We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun weekend”
Review of The Oitavos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oitavos
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The location: if you want to surf, kitesurf, cycle, run or go horse-riding, and get a tan, this is the place.
A really lovely hotel, not absolutely 100% perfect, but the staff were clearly very keen to ensure that we were happy and particularly the concierge was fantastic.
The first impression of the building is very corporate, very modern, minimalist, and without the sunlight streaming in through the panorama windows and white linen curtains, might have seemed cold. The pale blue of the floors and some of the fittings was a clever way of bringing the outside in, and avoided the sometimes dated monochrome look of some hotels.
We couldn't check in early, so went to the pool, had some lunch, accidentally stole another guests's sunlounger, but he was very gracious about it.
Room was enormous, the widest and most comfortable bed I've seen (I now want one!), with a separate seating area and large balcony. Very minimalist again, but it works, as if Coco Chanel had gone over the rooms once they were decorated,and taken one thing away. The many mirrors make the room seem even brighter, and the bathroom area is well designed. The transparent loo cubicle isn't really an issue, most hotels these days have them anyway.
Great toiletries by Aromatherapy Associates, good shower, really good body lotion, and best of all, two washbasins.
In terms of things to do, this is the perfect playground. On Friday afternoon, we rented some bikes and cycled along the separate coastal bike path down to the beach, about 15 mins by bike, where we watched the kite surfers, and after an amusing encounter with the boy from the Information stand, who said there was nowhere at all to rent surfboards or kites, and that everyone had brought their own, found the surf shop 20m away. The lady in the surf shop was great, very relaxed indeed, but knew what she was talking about - after some back and forth about wind conditions and instructor availability, we arranged a kite surfing lesson for the next day for one of us. A walk along the beach took us to the small bar at the other end, where we sat in the breeze drinking Coronas, then back to the hotel, a few snacks on the balcony to watch the sun set, and a very good dinner in the restaurant. The Portuguese fish stew (pretty similar to Paella) was fantastic, so much beautifully cooked fish that we couldn't finish it. Vinho Verde to go with it was great too. Service was good, perhaps a bit confused with the separate sushi bar menu etc, and a tiny bit of a delay in taking orders, but we are on holiday not at a City lunch meeting.
At 8.30am Saturday, we got some bikes, cycled over the golf course to the stables about 1 mile away, and found the Rui Barroso riding school, where we had booked an hour's riding with the Concierge the night before. Barroso is one of six stables, with a large indoor riding school, a racetrack and outdoor school, and some nice gentle paths through the woods to plod along if you would rather not have a proper lesson. They even had some riding boots to lend me, and while the riding helmets are not brand new, there were enough sizes to accommodate our big heads. We had an hour's hack on winding sandy paths, then booked again for the next day to have a lesson. Good, well-trained horses. Back to the hotel just in time for a good breakfast, then the hotel shuttle to the beach, and the rest of the day was spent learning to kite surf and relaxing. There are also sun loungers with wind screens and umbrellas to rent, EUR 18.50 for two for four hours, which wasn't too bad. A restaurant tucked away in a corner of the beach serves full meals, but we didn't eat there. Looked pleasant enough though.
After a little waiting around for the shuttle back to the hotel, we went for an early evening jog around the golf course. That was beautiful, the views over the heather to the sea are inspiring, and they haven't gone crazy with manicuring the golf course and gardens, leaving the wild beauty of the landscape untouched. That was the charm of the hotel, it was slick and new and elegant, but the surrounding nature, the dead quiet at night and the sea, made it feel luxurious without being artificial.
Things I would improve:
- The food in the pool restaurant: was ok, but some of it seemed heavy, could have done with lighter sandwiches, maybe a fruit platter, slightly fresher presentation.
- The showers and loos below the pool: there was no soap nor shower gel there, which seemed odd.
- Ugly picture of purple lady in a bikini behind the bar, but I guess that's just my taste.
- A printed map of the area (stables, beach, running route) would be a nice touch.

Things I loved:
- The BED! The room overall and the balcony too.
- The landscape
- Concierge service, activities
- Pool area was great
- The very friendly and genuine staff

Room Tip: Third floor Deluxe rooms, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at this huge hotel 2 days for business. Calm, modern, high-standing place. The rooms are nicely designed and have a small terrace each - ask for the sea view. Large spacious lobby suite with restaurant and sofa area. I would primarily recommend this place for business convention, family and friends group travel or for Golf fans. Despite everything looks perfect and functional by design, the hotel can feel a bit cold and impersonal.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank G2SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in mid July and we were most impressed. We loved the ultra modern design and the wonderful service that we enjoyed throughout our stay. The staff could not have been more friendly and informative. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The drivers of the complimentary bus service were fantastic fonts of knowledge and were always willing to fit in extra runs outside the daily time table.

The food was of such a high standard, that we chose to eat in the hotel every night, which is rare for us. The beaches and surrounding towns and villages are very classy and the excellent food was reasonably priced.

The hotel has an array of activities. The spa,the tennis and equestrian centres are sublime.

The rooms are magnificent with plenty of space to spread out and enjoy. I will most certainly be returning to this wonderful hotel in an area that for me outshines the Algarve.

Room Tip: Get in touch with the wonderful staff and tell them precisely what you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CCMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are amazing! Big, cool and a with a perfect view. The hotel has a nice pool area and deck with gorgeous view. Big common areas with plenty of space. The breakfast has a broad selection, and they make eggs, crepe and waffles a la carte. The only downside is the extra fee charged to use the inside pool and sauna. That is rather unacceptable for such a pricey and luxurious hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tommysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the Oitavos for a long weekend in July for my birthday. We had prebooked the hotel car to pick us up since we arrived very late and it all worked out smoothly. The hotel does look like a conference hotel at first sight but it is actually really nice inside with some nice touches.

We had a premium corner room which was HUGE - apparently the premium rooms are all as big - only the actual balcony/terrace is bigger and wrap around in the corner rooms so i would probably go for a just a premium room if i were to go back. Very comfortable bed and nice toiletries. No tea or coffee facilities which surprised me and only 1 bottle of complimentary water on day 1 with no refills for the other 2 days.

Lovely slightly heated pool (26C) and a good spa with indoor pool, sauna, relax etc. Note that you need to book in advance. I tried to get another last minute booking in and was told no availability on the day or the next day so i guess the spa is very popular. I did have a 1,5 hour massage which was good but not excellent but that depends more on the therapist since my husbands massage was great.

Staff is very friendly and plentiful. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice - my favorite meal of the day. Madeleines and Nata tarts were great. Top tip - ask for espresso black coffee if you want an "americano" much nicer from the espresso machine than the "brewed" coffee.:-)

Hotel car to/from airport was Euro 70 each way. We thought we had booked the hotel car for the return but got given a taxi instead (prepaid) which cost Euro 65 - i would therefore recommend to take the hotel car instead since there is only a few euros difference.

All in all we had a nice break and i would recommend the Oitavos!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel room is 65m2 with a large sitting room and plenty of space. However, for those visiting with young children (below 10), hotel will charge 75euro for one child who will sleep on the most uncomfortable sofa bed (not even full sofa extendable one, just bedsheet on a sofa). The really bad news is that if you have a second child, you will have to buy a second room (assuming that children below 10 will sleep on their own). I assume that in such a large space, one child is probably free of charge since the sofa is there anyway. And second child can most likely stay in same room with an extra bed which is chargeable. Unfortunately I was completely wrong!

Unless you come with a nanny or prepare to sleep separately from your husband with your second child in another room, I will not recommend this hotel to a family with young kids.

Even if you are willing to pay the price and sleep separately, your children will not be allowed to use the amazingly designed facilities after 3pm, e.g. outdoor swimming pool.

We learned our lesson and will not return to Oistavos in future.

5  Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEOITAVOS, Gerente geral at The Oitavos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Madam

Thank you for your comments.

However please allow us to clarify some of your statements:

As per the hotel policy we do in fact only allow 1 child until 16 years old per room and a second child up to 2 years old in a crib - this is quite an ordinary comfort and security standard adopted across the hotel worldwide industry for double Rooms category. We do however offer 12 rooms with connecting doors for parents who choose to stay at the Oitavos with children that are not in the above mentioned age ranges.

There are also available two master Suites where it’s possible to have up to 2 children until 16 years old sleeping in the Living Room.


The sofa bed is not a pull out bed but a built in sofa bed - the cushions on the sofa bed are extremely comfortable and when the bed is made a mattress topper is added to ensure more comfort - the sofa length is 2m, from head to toes. The extra pillows, linens bath towels, amenities and room cleaning service supplied to accommodate a the third person in the room are of the same quality and quantity as of the ones provided for a double occupation.


Children are allowed at all the hotel facilities, except in the Spa and Balneotherapy area for understandable reasons, and there’s no such hour limit to the Outdoor Pool, children can enjoy the Outdoor Pool the entire day. We’d also like to add that children are very welcome at The Oitavos, and although we do not offer free supervised childcare, special kids meals and trampoline-equipped adventure playgrounds we do our best to deliver what we feel it’s more
important: a family friendly welcome. We also offer a big range of activities for kids near or outside the hotel, from golf lessons (at the hotel golf course) to surf lessons and horse riding tours among other activities that can be requested at our Concierge.



Thank you again for you feedback,

Kindest Regards Miguel M Champalimaud
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent six nights in The Oitavos. Here are the results of our jury
+ good location - nice sea views
+ great breakfast
+ good housekeeping
+ large room with big windows and big balcony
+ nice staff at restaurants and pool area
+ extremely good concierge service (our shuttle driver was the best)

But one huge minus
- behind the reception desk there were plenty of people, many times 6-7 at the same time, but most of them were impolite and I must say - arrogant. There were a few exceptions though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JuusoJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEOITAVOS, Gerente geral at The Oitavos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for your positive comments. We truly appreciate your feedback .

Please accept our apologies for the less hospitable staff at reception and for the indelicate situation that you’ve mentioned. We’ve passed on your less positive comment to the Reception Team stating that behaviours like the one you’ve mentioned are just not acceptable, and immediate action has been taken.

We hope you give us the pleasure of another visit.



Kindest Regards Miguel M Champalimaud GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
2.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
823 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oitavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oitavos

Address: Rua dos Oitavos, Cascais 2750-374, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#9 Business Hotel in Cascais
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#10 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £113 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oitavos 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the timeless beauty of the Atlantic coast, The Oitavos seeks to embrace rather than compete with nature. Its bold design, sleek lines and elegantly simple interiors focus attention outwards – on the historical and natural elements of the grounds and the drama and romance of the Atlantic Ocean. A stunning blue colour palate will cool your senses, blending with the colours of the sea and the violets of the flowers dotted across the landscape. Contemporary sculpture and paintings by Portuguese artists will enrapture against the white canvas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oitavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oitavos Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing