We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in Cascais”
Review of The Oitavos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oitavos
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our stay at the hotel went perfectly!
Employers are qualified, efficient, smiling, perfectly bilingual in English and some of them don’t hesitate to try the French, it was very nice!
The services are perfect, the rooms are huge, the restaurants are delicious!
The site, in the middle of a golf, is really beautiful and quiet!
I will not hesitate to advise this hotel to my friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANTOINEp728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

The place is a huge modern glass and cement building on top of a protected dune area. I felt kind of sad of seeing such a beautiful landscape being occupied by such a construction.

Thank Mnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Oitavos...you will hate it or love it :-) I loved it. The impressive glass structure makes the hotel unique. They have a lovely infitiny pool with nice views. The location is very peaceful, located at the Oitavos golfcourse, one of the best in Europe! The hotel is located between Cascais and Guincho beach, I really would recommend to hire a car! The region of Cascais has a lot to offer (Sintra, Lisbon, Caparica etc). The rooms are really awesome and extremely huge for standard rooms offering one of the best beds, a spacious sitting area, 2 huge LCD TV's, top notch media system, media hub, lovely (half open) bathroom etc. The balconies are also huge offering a nice view on the golfcourt. The breakfast was nice and correct and you can also order à la carte (pancakes, waffles, eggs). The indoor swimming pool with jacuzzi offers a nice view and offers a lot of daylight. Complimentary wifi. The value for money is EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miraKGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Admitting that the first impression might remind you of an airport lobby, this feeling fades away the longer you stay around. The rooms are really spacious with a loft design including living area with huge flat screen. The dominant colors are blue including the floors. The breakfast has a wealthy variety of choices ranging from fresh fruits, cheeses & omelettes, bread & pasteries, as well as pancakes & waffles on request. The dining menu also offers a wide range of choice between fish, shell dishes and steaks. The staff is very friendly, however sometimes misunderstood the orders. Overall our stay was very pleasant, with a good mix of relaxing at the pools combined with small trips to Cascais, Sintra, and Lisboa.
Recommended evening walk through Lisboa old town ending with a small "Fado" dinner.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kontaktps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had occasion to stay here last weekend for one night. Great service, gorgeous clean spacious rooms, great views - my balcony overlooking the golf course was also fantastic. The breakfast was delicious as was the dinner. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: My room overlooked the golf course - I would pick it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdphdbfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent 5 nights there as a couple and enjoyed every bit of this hotel.

The weather was excellent, so we used the pool a lot, ate there, had a couples massage, used the gym and the spa.

And the room.... is just pure comfort. The king size bed is perfect, the pillows and linen are fantastic, it's clean, airy and perfect. Great quality!
Breakfast is amazing, with quality food.
The staff is very helpful, always smiling, very polite.

Before making your reservation, there are 3 points that you could not like:

1. It's very modern (but cosy).
2. The top half of the shower and toilet are see-through.
3. No kids allowed at the indoor pool & spa, so if the weather is bad, it's not very fun for them. (A plus for adults).

I would NOT bring small children to this hotel. But I would definitely come back as a couple or with friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views then other ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacances2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The rooms are nice, clean and big. The hotel is very modern and very beautiful. The service is very bad (friendly but not professional or efficient) and the spa amenities are not available for hotel guests (only for guests who come in for a spa treatment). The variety at the breakfast was bad and there were no fresh vegetables at the breakfast. On the positive side, the hotel is more beautiful than what is shown on the pictures. The views from the rooms are very nice and it is a very pleasant place to stay. The air-conditioning was amazing (this is a very modern hotel in every way, if you like modern materials and modern architecture this is the place to stay), it was very efficient, but at the same time we could never hear it or “feel the draft”. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleBobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
3.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
807 reviews
2.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oitavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oitavos

Address: Rua dos Oitavos, Cascais 2750-374, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cascais
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#11 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £129 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oitavos 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the timeless beauty of the Atlantic coast, The Oitavos seeks to embrace rather than compete with nature. Its bold design, sleek lines and elegantly simple interiors focus attention outwards – on the historical and natural elements of the grounds and the drama and romance of the Atlantic Ocean. A stunning blue colour palate will cool your senses, blending with the colours of the sea and the violets of the flowers dotted across the landscape. Contemporary sculpture and paintings by Portuguese artists will enrapture against the white canvas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oitavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oitavos Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing