kind. We decided against eating at the restaurant this time as there were too many selections that we didn't fancy, but would definitely go back and try it another time. I think i'd book a Palace Room for next time too.
You can easily walk into Coimbra by turning right as you leave the entrance and walking over the bridge. There are some really nice little restaurants by the river and you can walk on towards the old town and walk up to the University, so the hotel is in a good location.
Oh and i forgot to say.... check-in isn't usually until 2pm i think but we actually arrived at 10.30am and were checked in. Another thing you'd expect with Relais and Chateaux but appreciated all the same :-)
All in all a good stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wetravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

A historic site (to the Portuguese, the most romantic and tragic in Portugal!) with a beautiful old house and modern additions, a beautiful garden and swimming pool, across the river from the main part of Coimbra (but still a short walk), so very peaceful. The "Pedro and Ines" testing menu at the excellent restaurant was one of my best-ever dining experiences, with perfectly-judged service: attentive but not intrusive and an option (which I was glad I took) of a different recommended glass of Portuguese wine to go with each course.

Coimbra itself is a wonderful place to visit and we were able to go by public transport to Conimbriga (the nearby Roman remains) and the Busaco Forest. A memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConteCarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The approach to this hotel is remarkable - it is easy to imagine arriving by coach down the tree-lined drive with the palace emerging into sight from a few hundred years ago. The hotel staff is excellent and check-in was efficient. Of course, you are reminded throughout your stay of the tragic tale of palace intrigue which occurred on the grounds, and which I found everyone in Portugal must study in school. The halls are lined with prints and artwork depicting the tale in various media. I stayed 2 nights in the newer wing - Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, calm porch overlooking the grounds - probably would choose to stay there again despite it being a fairly long distance from my room to the front of the hotel. It was in the 60's during January which I can't complain about, but it rained one day and there was a noticeable musty smell in the halls. I ate one night in the 1 star Michelin restaurant and had a wonderful dish of baked cod au gratin. Portugal's former Prime Minister visited that evening. I spent an early morning exploring the grounds in solitude and somehow getting almost lost, but realized I'd eventually come around to the open area whichever path I took.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dcpatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRUPOLAGRIMAS, General Manager at Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your reviews and for your stay with us. In July we have the 4th edition of the festival of Arts in Quinta das Lágrimas. If you have the possibility to come to Portugal in this time please visit us. I will be glad to welcome you in Quinta das Lágrimas in a next time. Like we say in Portuguese " Muito obrigado" that means thank you very much.

Best regards,

Pedro Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a beautiful manor house which was scenery to the love and tears of King Don Pedro of Portugal and Doña Ines De Castro (crowned queen after being dead). The real love and tragic story was the inspiration to many writers, musicians and artists thereafter.
The hotel is located within 15 to 20 minutes walk of the old center of Coimbra.
The font desk was very courteous and helpful
The rooms were spacious, clean and decorated nicely.
Our booking included a nice breakfast buffet.
Parking on site was complimentray.
There is free wi-fi in the lobby
The concierge gave us two complimentary tickets to visit the gardens of the Quinta das Lagrimas. The gardens are nicely kept. As we walked the gardens we came across the Fountain of Love where King Don Pedro and Doña Inés supposedly met many times. Not too far we encountered the Fountain of Tears where Doña Ines was killed by the sicarios of the king's father.
Connected to the hotel is the Inés de Castro Museum-Foundation in which we were delighted to see paintings and other artistic manifestations with the theme of Don Pedro and Doña Inés.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms. Rooms with garden view are more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reeldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We just stayed at this hotel for one night in the palace section. Rooms were very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Since we arrived at night, we only realized how beautiful the garden surrounding the hotel was the next morning. Hotel is located in a very quite area, so we all slept very well.
We had booked dinner at the Arcadas Restaurant which is located in the hotel. We were unaware that it had a Michelin star and were very pleased by the excellent dinner we had.
When you are in Coimbra, make sure to visit the University's library.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seven64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel is an old mansion belonging to the family of Ines de Castro, King Pedro of Portugal's lover, who unfortunately was murdered before she was crowned. This house is where Ines and Pedro met and fall in love and where she got killed and then Pedro embarked on search for bloody and macabre revenge.

The tragedy aside, the mansion is nicely renovated. The interiors are kept mostly brightly colored and clean looking (read: no heavy oak carved furniture to scare your wits off at night). There is plenty of wild garden to stroll around the hotel and plenty of parking space (not a problem here). Coming into the hotel from the main gate, you will have to go under arcs of trees, which is yes pretty romantic. To get your luggage into the hotel from the parking lot, do use the glass doors right at the parking lot don't go dragging your luggage up the staircase in front if you have bad back. And yes, the reception people is very attentive and speaks English.

The restaurant also offers decent food even if a bit pricey and service is super slow (by European standards Not Spanish standard) and not so attentive as the reception. For breakfast, go for it.. it's pretty good and worth the money.

Now the complaints: We got a black out of almost 2 hours which was very annoying as it happened right before our bedtime. And during black out everything went pitch dark. We saw from other reviews that this is not the first time so if you do want to stay here, please bring a torchlight.

There should be a better coordination between the reception and the cleaning lady. We arrive half an hour early and was told by the nice receptionist that the room is ready but when we showed up at our room the bed blankets were still crumbled like the maid has not even visited the room. It was not a big deal but one would expect more from a luxury hotel.

We find the timed off lights for the art gallery where Ines and pedro history is being told to be timed too short. Meaning, after a few minutes, lights are switched off leaving you in the dark in the middle of the gallery. So you will have to walk out to wave at the automatic sensor to get it to turn on again and again..

And it is not near town as the map would look. If you are used to walking around in European cities, then it should be a pleasant stroll going to the old town but if you are not, it's better you take the hotel's advice and take a cab up the University and then walk down.

Would we repeat this hotel? perhaps.. in spring or summer probably when the black out won't hurt the heater...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas

Property: Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Address: Rua Antonio Augusto Goncalves | Santa Clara, Coimbra 3040-241, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#6 Business Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Lagrimas Hotel
Quinta Das Lagrimas Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing