We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oitavos golf resort - amazing golf weekend”
Review of The Oitavos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oitavos
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 17 February 2013

February 2013 in Czech republic, Temperature -4°C, I said - it's time to fly for playing golf somewhere southwards. We chose Portugal coast and Oitavos hotel and golf course Oitavos dunes. Very nice hotel built with somebody, who loves golf. We booked Premium corner room with viewpoint directly on 18th hole and Atlantic ocean. Wide coridors, special lockers room for bags, prepared bags with score cards and bottle of clear water + direct gate to trolley and buggys parking, cleaning place with air pressure and water have been basic golf hotel services.

Driving range wooden ground and pads appear like very long time used in compare with modern hotel. First tee is several steps from driving range. 18 holes course with PAR 71 is not so difficult. Flat and wide fairways forgive small mistakes in drive direction. Some holes need accurate and long drives. For example hole with ravine required accurate shot with iron directly on the green and before playing hole placed in valley, you have to ringing the bell before first shot from the tee. Almost from each point of golf course you can enjoy amazing view points on the Atlantic ocean or Sintra mountains. Last tee is located in front of hotel with pine-tree in the middle of the fairway and everybody can watch how you are shooting ball on the border of 200 meters directly from their hotel'sterace :-)

We really enjoyed golf game on sunny Saturday, returned back to the hotel tired, but full of emotions. Hotel has internal swimming pool full of warm sea water and 10 water nozzles, ideal for water massages of back. Than We used jacuzzi and combination of Turkish bath and Sauna. We accepted hotel invitation for romantic dinner - Chef table. It was bigest gastronmy experience for us. 5 courses menu with deserts and sensitively selected wines ... what I can say more than "excelent". But be careful with much more eating if you are making plan play golf next day :-). We repeated golf course on Sunday morning again.

Hotel position close to Cascais city (10 mins by the car) offers lovely walks hand by hand in old town full of small shops and caffee bars and restaurants, we visited light houses museum and marina too on Sunday afternoon.

I would like to say, that Oitavos resort and all their services have been perfect. All our senses have been absolutely satisfied. Thank you. We will return back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

The rooms are huge and well appointed.
Unusual but interesting layout, similar feeling as in W hotels.
Limited choice of restaurants in the hotel, and it is away from anything and everything.
However, you can order a pizza from the outside so that you can enjoy in your rooms.
Limited selection of sushi bar and western foods, but the breakfast buffet is great with a wide choice of selection of foods and fruits!!
The golf course has an interesting layout, but the condition is not as good as penha Longha course. The gree fee or golf package is on bit high side. The electric carts are not readilty available!! I had to wait quite a while before we got the buggy!!
Overall, I would like to go back for golfing vacation.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are great with balcony and comfortable chairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irxraydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I spent a week at this hotel in late August 2012. The staff members are extremely friendly and very concerned about making your stay a good one. The rooms are ultra modern and very spacious and comfortable. The oversized terrace is a definite plus, as well.

The outdoor pool area is relatively unadorned but very inviting, nonetheless. The indoor pool, which I used most of the time, was warm and very pleasant. I spent just a bit of time in the hot tub and sauna, and enjoyed both.

The food at the hotel is excellent. I travelled with a friend and we dined at the Chef's Table one night and it was spectacular. It was just the two of us, but we were treated very well and the Chef went out of his way to produce a wonderful and memorable dinner and to accommodate to a very inconvenient dietary restriction in Portugal - an allergy to seafood.

My friend and I decided, at the last minute, to take golf lessons and the pro was very good. I would recommend it, even if you've never played, as I had not.

All in all, The Oitavos was a wonderful place to spent a holiday and to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life.

Room Tip: If you walk off the property and cross the main road, you'll find FOrt S. Jorge de Oitavos and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here for a short mid-week break and for the first two days were one of only two or three other couples staying...which meant very attentive staff at breakfast although we did not get the buffet breakfast that we had paid for - we had to order from the wait staff and the first day there wasn't any menu....but this was just a small hitch. They did offer to give us breakfast in bed but we declined. To be fair the staff were in the main very friendly, helpful and attentive.
The rooms are uber modern which we loved but will not be to everyone's taste....the loo situation is not ideal (open plan extends to a frosted glass loo within your room) but other than this the fittings etc were all top class and it was very 5* experience. The grounds and spa are great and even with the weather on our final days being awful there is plenty to do in the hotel and its surrounds to keep you busy - also because it's such a slick design, you just want to hang out in the communal areas - something I've never really wanted to do before in a hotel.
So positives - design, food, staff, spa, activities, free wifi and we were up-graded because of the low occupancy. Negatives - some small but quite annoying things: no shuttle transfer available to centre of Cascais - AT ALL at any of the times we requested (three times) - this is described on the website!!! You have to take a taxi instead and which is probably only about 5-7 euro but getting up to four taxis a day adds up - I would not have considered this hotel if I had known that the transfers only happened when there were enough guests. 15 euro to view a film is too much. No coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms. Last piece of advice is - if you take a taxi to the airport, be sure to pay the taxi driver and not the hotel - the hotel rate is €54 whereas we paid €40 as our surf teacher had told us this was about as much as it should cost.
Bottom line - very good experience but sullied a bit by the feeling that the hotel was getting up on your back a bit....I would certainly go back here for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEOITAVOS, General Manager at The Oitavos, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Madame


Thank you for your positive comments. We truly appreciate your feedback. We were also very pleased to know that - “you just want to hang out in the communal areas - something I've never really wanted to do before in a hotel” - , this is probably one of our main goals as hoteliers, to make our guests feel at home even if away from it.
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the buffet breakfast, but indeed with a low occupancy rate the food waste of having a buffet breakfast only for 4 to 6 persons can be outrageous and since clients can order everything they wish from the breakfast menu which is as complete as the buffet breafast we believe that this the best and more ethic way to solve this issue. Of course not having an available menu for you to choose from is not acceptable and once again we apologize for that situation.
Regarding your comments about the shuttle transfer please allow us to clarify, as the shuttle transfer is only available on Summer Season as stated on our website.
As for the Taxi price, our rate is an average rate, the taxi is booked in advance and we make sure we only work with the best cars in town; we know personally the taxi driver, the car condition and the delivered service. When booking a taxi on your own, rates might lower or higher in your case we’re happy to hear they we’re lower.

We sincerely hope you give us the pleasure of another visit.


Kindest Regards,

Miguel M Champalimaud
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I couldn't have found out a better place for a quick three day golf escape on November. The natural beauty of the place, view to the Atlantic ocean combined with with the open and simple geometric architecture and calming colors and light of the hotel was overwhelming. Where ever I put my eyes on I could feel myself refreshed and relaxed from hotel lobby to lounge and restaurant and my room. A Sauna on the Spa with view to Atlantic ocean was a pleasant surprise.

The same feeling continued on the golf course with links course on natural sand dunes and hill with a view to Atlantic on almost every hole. No matter how I scored I just felt calm and empowered.

Room Tip: Every room or balcony has a view to Atlantic ocean but the more expensive ones toward the sea and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olli-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is the second time I stay at the Oitavos. This time we stayed a full week playing golf, tennis, biking and running along the Atlantic, riding and swimming in the pool at the hotel. The activities offered by the hotel ensure that every member of the family can be active which is great.

The hotel itself is very spacious including the rooms. And the location in Quinta da Marinha is very calm yet close enough to Cascais.

Staff is extremely service-minded and I would also like to point out the excellent breakfast buffet.

Last but not least, the fact that the reception of the hotel is approx 100 meters away from the 1st tee of Oitavos Dunes, the 68th best golf course in the world, is obviously a big plus for the avid golfer such as myself.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan123486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed 4 days in November and enjoyed our stay very much. The Oitavos is located about 30 mins from Lisbon and the airport. It was built on the dramatic Atlantic coast outsice of Cascais.The hotel is quite new and was built in a extremly cool and modern design style (not cosy). Around the hotel is a fantastic golf course. The rooms are very large and have a very cool design although the open plan bath rooms are not ideal if you prefer privacy. The hotel has a beautiful outside pool with a great view of the Atlantic ocean which is only a view minutes walk away. There is a nice indoor pool with sauna and steam bath. Breakfast is great and food in the restaurant is not cheap but very good. The service was very good and and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on the west side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.6 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
2.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 40 in Cascais
841 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 40 in Cascais
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 40 in Cascais
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 40 in Cascais
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oitavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oitavos

Address: Rua dos Oitavos, Cascais 2750-374, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#9 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#12 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £113 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oitavos 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the timeless beauty of the Atlantic coast, The Oitavos seeks to embrace rather than compete with nature. Its bold design, sleek lines and elegantly simple interiors focus attention outwards – on the historical and natural elements of the grounds and the drama and romance of the Atlantic Ocean. A stunning blue colour palate will cool your senses, blending with the colours of the sea and the violets of the flowers dotted across the landscape. Contemporary sculpture and paintings by Portuguese artists will enrapture against the white canvas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oitavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oitavos Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing