We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great house, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guincho Wayra House
Reviewed 27 August 2013

great house! good, decent accomodation.
only 5min away from guincho beach.
The owner is a crazy women, a true party animal I guess.
However she shows a very low presence as she's nearly never there.
but when she's there you'll notice haha!
had a great time there!
thanx!

Room Tip: hostel is not very popular. so ask if you can get a room alone!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Guincho Wayra House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Found this place online while looking for surf spots near Cascais and it was just awesome!

Arrived on November 3rd for a 2 day stay, ended up staying for 4! Place was spotless, nicely decorated. Walking distance from an amazing Guincho beach (nice surf spot!), beautiful scenery, not too far from gorgeous downtown Cascais!

The manager (Rita) is a riot, with amazing energy and good vibes, always available for whatever i needed.

All in all, i had a great time! Look forward to stay there again, next time i'm in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We arrived at the time we had advised to find no one waiting for us, the lady living upstairs let us in to the "hostel" and showed us to the room we had booked, a four share dorm. The beds had been slept in and the sheets were still dirty, the room still had rubbish from previous guests, she told us she would call Louis (the manager) to sort the room out and gives us keys. That was the last thing we saw of her. Luckily we were traveling with sleeping bags so the dirty sheets were not an issue. There were two guys already staying there, they gave us a rough idea on how together to the beach and where the bus came. There was no washing machine, no bike hire! Not even clean towels! There is no information on the area, no maps, no manager to answer questions! This is a house, not a hostel. Louis obviously doesn't care about his guests, we didn't see him the entire 3 days and had to leave cash on the table to pay for the room. We stayed because the beach was beautiful, it really is but I would recommend staying in cascais itself because it truly is a gorgeous little town. Giuncho surf beachostel is not where u want to be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Okay people, the location of this place is about 5-6km out of Cascais and about a 20 min walk from Guincho beach. This is a HOUSE! not a Hostel. The kitchen is tiny and our beds werent ready. Unless your on a surfing holiday only, I recommend staying in Cascais town because its beautiful, great beachside cafes and restaurants. Guincho was a bit far from supermarkets etc but a nice surf beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

A beautiful villa in gthe hills overlooking the sea, with one of the bedrooms turned into a dorm, very helpful and friendly management. The Villa is set in a quiet location 20 min walk from beach, but Luis is often available to give rides into town or to the beach. I was well looked after and took one of the private rooms on the first floor.....my most luxurious 'hostel' , probably ever!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowlifedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ernesto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gulzar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.2 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
545 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
3.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
787 reviews
4.2 mi away
Blue Boutique Hostel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Ljmonade Hostel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guincho Wayra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guincho Wayra House

Address: Rua do Passo Mau 33, Cascais 2750-541, Portugal (Formerly Guincho Surf Beachostel)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Cascais
Price Range: £23 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of The House and Spot: Guincho Wayra House is set in a picturesque valley, overlooking the breathtaking Guincho beach and the magic Sintra-Cascais Natural Park. Wayra in Quechua, the language of the Incas means wind; energy flowing and raising. The place offers a perfect balance between relaxation, tranquility and energy. Thus being our greatest inspiration to combine yoga sessions with outdoor activities like kitesurfing, surfing and SUP paddle boarding. The House enjoys a privileged location and views, only 15 min walk to Guincho. It has two dorms with 4 and 6 beds and double rooms with large balconies. We have a bright and comfortable Shala for yoga practices, spacious modern kitchen, laundry service and central heating. Our common areas are comfortable and surrounded by nature. The living room includes cable TV, DVD player and Wi-Fi connection for the exclusive use of our guests. From here you will see the most stunning sunsets over the sea. Guests can prepare their own meals in a fully equipped kitchen. A healthy and energizing breakfast is included as part of your stay, setting you up to make the most of your day! The Water School “Kitesurf Adventures” and Yoga classes: We choose the stunning Guincho Beach, located 3 minutes’ drive from our House, to teach the first part of the Kitesurf course, which takes place on the sand. Once you are able to handle and control the kite, we enter the water to learn the next stages; we will take you in a trip to Fonte da Telha beach, located 25 kms south of Lisbon. A paradise for kitesurfers! As we also love the waves and windless days, we offer you the possibility to experience Surf lessons for beginners and advanced at Guincho beach and SUP lessons (Stand-Up Paddle boarding) in Cascais area, activities that require balance, concentration and a dash of daring. Surf and Sup lessons are given in the mornings and with the steady wind picking up after launch, we fill our vans of material and we take you to navigate! We provide shuttle service to the spots and all the necessary gear, insurance and IKO certification. Our House has an area dedicated to Yoga and meditation, a Shala surrounded by magic and nature, available for morning and afternoon practices. Those who choose yoga and watersports packs will start early with the practice, then a healthy breakfast and continue their day with scheduled water sports. Our instructors are certified. They also are incredibly dynamic and professional in the different sports training that our school offers. We speak English, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Guincho Wayra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing