We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not too far from the old town”
Review of Hotel Dona Ines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dona Ines
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had room 512 in the modern wing for 3 nights.

The bedroom was quite small and cramped but quiet, modern and comfortable (although we found the bed too hard).

The bathroom was fine with lots of hot water (in bath shower).

The room looked out from the back of the hotel across to the river and shopping centre across the river.

There was free wifi available (which was not reliable).

The breakfast buffet was disappointing with a small selection of food of average quality. The only egg option was scrambled eggs which was always down to its last spoonful whenever we were there.

We did try the restaurant for dinner though and both the food and service were good.

The ground floor bar area is very pleasant too, although sometimes we found it difficult to get served as it was not always staffed and we had to go to reception to request service.

The immediate vicinity of the hotel is a little boring, with a few cafes, the bus station and a McDonalds quite close. It was a 15 minute walk to the old town to reach the nicer cafes and restaurants.

The free parking under the hotel was appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Ok,so the location might not be suitable for everyone but for us it was ok.
Room is great - large and looks good (window is not very comfortable to leave open)
Shower is probably THE BEST IN THE WORLD, the shower water pressure is like a fire hydrant I KIDD YOU NOT, which is great and you can of course make it less strong.
Breakfast was nice and the receptionist was a pro and very nice and helpful
Wifi in the room is very good,tv doesnt have a lot of interesting channels and a lot dont even work,there is a car park which is included..
too bad that the bed isnt that good, its a spring matress and it has some curves and a little noisy...
Room is a little too dark in my opinion

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elasticman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here with my wife and four children at Christmastime. We had a room with an extra sleeping space (separated by a door). It suited our needs, and at a good price. The staff was friendly, breakfast and parking were adequate and included in the price of the room. No complaints. Plus, this hotel is easily accessible by car, yet close enough to walk into the city center.

Room Tip: If you're not finding exactly what you need online, just call the hotel. They matched the onlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonInAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nice standard rooms, which are not very spacious but comfortable. Don't expect a nice view when sitting besides the pool because it is surrounded with walls. But the pool itself is excellent and there's lots of space to sit and relax or have a drink (towels provided free of charge). Great to have parking available directly underneath the hotel.
The restaurant is good but not great and slightly over-priced. I'd recommend going into town which has plenty of good places.
The hotel is not in the city centre and thus not in the nicest part of town. However we walked into town (20min.) together with our kids several times and never felt unsafe.
The hallway was very dark and gloomy - at least on the 6th floor - and for some reason one of the elevators only went up to the fifth floor.
The staff at reception and in the restaurant was very friendly but not the people in the breakfast room: they were clearly understaffed and thus not very attentive. Overall breakfast was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Some elevators don't go up to the 6th floor - but on the other side, our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W63Fre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very practical when you are with a car (underground parking is free). 10 minutes walk from the old part of Coimbra.
We slept rather well, bed mattress was OK
Free wifi did not work properly; they gave me a code with a 1h free access.
Breakfast was Ok - no more

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are a French couple from Montreal Canada, we did a trip of one month in Portugal this last October 2013 and we stayed in 17 hotels. We stayed at this hotel 1 night October 18th 2013. Price: 65 Euros with breakfast. Pros: big room, counter in the bathroom to put your stuff, nice shower, hair dryer, lots of towels, indoor parking for free, good location, comfortable bed, good breakfast. Cons: no Internet Wi-Fi in the room you have to go in the lobby and as the signal was weak and many people were using it at the same time, the reception was poor and slow. We gave up after a while, TV channels in Portuguese and one French (TV5). We recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for one night at the Dona Ines. The hotel was very easy to find coming from the main highway as you simply have to turn right downhill once you cross the river at the end of the bridge. The hotel provides complimentary parking in the own garage.

We were pleasantly surprised by the modern lobby and hallways. The room, while not as modern as the common areas, was very nice with a nice view over the river. There was more than enough room both in the room and in the bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was very good as well with a nice selection of pastries, corn flakes, yogurth, etc.

The only minor negative was the location. It takes about 10-15 minutes on foot along a road with a lot of traffic to reach the historic center. This wasn't an issue to us, but may be for someone who doesn't like (or can't) walking. The neighborhood you walk through doesn't look particularly inviting, but we never felt unsafe, even when walking back late at night.

Given the price and the quality offered, we would suggest Dona Ines to everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
1,179 reviews
0 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#8 of 23 in Coimbra
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Ines

Address: Rua Abel Dias Urbano 12, Coimbra 3000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Ines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dona Inês Coimbra offers 122 rooms, including 4 superior rooms and 2 suites, a business center, a tennis court, an outdoor swimming pool and a SPA. Free Wi-Fi is available in all public areas. All modern rooms at Hotel Dona Inês are equipped with air conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV, work desk, minibar and safe box. They also have a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax in the modern Ego Lounge Bar. The Colo da Garça Restaurant serves regional Portuguese meals and international cuisine. The Hotel Dona Inês is located about 10 minutes walk from the center of Coimbra and the city's train station and is conveniently located less than 20 minutes walk from the old Coimbra Cathedral, the Machado de Castro National Museum and the famous University of Coimbra, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO. The bus station is a 2-minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dona Ines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing