We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Viseu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very beautiful building. Nice bedroom.
Best place to stay in Viseu. Near the center, a walk away from everything.
A charming hotel. An old building renewed recently with good taste.
One of the best Pousadas of Portugal.
Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro_do_Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

The second (of 4). Were very slightly apprehensive when we learnt that this pousada was in a restored hospital but this description while accurate, totally fails to do this hotel justice.
It is constructed around a 4 sided colonnaded central atrium with a largely glass roof, so it is very light and airy.
Food is excellent and the service superb.
There is also a pool which while not large is certainly more than adequate

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The amenities and layout of this hotel would get a "very good", add in the incredible feeling of all that historic granite and Pousada Viseu reaches "excellent".

We hadn't selected Viseu on purpose (our first choice wasn't available and Viseu was a couple hours away), but we are now making plans to return!

We stayed 3 nights and were on the Golden Passport (55+). Very modern furnishings in an incredible building renovated starting in 2004 (hospital operated until quite recently - several of the staff mentioned they had been born in the building). Expect a slight delay at check-in or check-out (there was invariably someone else being assisted, usually another clerk would appear in a couple minutes or the first party was done shortly).

We enjoyed hanging out in the comfy chairs & sofas of the enclosed massive courtyard (free wifi in public areas for guests - ask at the desk for ID and passcode good for 24 hrs, must log in each time).

Rooms lovely, roomy, very quiet, excellent views. There is a small in-room fridge.

Front desk extremely helpful - made us reservations to tour adegas (wineries), gave maps and looked up directions, etc. Free on-site parking, very narrow entrance from the street but roomy lower lot (after you pass by reception).

On site restaurant for dinner we had 2 excellent meals and one very good meal. Generous breakfast buffet. The menu of the day is usually quite a bargain, but ask your server - once we were steered away from one of the main course choices. There is an on-site wine store (and an on-site cigar lounge); corkage fee at the restaurant is a reasonable 7euros. Wine/restaurant culture in Portugal is that they take your food order before inquiring about drinks, so if you bring a bottle that you want chilled or opened promptly, feel free to speak up -- or relax, you're on vacation ;)

Viseu is a lovely city, you can walk to the main square with museums and cathedral mostly along pedestrian-only streets in 10 minutes if you are in a hurry, but it's fun to dawdle a bit.

There are many many many (>120) traffic circles in Viseu, some are a bit harrying for non-Portuguese drivers - we got in the habit of heading straight in or out on the N-231 from exit #18 on the A-25 toll road and then heading in our desired direction.

The spa looked wonderful but we were so busy exploring the region that we didn't make it there (this time).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babystepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We cannot write good enough of the Pousada de Viseu. We stayed for two nights in September 2013. The property is historic (old hospital of Viseu) and has been recently restored. Upon entering the hotel we were surprised by the quality of the restoring which succeeded in keeping the historic feeling of the building while including all modern amenities.

We received a room on the second floor. The room was enormous, possibly the biggest room I have ever had in any hotel. The ceiling was of course very high, this being an old building. The bathroom was very big as well and included upscale toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and very big. Water was available for free thanks to the Pestana Silver membership (which was offered to us upon check-in).

In the morning breakfast is offered in the restaurant area on the ground floor. The breakfast was very good too and included a wide range of items (pastries, bread, meats, cheese, etc.). We also had a drink in the lobby one night which was good although quite expensive for Portuguese standards.

Location-wise, the Pousada is ideal to explore Viseu, being just a couple of minutes on foot from the Rossio (main square). By car (complimentary parking) you have easy access to the main highways and the neighboring towns.

If in Viseu, stay at the Pousada and you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We set Viseu as a stopover between our trip from Porto to Serra da Estrela and this Pousada was definitely the best idea ! It is located in downtown Viseu, easily accessible from the main roads.

It was a old hospital, rebuilt to be a hotel. In the beginning we found a little strange, but after check in, we just had good experiences there ! The rooms are quite confortable, not so big, but everything is brand new and fresh. Internet access is given in the front desk and is valid up to 12 hours. You ask for more, and get more for free !

The breakfast was ok, but it lacks of service. After some time, you can see piles of dirty plates and glasses over the tables and the only lady there is not able to take care of all of that. The sort is ok, including the nice cheese from Serra da Estrela.

The location is ok, close to the main attractions of Viseu (you can go walking there) and not so easy to find. I took a look in the Google Maps before and luckily the GPS sent us to the right entrance. There is a parking lot in the hotel and it is quite convenient.

It is a good hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdolfoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Pousada in this lovely town is a superb and recent showcase for the organisation's sensitive use of old buildings originally designed for other purposes. The refurb delivers a breathtakingly beautiful result.
We had a suite corner room which was well worth the modest premium.
We enjoyed the Spa treatments, the masseuse Lilyann was expert and very nice.
Staff generally very helpful.
Location great to visit the lovely old town which has a relaxing atmosphere it's historic centre very intact.
The management need to think about how to get more customers into the hotel as the eating and drinking facilities were undersubscribed during our stay. Unlikely to want t o eat on our own in any dining room.
Well done , pousadas

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CalmTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were recommended to visit Viseu on our mini-tour of Portugal by a friend & chose the Pousada for accommodation. Our sat-nav got us to the correct roundabout in Viseu, but told us to turn right & declared we'd reached our destination. After a couple of circuits we parked & got to see if we could spot it on foot. Anyway after a call to the Pousada for directions we found it (after taking 3rd exit instead of 1st from roundabout), so not a great start.

Anyway, to the hotel! The building (an old hospital) was nicely converted and the rooms were pleasant, clean & spacious. A very nice covered courtyard served as a bar, lounge area and overflow for restaurant. Only issue here was the bar wasn't always manned, so we had to go to reception & have them send a staff member to serve us a couple of times.

I should mentioon the reception staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

Outside a decent sized pool, which was in the shade of the building in the afternoon (which was fine by us, as the sun was very strong).

The only negative here was the restaurant. The menu looked fine & we chose oven baked cod, which looked great when it arrived, but as we ate it discovered it wasn't cooked all the way through.

Breakfast was a buffet. The orange juice was obviously not fresh (& either made from a concentrate or who knows what), and the coffee was poor by Portuguese standards.

Unfortunately we'd booked to stay 2 nights here, which in hindsight was a mistake. We ate out on our 2nd night!

In summary, accommodation was comfortable and good, but I wouldn't eat here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viseu
0.7 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Dos Melos
0.1 mi away
Grao Vasco Hotel
Grao Vasco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Viseu
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Principe Perfeito
Principe Perfeito
#6 of 13 in Viseu
104 reviews
24.9 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 13 in Viseu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa

Address: Rua do Hospital, Viseu 3500-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Viseu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Viseu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viseu
Price Range: £60 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viseu is located in central Portugal, in the city of Viseu, 5 minutes on foot from the Parque Florestal do Fontelo. It is located in the old Hospital de Sao Teotonio, one of the oldest hospitals of the city, that opened in 1842 and features views of the historic part of the city. This old hospital was completely reconstructed and adapted by architect Goncalo Bryrne in 2009. The hospital is an important landmark in the most peaceful city centre in Portugal. During your stay, you can enjoy the spa, where you can schedule massages and treatments, use the sauna, whirpool bath, gym and Turkish bath as well as a heated indoor swimming pool. For the youngsters, we offer the Kids Club in summer as well as the fantastic outdoor swimming pool. The Pousada also offers a restaurant, a bar, a very unique wine room, a cigar lounge and conference rooms. The rooms are spacious with balconies featuring great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Viseu Charming Hotel Viseu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing