We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Pinha

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Pinha
Competa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here just for one night in May 2012, having found the hotel on a pet friendly hotel website.
The romm was very well fitted out with comfortable twin beds, a small kitchen area with fridge, and other amenities. The room was very clean and spacious.
The bar and restaurant was spotless and the food was very good value.
The setting is spectacular with magnificent views over the bay, and woodland walks just outside the gates.
Excellent value and well worth a detour.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCompeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    55
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
51
81
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

After getting a little lost and our GPS not finding the exact address, we finally arrived before sundown and were rewarded with the most terrific and stunning view. It really is an idyllic place.

Our hosts were very welcoming and kind and I immediately felt at home. My friend and I wanted a swim but we didn't bring towels however, that wasn't a problem as Joao lent us some.

The waiter in the restaurant was very busy that evening but found time to sort out the television. Food was good especially the free starter but I wouldn't recommend the croque monsieur as it was very heavy and too rich for my liking.

The only thing I would like to recommend is that you put something warm and inviting in the rooms as they are quite barren and bare. Perhaps some pretty patterned sheets, blankets etc.

I would definitely come there again as the pool was clean and inviting and meeting the donkeys were a bonus...

Thanks very much!
Tamara Martinez

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We loved this place. Rooms were very small and modest but clean. The beautiful view, pool restaurant and staff were all great and more than made up for the small room. We stayed in a variety of accomodations during our trip to Portugal (some very expensive and touristy) but we particularly liked the Casa Pinha because it felt to festive and authentic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody1chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We travelled around Portugal as part of our holiday when we stumbled on this place. Amazing view over Figueira da Foz. The outside of the place looked clean and well cared for, the pool looked clean - too cold to try the water!
The room we had would have slept 5 it would however felt very cramped with 5 in the room, it was basic but clean. It felt tired and for 50E per night it was expensive fro the room. Towel were frayed and some sockets loose in the walls.
Been so far out of Figueira we ate in the restaurant, food was good, difficult to understand the menu, not fully able to translate and the staff did not speak very much English. The evening’s food and drink expensive.
Singer in the restaurant was good, but she did want interaction, difficult when eating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vught
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very pleasant place to stay. Located in the woods on the dunes it offers a great view over the bay and Figuera da Foz, lovely swimming pool. The restaurant is not exclusive but OK. The rooms are modest but clean and quiet.
The owner & his wife and the staff are friendly and relaxed.
The town of Figuera da Foz is not very special. Casa Pinha is a good base though for visiting Coimbra, Obidos, Nazaré etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

This is more like a hostel than a bed and breakfast. I have never seen anything quite like it. Before you discount this review, let me note that I have travelled extensively all over Europe and stayed in many B&Bs and had a great time. To sum it up here: The view is great. Everything else sucks.
Let me tell you the highlights. There are no (NO!) comfortable places to sit anywhere in the hotel!! What do I mean? Well there are only wooden and metal chairs that you can sit on for 10 minutes. But then what do you do? The rooms have no chairs at all (ONLY A BED!!!) There is no public area in this place. Only a cafe that has wooden or metal chairs. So if you spend here a day, do you spend it lying on your bed... or standing up??
Second, the rooms are extremely depressing. There is a tiny window, a bed, and that's it! If you expect shampoo in the shower, well that's too optimistic.
FInally, since this is a bed and breakfast, you would expect some breakfast. Well you'd be wrong. I am writing this in my bed. Just went to check out on breakfast and guess what? The cafe is locked. Nobody around (it is 8.30 am, so it's neither too early nor too late). And I presume no breakfast for us this morning.
What a train wreck of a place. Even though this is a cheap place, it is the greatest rip off I have seen.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seasoned_travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Casa Pinha is a beautiful place to stay, grounds and views to the sea are excellent. We found the room basic but it was very clean and had all the amenities required.
The staff were excellent and with a bit of effort on both sides we managed to communicate. Portuguese and French are the spoken languages and their understanding of English was very limited as was our attempt at French. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant that is on site. If we ever manage to return to this area again we certainly would not hesitate to re-book here. Thank-you Juan

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALK_10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Figueira da Foz hotels
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oasis Plaza Hotel
Eurostars Oasis Plaza Hotel
#1 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sweet Atlantic Hotel and Spa
Sweet Atlantic Hotel and Spa
#2 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantida  Sol
Atlantida Sol
#9 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Figueira da Foz
Mercure Figueira da Foz
#4 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Costa de Prata
Hotel Costa de Prata
#10 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Wellington
Hotel Wellington
#3 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pinha

Property: Casa Pinha
Address: Rua Parque Florestal 123 | Serra da Boa Viagem, Figueira da Foz 3080-357, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Figueira da Foz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Figueira da Foz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Pinha 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pinha, with an exceptional sight over the ocean, is one of the finest residence of Figueira da Foz because it lies between the sea and the Natural park of Serra da Boa Viagem composed of pine and eucalyptus with a nice fragance. Our house has 10 rooms,one equipped for disabled person, a restaurant and a private swimming pool.You will find a very cordial and family space on our premises. Figueira da Foz is known as seaside town and also for its sports such as tennis, equitation, karting, surfing, sailing, fishing, montain biking, walking a bike,hiking. Enjoy your stay to discover the culture, our traditions, our gastonomy, our beaches, visit museums, spend some time at the Casino, bowling, dancing, discover the secret alleys and parks of our region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Pinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing