We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic golf trip”
Review of The Oitavos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oitavos
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Fantastic golf trip”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great hotel, friendly and help full staff, large rooms with fantastic view over the Atlantic sea and golf course, great spa, nice restaurants in the neighboourhood, great golf course

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avepgnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    170
    80
    17
    24
See reviews for
102
302
23
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Let's face it, you'd only be staying here if you were either really into golf or
if you were here for a conference. Other than that, the hotel is not really
close to anything interesting and the beach across the road is rocky and
definitely not for swimming in. The hotel itself is also 1km from the main road
so it's pretty secluded.

Bearing that in mind, I'm rating the hotel based in the fact that I was there
for a 3 day conference - they have lots of space for meetings and if you get
bored of being inside, there is an adequately sized swimming pool area. And an
indoor pool in the spa.

The rooms are huge! Unnecessarily huge in my opinion and even the standard rooms have a sitting area and balcony which is great for getting some sun. And for international travellers, you'll love the fact that you can leave your 3 or 2pin adapters at home because that's all catered for. There is a USB port charger too. Strangely the bath tub was the first thing I saw when I walked into the room, so if you like a bit of 'al fresco' bathing, this place is for you. Don't worry the shower and toilet areas do have doors! And yes, you get a bath and a shower. And you get wonderful smelling Aromatherapy Associates products. The floors in the rooms are concrete but you do get slippers, however, if you get a heavy footed person staying above you, you'll hear them stomping around.

However, what really stood out for me is the quality of the staff - nothing is too much trouble for them. They are always polite and very helpful. Service is always with a smile. You don't get a kettle in the rooms but you can always ask for hot water and the staff are always happy to bring them to you. I have to admit that having been in Portugal twice in a month recently, the quality of hotel staff in Lisbon seem to be head and shoulders above the rest of Europe.
Well done!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeCCTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEOITAVOS, General Manager at The Oitavos, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Madame

Thank you for your positive comments. We truly appreciate your feedback as a valued guest.

Please allow us to reply to your comments by stating that The Oitavos is situated in a prime location in Cascais at Quinta da Marinha, which is in fact located 5minutes drive from the Cascais village center on one side and 2 minutes from what is considered to be one of the best beaches in Portugal and continental Europe, Guincho.

Indeed the small rocky beach you have visited across the road is not prepared to host anyone willing to bathe but guests can always visit Guincho or any other beach located on the Estoril Coast.

Due to its private and laid-back atmosphere, where in the evenings and weekends local clients add the sense of place and genuineness to the hotel ambience, sometimes clients enjoy so much their stay at The Oitavos that they tend to forget the outside world but, they are in fact only few meters away from it. At the hotel guest can find an array of things to do from, relaxing at the balneotherapy and Spa area to dine in the kitchen hosted by Chef Cyril Devilliers or to rent on of our 20 top notch bicycles and go for a ride throughout the coast.


Also at The Oitavos guests experience is not limited to the hotel as at Quinta da Marinha Estate and under the same ownership as the hotel, they can find an Equestrian Center where riding classes are available a Health and Racket Club where tennis matches can be disputed and as you mentioned the Oitavos Dunes Golf Course, proudly ranked 68th on the Top 100 Best Golf Courses in the World by the most respected golf course ranking published biannually by GOLF Magazine, EUA.


Besides all this activities within the Quinta da Marinha Estate, guest can also enjoy the great outdoor areas of Natural Park Sintra Cascais, hiking, surf lessons, sailing and so many other activities as well as sightseeing and cultural and shopping trips to Sintra and Lisbon, only 20 to 30 minutes away.


Once again we thank you for the time taken writing about our hotel and we will make sure to pass on to the staff your opinion on their service and quality.

We hope you give us the pleasure of another visit.


Kindest Regards Miguel M Champalimaud GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel looked like corporate offices when we first arrived; very square, about 4 floors, sitting on a very large property. Once you enter, it's apparent that the designers tried to blend a very industrial feel with as wide open a plan as possible. They use exposed girders, with glass everywhere, painted concrete floors, and very high ceilings. It's decorated with modern furniture and art and is quite minimalist. However, somehow, this all works, and works well. The design carries into the rooms as well, which are very large, have huge balconies, concrete floors, and very modern/industrial/minimalist furnishings. I found the room comfortable, and sitting on the balcony in the sun to read the paper in the morning was great. It felt like I was far off in the countryside when in actuality the hotel is less than an hour from Lisbon. The food was quite good, but didn't try the pool though it looked quite nice (and quite cold). There are great views of the ocean from most places around the hotel, and the golf course was tucked away very nicely. Service was very good, and there always seemed to be someone to help. Gym was small, mostly cardio (bikes, treads, etc). Bring your running shoes, as running along the ocean in the morning is fantastic. Town is pretty nice; Casino, great restaurants, fast food if you want, all short taxi rides away (nice restaurants walking distance). Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 3rd floor; balcony feels more private and you will have very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveler_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Extract from letter to hotel manager upon return from trip in late February 2012:

"My husband and I returned yesterday from a three-night stay at The Oitavos. We are very fortunate to have stayed in some amazing hotels all over the world with hoteliers such as The Four Seasons, Banyan Tree and Park Hyatt. We wanted to take this opportunity to congratulate you on your hotel. The design, quality and especially the service were excellent and certainly in the same league as the aforementioned brands.

All of your staff were exceptional and made us feel very welcome and valued guests from the moment we arrived. For example, it was a pleasure to be greeted by Ines when we entered the bar late at night as two tired and grumpy travellers and then left to go to bed an hour later feeling like VIPs.

We look forward to recommending our friends and family to you and we also hope to return ourselves."

Room Tip: If you like morning sun ask for golf course facing, if you like evening sun ask for Atlantic facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyandPigonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Oitavos last weekend and were absolutely impressed about every detail in the Hotel. Everything was extremely good quality, the rooms were huge, very modern, very spacious and wonderful;The bed was extremely comfortable; the food at the restaurant was marvellous and the staff very kind and always helpful;the situation of this hotel is also wonderful as it is very close to marvellous portuguese beaches. we will certainly go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here recently for a corporate event. On first entering the hotel it looks impressive, as do the huge bedrooms. On closer inspection though, I changed my mind. The bedrooms have painted concrete floors (exactly the same as the outside) which is not a nice feel when you get out of bed. The beds were nice but the pillows were quite thick and gave me a bit of a neck ache! TV: I could only find one english channel which was Sky News and that was only available on the living room tv and not the bedroom tv. Bathroom: The sink didnt drain away and bath plug didnt work at all so I couldnt have a bath! Toilet: The options on the toilet (wash/dry/bidet etc) didnt work at all. Wifi worked perfectly. Food: Very average, not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Had some chicken with a huge piece of gristle in and some of the veg was a bit flavourless, however there was plenty of choice, breakfast was nice. At lunch I asked for some butter to go with my bread and was told in a stroppy manner 'we dont have butter here'!! Next morning at breakfast was piles of it so they DO have it!! The swimming pool was empty, although it would have been too cold for this time of year. The hotel is well out of the way, there is nowhere within walking distance but it does have a golf course.
Overall, this has potential to be a nice hotel, the rooms are huge with a lovely sea view, but please install some carpet! I really found it clinical and un-homely, I would never pay to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The spa is one of the nicest I've ever experienced.
The rooms are enormous, with plenty living space where you can spend time reading, getting ready or whatever takes your fancy. While from the outside, this hotel does look rather like a large office building, the benefit of this is the super spacious interior and rooms.
The food is delicious and although a bit pricey, is more competitive than other hotels of the same category.
We didn't get to enjoy any golfing whilst there but if you are into Golf, this is most definitely the place to be.
The location is quite isolated, and a car will be needed, however the benefit of this is that you are away from the hustle and bustle, with deserted (yet rocky and windy!) beaches near by. Perfectly located between Cascais and Sintra and a liesurely drive from Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhysotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.6 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oitavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oitavos

Property: The Oitavos
Address: Rua dos Oitavos, Cascais 2750-374, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#9 Business Hotel in Cascais
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#11 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oitavos 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the timeless beauty of the Atlantic coast, The Oitavos seeks to embrace rather than compete with nature. Its bold design, sleek lines and elegantly simple interiors focus attention outwards – on the historical and natural elements of the grounds and the drama and romance of the Atlantic Ocean. A stunning blue colour palate will cool your senses, blending with the colours of the sea and the violets of the flowers dotted across the landscape. Contemporary sculpture and paintings by Portuguese artists will enrapture against the white canvas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oitavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oitavos Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing