We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it once!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Try it once!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful palace, I was here couple years ago. Had a great time and definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic hideaway!
We stayed in the old wing, the rooms are not surprising, would expect more from a relais chateaux.
The night staff was very kind, the spa was ok but small. Did enjoy the massage.
There's plenty to see around so make sure to book couple hours to walk around.
It will be a memorable stay to surprise your love!
If you found this review helpful, please vote below. Thanks,

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SEMIDEUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    333
    170
    46
    22
See reviews for
170
608
22
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a beautiful, historic place to stay. Part of the hotel is an original palace surrounded by magnificent gardens. The old building contains 2 suites, a music room, sunroom, wonderful old tiered library and the original chapel.
We had a standard room in the new section which was spacious and had a lovely bathroom with a big bath, also a great sized balcony overlooking the gorgeous gardens and fabulous pool area. The pool is a substantial size with plenty of room for guests to lounge.
We chose to walk into the old town of Coimbra which was a very easy walk along the river.
Exceptionally pleasant and helpful staff.
Restaurant food was beautiful.

Room Tip: We had room 51 which was excellent, but in imagine they are all equally as good. There is an older s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed our two-day stay at this hotel earlier in July. The property is well located, and our "spa" room in the new wing was clean and spacious. The wi-fi worked all right. The grounds of the hotel, including its garden, are also lovely. However, we found the breakfast to be quite mediocre, with limited choices and not very tasty. But overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NK419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas has many dimensions. It is an old palace, a modern hotel, a quality restaurant and a botanical garden. Despite a good attempt, I am not sure all these elements come together seamlessly, but I certainly enjoyed my short stay.

The hotel is located a little out of the centre of town, which was perfect for myself as I appreciated the easy car parking. Arriving is an event as you enter along the beautiful narrow tree lined front drive. To get to town is about a 15 minute walk.

The front of the hotel is the old part of the building, which has a number of public rooms to enjoy in your spare time. Being an old readapted building getting around can be confusing at first. I stayed in the modern wing at the back, and the design of my room was clever with a small stream passing my windows.

The room itself was a good sized, which all the extras you would expect. I would not call the room luxury, rather smart and contemporary.

The hotel restaurant is not cheap, but is high quality. Nice space overlooking a small garden - make sure you request a window seat if dining at the hotel. A good quality breakfast was in a modern wing overlooking the rear garden and pool.

The gardens are well worth an explore - make sure you get the explanatory map.

Other things of note:
- Wifi was fine, but not available in some of the public areas (such as the bar and restaurant)
- No charge for car parking, which is not easy to find closer to town
- Staff were generally quite helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz_Pete_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

WE had a room in the new wing (which is the spa wing). The room was perfect - great view on th gardens. The breakfast was the best we had in any hotel in Portugal. The pool is lovely -- the indoor pool is great if it is not warm out. A real treat. Not at all dingy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juchegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a group wine tour in Portugal. First let me say that Coimbra is a very interesting, charming city. Worth a visit - and don't miss a tour of the old town.

Now the hotel. It was certainly adequate and the rooms were roomy and well appointed. However, overall, you get what you would expect from an old palace turned hotel - lots of ups/downs steps to get to rooms, squeaky floors and minimal air conditioning. Was it interesting and fun to stay here for a couple of nights, yes. Is it a 4 or 5 star hotel - not in my view.

There are gardens associated with the hotel that I was really looking forward to investigating. They turned out to be a bit disappointing although the stories associated with the hotel and garden are very interesting. There are a few great spots in the gardens but overall they were underwhelming.

Do note that this hotel is across the river from the old town, where most of the action is and parking would be challenging. Depending on what you want to do and experience, you may want to find a location closer to the action.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was very good, located in the new section of the hotel. We also had a group dinner at the hotel and it was absolutely excellent - an excellent dining experience with fabulous Portuguese wines to accompany the meal. Would definitely recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Honestly, I think that people are allowing the compelling Pedro/Ines history of the hotel to cloud their critical judgment. The bottom line is that this hotel simply can not be considered a 4 star property (it's official ranking) and the affiliation with Small Luxury Hotels (of which we are members) is difficult to swallow. It makes me wonder if SLH has actually done an on-site inspection.....

Although I was hoping to enjoy our stay here, I was mindful of the many critical reviews the quinta had received by those underwhelmed by it, and unfortunately for us it turned out that they were the accurate reviews, NOT the 5-star raves! The public rooms are inviting and lovely and seem fairly well maintained, but the bedrooms and bathrooms are shabby, unremarkable, and in definite need of overhaul. We stayed in a deluxe palace room, hoping to at least have the authenticity of a stay in the original building, but there was absolutely nothing to recommend the room. Even basic comforts like enough light to read by were not available. Fortunately we had only booked one night, and spent most of our time out of the room exploring Coimbra.

With regard to location, I actually feel that it is quite convenient. We were driving, and didn't want to face the hassle of navigating the town and trying to park (really a nightmare). So we were happy for the convenience of being able to park right at the hotel, for free, and then make the easy 15-minute walk to the other side of the river and begin our explorations. It was an overcast day, threatening rain, (the hotel provided us with a large umbrella, which was a nice amenity!) and the walk is very easy to find and gives you a nice perspective on the old city as you cross the river.

The next morning, we set off for the dining room, which is quite a trek through dark, poorly signed passageways and corridors connecting the old with the new wings. In the absence of good directions, or staff to ask, we took a few wrong turns, but when we finally located it, we found ourselves in a fairly institutional modern room, lacking any of the atmosphere that the quinta itself still manages to exude, but at least there were nice views out to the gardens/pool area. After an unremarkable buffet breakfast we explored the gardens, and they were truly lovely, although previous criticisms about upkeep turned out to also be true. This bothered us less, however, as the property is quite beautifully situated and the grounds don't have to be perfectly manicured to offer a pleasing sanctuary.

Unfortunately, Coimbra (despite its recent UNESCO designation) clearly hasn't yet attracted enough tourism to stimulate more hotel/infrastructure, and the quinta seems to be the most viable option. My hope for this property would be that someone would come in and spend the capital to renovate/restore/maintain everything and establish it as the 5-star it has the potential to be. Until then, my 3 star rating is generous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zorro_and_Gatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,056 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#12 of 23 in Coimbra
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas

Property: Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Address: Rua Antonio Augusto Goncalves | Santa Clara, Coimbra 3040-241, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#6 Business Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Lagrimas Hotel
Quinta Das Lagrimas Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing