We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Viseu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Figueira da Foz, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very charming and relaxing”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a great time at Pousada de Viseu. The building was wonderfully rebuilt and the lobby is a welcoming invitation to peace. Comfortable room, good breakfast, very satisfying spa, especially the indoor pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mokagil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Viseu, Gerente at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about Pousada de Viseu.
The comments about product and services are gratifying for our team because we are working daily to achieve satisfy our customers and these comments give us the strength to continue in the right direction!
It was a great pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Pedro Lopes Pinto
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    239
    53
    10
    9
See reviews for
250
432
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A lovely pousada, but rooms are only average. Noise is a problem in this hotel. Sitting in the bar feels a bit weird - like in a concrete coutyard in semi-darkness. The restaurant was good and the waiter was most helpful, but the food was very salty. Breakfast was good, yet basic. We couldn't get any attention at the spa, but the pools look good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1602Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Viseu, Gerente at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of of your stay.
We appreciate your comments about the Pousada de Viseu, and we have taken good note.

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Lopes Pinto
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

When we got there, it was a total surprise! If I didn't know it was a pousada, I would think it was a museam! Really beautiful outiside. Actually, it is an old hospital, now transformed in the pousada. The service is good, the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfest... the best ever. Just one thing, the spa is really expensive.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Viseu, Gerente at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay with us at Pousada de Viseu on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a great experience with us.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Pedro Lopes Pinto
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was formerly a hospital. The hospital was closed and the space was not used for about 10 years.  The building has been recently adapted and renovated. It  became a very comfortable and modern Pestana hotel. Breakfast is good. I can't tell about the restaurant. We stayed in a two-storey suite with a bedroom and ensuite bathroom on the second floor and a living room with a flatscreen TV on the first floor. It was spacious and clean and it had a large window that provided a beautiful view of the city. The hotel is within walking distance to the old Viseu . Almost forget to say that it has a spacious garage which is very rare in hotels close to historic districts in Portugal. Highly recommend but do not choose this type of room if you have any difficulty in climbing stairs.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cia2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Viseu, Gerente at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Historic Pousada de Viseu.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable stays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.

Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards

Pedro Lopes Pinto
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It is for sure the best hotel in Viseu. Stayed two times in the suite and special suite. Very comfortable and clean rooms, price is great as well as the service.

Gym could be improved though and breakfast is average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Viseu, Gerente at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to have sent to me your concerns about your last stay at Pousada de Viseu. In fact it is based on the opinions and feedback of our Guests and friends, that we can meet the expectations of those who we have the privilege of receiving at the Pousadas de Portugal. We work every day for our clients can have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us within the expected quality. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations in the aspects you mentioned.

Your comments and suggestions help us fine-tune our services and to ensure we make every stay a memorable one. Particularly such positive comments help our collaborators to keep a high motivation. We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Pousada de Viseu guest service excellence.

Kind Regards,

Pedro Pinto
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The pousadas are now privatised, and seem to have reduced prices to very reasonable rates. We stayed for a long weekend in winter. It was rainy nearly continuosly. But one can stay in the huge covered inner court (lounge and bar), side rooms or the well-furnished own hotel room. Climbing up and down the majestic 19th century stairs is a treat in it self.The spa facilities are limited. Service is good, as is the food. The historic city center is at short walking distance.

Room Tip: The suites on the second floor offer the best including a nice view - towards the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a business trip to Porto. It's charming and is located in a restored hospital. The rooms are very spacious and the hotel is in excellent shape - however, be aware of snoring neighbors and don't take the room next to the lift, as the walls seem to be very narrow hence the noise level at night could be disturbing. Other than that a nice location.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitweltler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viseu hotels
0.7 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Dos Melos
0.1 mi away
Grao Vasco Hotel
Grao Vasco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Viseu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Principe Perfeito
Principe Perfeito
#6 of 13 in Viseu
95 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 13 in Viseu
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moinho de Vento
Hotel Moinho de Vento
#12 of 13 in Viseu
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa

Property: Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
Address: Rua do Hospital, Viseu 3500-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Viseu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viseu
#1 Green Hotel in Viseu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viseu is located in central Portugal, in the city of Viseu, 5 minutes on foot from the Parque Florestal do Fontelo. It is located in the old Hospital de Sao Teotonio, one of the oldest hospitals of the city, that opened in 1842 and features views of the historic part of the city. This old hospital was completely reconstructed and adapted by architect Goncalo Bryrne in 2009. The hospital is an important landmark in the most peaceful city centre in Portugal. During your stay, you can enjoy the spa, where you can schedule massages and treatments, use the sauna, whirpool bath, gym and Turkish bath as well as a heated indoor swimming pool. For the youngsters, we offer the Kids Club in summer as well as the fantastic outdoor swimming pool. The Pousada also offers a restaurant, a bar, a very unique wine room, a cigar lounge and conference rooms. The rooms are spacious with balconies featuring great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Viseu Charming Hotel Viseu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing