We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - will stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Viseu
Certificate of Excellence
Saline, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - will stay there again!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent 4 nights in this hotel on business and really enjoyed it. It is on a hill with a beautiful view of Viseu (a very nice, clean, safe town) and was my first impression of Portugal. The hotel is very pretty and the staff was very helpful. There was a SPA that one of my travel companions used and really enjoyed, but I did not use it so I cannot comment first hand on it.
PROS: Clean, safe, modern hotel with great staff, nice view, and plenty of amenities.
CONS: Beds were a bit firm for my taste and there was a lack of selection of pillow types (they were also too firm).
Overall, would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    148
    53
    9
    2
See reviews for
112
95
10
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with some friends cause we were attending a friend's wedding. The stay was amazing! The room we got was big and with amazing views. The breakfast was very nice. We spent some time at the bar as well as the swimming pool. The staff was ver friendly and helpful. Thanks for an unforgettable weekend!

Room Tip: Top floor for an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulphan, Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

stayed here for 4 nights with a friend who was working in town. Lovely twin room with balcony. Plenty big enough. Free wifi. A shame there was no tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Staff werent overly helpful on arrival. Normally at a 5* hotel a bell boy will be rushing out to the taxi to meet you and take your luggage. There was no such service at the Montebelo. The reception staff were not overly helpful. I even had to ask where the lifts to the rooms were. Very strange, as my experience of customer service everywhere else in Viseu was outstanding. The indoor pool area is nice but very dimly lit. There are nice loungers around the pool and plenty of towels. The saunas and steam rooms were not working for the length of my stay. Drank in the hotel bar a few times. Ate dinner in the restaurant one night. Had a set menu for about 20 euros which included starter, main course, dessert and a glass of wine. The soup was tepid. The roast veal main was very nice. A good choice of desserts on the dessert buffet. The breakfast buffet selection was good. A variety of pastries, meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, juices, pancakes, cereals and even bacon and scrambled eggs. Ham on the bone is carved for you if you want it. There is spumante once you ask for the bottle to be opened. Normal coffee is available to help yourself to, but others coffees (espresso etc) can be ordered. I found the staff at breakfast the friendliest in the hotel. The hotel was incredibly quiet. Whether by the pool, at breakfast, in the bar or in the restaurant. I'm sure i never saw more than half a dozen other people. In a very large hotel this just felt a little eerie. I would agree with other reviews about this really being 4* not 5.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vapi, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

i stayed here for 4 days for business travel back in 2012 oct. Our company in Tondela got a fantastic rate. break fact was good i asked for fried eggs and they were the best fry's that i got.I had it for b/f for next 4 days.Room is specious and with well placed facilities.Walked arround in the morning has a good area and property to walk around.Problem in wifi- hotel should provide free wifi every where in the hotel and not ristritct to lobby.Over all a very good deal. ,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jathavale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I´ve stayed for 2 night in this hotel to attend a meeting. The hotel its large and well maintained.
You have seperal areas inside where you can park your car.
The lobby its nice and the staff was polite.
Í was in a single room, and it was more than large, and comfortable. The downside was the water, it was brown. And i mean brown! I had to let it flow for some 10 minutes, and just after that you could ( if you´re brave enough) take a bath or brush your teeth. Of course that on the reception, i´ve showed a couple of pictures from the water and i was told that the situation was very unusual and would try to fix it anyway. It did get a little better, but the picture was saved in my mind, so it hard when i had to use it...
Then there was the wifi... It was free on the lobby but payed on the room. I´ve payed and couldnt get the wifi... The reception on the next morning returned me the money i´ve payed, but i had to be working in the lobby, instead of in the room... Not very nice...
The breakfast was ok, and also the restaurants.
Theres a nice pool outside, and a spa, but couldnt use it.
So the bottom line is... If i was paying for the hotel with my money instead of the company paying, i would be a bit dissapointed, it´s supposed to be a superior hotel, but actually it´s pretty average.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Power_guido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great room and breakfast. Parking is an extra and wifi too. In the lobby wifi is free. We used the gym and dry sauna and was very good..Is in a part of the city easy to find and elevated . To have a car will help to go around.

Room Tip: High floors have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My experience in this hotel started immediately the wrong way, as I faced a twin room when I actually reserved a double room... When I asked at the reception why I had a twin room instead of the double room I reserved, the staff answered me that double room is for 2 person and doesn't influence the type of bed.

I guess this "smart answer " is not the type of answer you expect when you're at a 5 star hotel and I also would expect that the hotel would be kind to offer something to diminish this bad starting... But it didn't!

To overcome this bad starting, I decided to relax by the pool and what I've found was a very small and overcrowded pool, surrounded by very little pool chairs...

There was only one person of the staff working by the pool that had to supply pool towels (that were really small), keep track of them and answer to the food and beverages requests! It's ridiculous to have only one person doing that kind of job specially if the requests for food and beverages demand to go out of the pool bar and go somewhere that must be very far, because it took many many minutes to have the melted ice cream by the pool while seated in the tiny towel...

I guess 4 stars would be the most correct star attribution for this hotel so that customers can manage its expectations.

On the other hand Viseu surprised me very positively, it's beautiful and well preserved and it has good restaurants with great wine selection!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ines_Carvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viseu hotels
0.7 mi away
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio Dos Melos
0.7 mi away
Grao Vasco Hotel
Grao Vasco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Viseu
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Principe Perfeito
Principe Perfeito
#6 of 13 in Viseu
91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 13 in Viseu
42 reviews
3.3 mi away
Onix Hotel
Onix Hotel
#7 of 13 in Viseu
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel

Property: Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Bosque, Viseu 3510-010, Portugal (Formerly Montebelo Viseu Hotel & Spa)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Viseu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viseu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel constitutes the essence of a true 5-star hotel, in its design, the subtlety of its rooms, its exclusive atmosphere, and attention to every detail. A place where your stay will be transformed into an experience beyond comparison. To ensure you have a perfect stay, each compartment has been carefully thought out to bring you the utmost comfort. All rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, internet, safe and minibar. Montebelo Viseu Hotel & Spa offers a wide selection of dishes for you to savour at your heart's desire while admiring the scenic view. Sports, health, beauty, revitalisation of body and mind - these are some of the many activities you can experience at Montebelo Viseu Hotel & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebelo Viseu Hotel And Spa
Montebelo Viseu Hotel Viseu
Montebelo Hotel Viseu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing