We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of The Albatroz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Albatroz Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a long weekend at this hotel and were really pleased with our stay.
The hotel is very strategically located in Cascais, walking distance to all important places like train station (only 1 hour train ride to Lisbon), bus station (1 hour to Sintra, via Boca del Cabo, Europe's most western point), restaurants and amenities of Cascais and great seaside walking.

The location was our reason of selecting this hotel and we were not wrong.
The hotel has a little bit of an old worldly feel to it, some may say it's a little dated; but we liked it that way.

We had a city facing room as we couldn't afford a seafront view. Looking back on it, I think the price difference wouldn't be worth it as you have access to the same views from hotel bar and pool area when you want to. My only note is that our room was directly above the hotel entrance, therefore noisy due to the continuous traffic of people and cars.

The room was not very large but we had a huge kingsize bed and 2 chairs. The storage spaces were really limited, if we both had 2 large luggages we would struggle to find a suitable place for both.

The bathroom was large and fully functional, with dual-function bath-tub and shower and double sinks. There were complimentary toiletries and bath-robes in addition to huge towels.

The restaurant was really good. Good selection of local and international cuisines accompanied by a good wine list. We opted for the house white and were very impressed with it. 2 starters, 2 mains and a bottle of wine came to 150Euros.

The breakfast selection was generous and wide variety of selection catering for several diet choices.

The staff was helpful and tried their best to answer our questions and help; however I need to point out that if you don't specifically ask for it; they do not tell you that you can actually travel to Sintra very easily for 3Euros per person using the public transport.

I would definitely recommend this hotel because of its unique location in the city and the level of service to match its uniqueness. We hoped to have a special weekend and it certainly was a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for The Albatroz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel Albatroz is amongst a handful of older and prominent hotels in Cascais. The staff is highly tentative to guests' every request. Endemic to most older hotels, the building can benefit from certain upgrades and improvements. But these areas of improvement are mostly minor aesthetic upgrades.
The hotel is situated right above a rock overlooking the sea and Cascais harbor. Be sure to experience the magnificent sunsets from the balcony while sipping on complimentary port wine. The exquisite breakfast spread by itself is well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Best rates are offered from October through March.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6sigmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a gem. We have found it difficult to find in Europe a hotel which is family friendly,in a convenient location for an interesting town centre, has great sea views,has access to a good beach and good rooms with quality food. Well we have now found it at the Albertroz.
The people who work there are exceptional ,with everyone from the maids to the managers being helpful and friendly. Our 10 and 14 year old boys loved the food ,as did we! ,and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We will return.
Thank you to everyone at the Hotel for a fantastic week.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank EnglandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a great 3 night stay in this fabulous hotel right on the seafront. I stayed in a deluxe seaview room with balcony, overlooking the Bay of Cascais. It was wonderful sitting out and relax, just listening to the sound of the waves. Room was spacious, well decorated and clean. Bathroom was clean and the rainshower delightful! Every single member of the staff I encountered was wonderful, always smiling and helpful. Breakfast was great too, with a great selection of fresh fruits, the usual breakfast foods and some local specialities. There's a lovely terrace with a small pool, again overlooking the sea. It's right next to the town center also. There's free wifi in the rooms which worked fine. I'd love to go back to this part of Portugal and would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get the a seaview room on the 2nd in the main building, they have a balcony and look out over the Ba...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Floopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Its location just in front of the beach, next to cascais' shopping street where you also can find Santini (the best ice cream in town), the mall and the train and bus station is only 1 minute walking distance. You can reach Sintra for about half hour from there. The room is air conditioned, very neat and clean (including the bathroom). The only drawback is the wifi was on and off in our room (we stay at the new building). Didn't have the chance to try the fitness center and spa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay in this wonderful hotel based right on the seafront in Cascais. The beautifully decorated, spacious room was so airy we didn't even need the aircon and our balcony was just superb, in full sunshine for most of the day. Crisp and luxurious linen adorned our enormous bed resulting in a great night's sleep. There is something for everyone at breakfast, from delicious smoked salmon to the finest pastries and the staff are a real credit to the hotel, so professional, caring and attentive. We ate in the restaurant one evening, opting for the 5 course tasting menu and we both thought the food was outstanding with wine prices that were surprisingly good value. All in all a brilliant place to stay in a delightful location.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the superior rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I recent stayed in this hotel and was delighted with the service and the attention we received from the staff. The location of this hotel is unmatched, and our room overlooked the Bay of Cascais, which was a joy to wake up to. The restaurant was excellent, we had dinner there on the first night, and it was perfect. I have only one reservation for this hotel, I thought my room would be in the palace side as advertised on the website but it was rather ordinary for the price. Also the lobby area could be improved as it is a five star hotel, but i cannot fault the service or the location, we had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norah911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
804 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albatroz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albatroz Hotel

Address: Rua Frederico Arouca 100 | Betw, Cascais 2750-356, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cascais
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#8 Family Hotel in Cascais
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £125 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Albatroz Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in converted Mansion with modern addition, Situated on a rocky bluff overlooking the beach & Cascais bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Albatroz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatroz Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing