We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Viseu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Viseu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 August 2013

There was nothing to fault this hotel. It is built from a converted hospital around a central atrium. The room we were given, for three people, was enormous and one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. Breakfast was generous and of good quality. We felt very privileged to stay here in this beautiful city. The wedding fair was on when we were there and we got to see the catwalk models as well! Staff were excellent - spoke very good english and were helpful and polite. Great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Loved our recent stay there. Very friendly and professional staff.
Very good location. Great room, very clean and quiet with a lovely balcony.
The building is recent and the pool is a plus.
Very good breakfast.
I would stay again. No doubts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A beautiful building, an old hospital, inside and out set on a hill above the toen of Viseu. Recption staff very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious with huge comfortable bed. The beautful 'infinity' pool was in a quiet sunny area to the side of the main entrance. We would have dined in the restaurant but it had a reserved and slightly stuffy atmosphere, the menu did not excite the palate (seems to be a feature of the the Pousadas and perhaps of Portugal in general). The dining room staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. We walked the short distance in to town and ate (both nights) at a terrace resaurant by the cathedral wall ... great value, lots of atmosphere and friendly staff. A tip ... on Sunday nights Viseu doesn't get going until 8pm!

Room Tip: To the front with views over the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed over night in this converted hospital in Viseu. Pousadas are always converted historic buildings and this one did not disappoint. The rooms were big with every luxury including the biggest bed I have ever seen. It was exceptionally quiet, even out on the balcony which gave an excellent view of the town.The staff were very helpful and attentive, especially in the restaurant where we had an excellent meal. The rooms are all built around a central covered atrium where breakfast was served.The swimming pool and spa were worth a visit but the pool is very small.
It is worth noting that if anyone in your party is over 55 years old you get a good reduction on the room price. It is also worth joining the Pousada priorty guests card scheme as it entitles you to a discount off of food and other offers.
viseu is a small but interesting town with some good restaurants, well worth a wander round.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

As our first pousada stay, we did not have preconceived expectations. The adaptation of this former hospital has created massive bedrooms, exceedingly quiet, with quality bed linens. Our room looked down on to the open courtyard. As 55+ travelers, we got a very attractive rate for the room and breakfast, but very much appreciated the excellent waiter service at dinner.
Commanding view of the city from the pousada's second floor balcony. Turn around and see the multiple images of that view from a mirrored room across the courtyard! Free parking was so convenient, too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotarymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at this posada while on a motor coach tour of Portugal. The building and facilities, including the rooms are very nice, clean and efficient, with excellent amenities. I would say, however, that the staff are not the most efficient as we would like to see, especially in the restaurant. We ate here after a long day on the road, it took us nearly three hours and with constant requests for menus and wine lists before we could finish. Granted, we had a large group, but we arrived early for our reservation, they fumbled around to find tables for us, and just failed to make any kind of positive impression. For the most part it seemed that they were confused and totally unprepared to deal with us. I hope they straighten up their act because this COULD be a very good place to stay, they just need better managing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Almost in the heart of historic city center os Viseu, there is an excellent hotel that will surprise you, the Pousada de Viseu. Built in an ancient building that was the central hospital of Viseu, this pousada has everything that a tourist wants: very friendfull staff, excellent services and SPA and a beautiful interior design that allies an historic building with a modern concept of an hotel. Just experience it!...you will be surprised!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viseu
0.7 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Dos Melos
0.1 mi away
Grao Vasco Hotel
Grao Vasco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Viseu
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Principe Perfeito
Principe Perfeito
#6 of 13 in Viseu
103 reviews
24.9 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 13 in Viseu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa

Address: Rua do Hospital, Viseu 3500-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Viseu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Viseu
#1 Green Hotel in Viseu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viseu
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viseu is located in central Portugal, in the city of Viseu, 5 minutes on foot from the Parque Florestal do Fontelo. It is located in the old Hospital de Sao Teotonio, one of the oldest hospitals of the city, that opened in 1842 and features views of the historic part of the city. This old hospital was completely reconstructed and adapted by architect Goncalo Bryrne in 2009. The hospital is an important landmark in the most peaceful city centre in Portugal. During your stay, you can enjoy the spa, where you can schedule massages and treatments, use the sauna, whirpool bath, gym and Turkish bath as well as a heated indoor swimming pool. For the youngsters, we offer the Kids Club in summer as well as the fantastic outdoor swimming pool. The Pousada also offers a restaurant, a bar, a very unique wine room, a cigar lounge and conference rooms. The rooms are spacious with balconies featuring great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Viseu Charming Hotel Viseu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing