We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant, fabulous view, average to poor hotel accommodations”
Review of Casa Pinha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Pinha
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed one night here and found the room although clean, in need of updating, better furniture, curtains and overall upgrading. Door lock was even difficult to open! That being said, did totally enjoy the dinner we prepared of a mixed seafood with rice. Contained a large amount of jumbo shrimp, clams, mussels, crab. Is a dish prepared for 2 but would definitely serve 4 people. The flavor also was superb! Most of the food we have had in Portugal has been served without much or a flavorful but this dish was seasoned perfectly. Was also a good value. View is(as all have said) fantastic!
Recommend the restaurant but not the hotel until repairs and upgrading done! Also of note: is VERY difficult to find!

Room Tip: Doubt that there are any good rooms but maybe just ours was bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Our room had twin-bed and bunk bed, bathroom, TV with several channels (including CNN, Aljazeera, Eurospots etc) and air-source heat pump.

The room was very ascetical but clean and we missed nothing. Floors were cold and slippers are must (in February). There were extra blankets and pillows available.

Breakfast was served 9-10 am in the restaurant with a great view over the city and beach. There was water in the pool but it was very cold and no-one was swimming. In the summer it must be like a paradise to sunbathe and swim in a view like this!

Personnel was very polite, hospital and helpful.

I give high points for the value. Reason for this is that the main building with restaurant is so beautiful and dapper and the view is breathtaking.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room and it was located next to the road. It was still very quit place to stay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raikuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

It was well worth the long drive along a forest road (Casa Pinha is well signposted if your satnav plays tricks on you like ours did). The view over Figuera da Foz is fantastic, rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable (mattress a little too firm for me, though) with free wi-fi, small TV and H&C air conditioning. En-suite shower rooms have individual water heaters. The owner was welcoming and spoke a few words of English. The buffet breakfast was decent, with tea or coffee served at the table. The restaurant and pool are open to the public.

This is really a perfect place to stay in summer, with the Atlantic breeze cooling the sun terrace around the pool, which was just warm enough to swim in on a sunny early October day but in the winter I would imagine the location could be chilly and bleak.

Room Tip: The 10 motel-style rooms are in two blocks, those to the front (with the best view) for couples, fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanna2milo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here just for one night in May 2012, having found the hotel on a pet friendly hotel website.
The romm was very well fitted out with comfortable twin beds, a small kitchen area with fridge, and other amenities. The room was very clean and spacious.
The bar and restaurant was spotless and the food was very good value.
The setting is spectacular with magnificent views over the bay, and woodland walks just outside the gates.
Excellent value and well worth a detour.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBCompeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

After getting a little lost and our GPS not finding the exact address, we finally arrived before sundown and were rewarded with the most terrific and stunning view. It really is an idyllic place.

Our hosts were very welcoming and kind and I immediately felt at home. My friend and I wanted a swim but we didn't bring towels however, that wasn't a problem as Joao lent us some.

The waiter in the restaurant was very busy that evening but found time to sort out the television. Food was good especially the free starter but I wouldn't recommend the croque monsieur as it was very heavy and too rich for my liking.

The only thing I would like to recommend is that you put something warm and inviting in the rooms as they are quite barren and bare. Perhaps some pretty patterned sheets, blankets etc.

I would definitely come there again as the pool was clean and inviting and meeting the donkeys were a bonus...

Thanks very much!
Tamara Martinez

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We loved this place. Rooms were very small and modest but clean. The beautiful view, pool restaurant and staff were all great and more than made up for the small room. We stayed in a variety of accomodations during our trip to Portugal (some very expensive and touristy) but we particularly liked the Casa Pinha because it felt to festive and authentic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woody1chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We travelled around Portugal as part of our holiday when we stumbled on this place. Amazing view over Figueira da Foz. The outside of the place looked clean and well cared for, the pool looked clean - too cold to try the water!
The room we had would have slept 5 it would however felt very cramped with 5 in the room, it was basic but clean. It felt tired and for 50E per night it was expensive fro the room. Towel were frayed and some sockets loose in the walls.
Been so far out of Figueira we ate in the restaurant, food was good, difficult to understand the menu, not fully able to translate and the staff did not speak very much English. The evening’s food and drink expensive.
Singer in the restaurant was good, but she did want interaction, difficult when eating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Figueira da Foz hotels
2.9 mi away
Mercure Figueira da Foz
Mercure Figueira da Foz
#5 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oasis Plaza Hotel
Eurostars Oasis Plaza Hotel
#1 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
643 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Wellington
Hotel Wellington
#4 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ibis Figueira Da Foz
Ibis Figueira Da Foz
#8 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
205 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quinta d'Anta - Hotel Rural
1.8 mi away
Villa da Melis
Villa da Melis
#1 of 2 in Buarcos
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pinha

Address: Rua Parque Florestal 123 | Serra da Boa Viagem, Figueira da Foz 3080-357, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Figueira da Foz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Figueira da Foz
Price Range: £32 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Pinha 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pinha, with an exceptional sight over the ocean, is one of the finest residence of Figueira da Foz because it lies between the sea and the Natural park of Serra da Boa Viagem composed of pine and eucalyptus with a nice fragance. Our house has 10 rooms,one equipped for disabled person, a restaurant and a private swimming pool.You will find a very cordial and family space on our premises. Figueira da Foz is known as seaside town and also for its sports such as tennis, equitation, karting, surfing, sailing, fishing, montain biking, walking a bike,hiking. Enjoy your stay to discover the culture, our traditions, our gastonomy, our beaches, visit museums, spend some time at the Casino, bowling, dancing, discover the secret alleys and parks of our region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Pinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing