We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Vitoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vitoria
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Located handily for main town, and a fairly easy walk uphill to the old city and university area. Excellent room and good breakfast. People were very helpful, although with limited English. The lady spoke to me in French, not sure why! Breakfast was included, and was quite good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vitoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

we stayed here in May, it is very close to train station, the river and other attractions.
it is very ordinary though, small room,good basic breakfast. However it is homely and the staff are responsive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Without being particularly memorable, the Hotel Vitoria gave us a comfortable stay - our room seemed to be recently furnished, the staff were helpful even with something of a language barrier, and we were in a good spot for walking to restaurants and attractions (a must in Coimbra, where the narrow streets give driving a nightmarish quality.) Breakfast was particularly nice, self-service in the hotel's small restaurant where, while there was certainly enough space for the guests, there was a home-like atmosphere. Don't expect a decadent experience here, but if you want a good night's sleep the Hotel Vitoria definitely delivers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelsBells8601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I booked this hotel at the last moment due to a mix up with other hotel reservations and thus did not make very in depth researches. The hotel is simple and complete new, located in a very good position, close to the railway station and the commercial street. I think it was good value. I found breakfast rather poor, though.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Sabina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel based on recommendations from tripAdvisor, and we're glad we did! This is a great little hotel located on a small street close to other small hotels. It is very conveniently located just a short distance from the main square, Largo da Portagem. It's within easy walking distance to the river and the university and next to one of the train stations. The staff was friendly; the room was clean and comfortable, and the included breakfast was good. As far as value and comfort, it was the best deal we had during our stay in Portugal

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed there for one week. It is located near the train station and a Comercial street as well as near the Mondego river and its gardens. Rooms are new, clean and well maintained. Shower OK. The owners are a sympathetic couple. Breakfast OK. Near there is an amazing bakery that I also reviewed. Although some noises can be heard quality of sleep is very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogerio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very negative experience, I booked a room online communicating with the hotel managers in emails, they asked when I arrive, got a reply about time (about 10 pm, 22 in the evening) and confirmed the booking. Upon arrival they failed to find the printout of the booking and were not able to find a room for me. It was at least one more room in the hotel, which they kept reserved for another person (who could arrive later and had the booking form printed out fir the receptionist). Hopefully the lady at the reception found me a reasonable accomodation in a hotel nearby at the same price. Three day later I stayed in a better hotel in Lisbon with a lower price, just £32.50/night with edible breakfast and internet at the second floor. But I liked Portugal!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VadimVolkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitoria

Address: Rua da Sota 9-11, Coimbra 3000-392, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range: £42 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vitoria 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel recently renovated and located in the historical center of Coimbra. Near the train station Coimbra A and only 10 minutes from the University of Coimbra (on foot). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vitoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing