We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Albatroz Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baia(Cascais)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farol Hotel(Cascais)
US$948
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
399
160
38
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
160
38
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hoteloverlooking the beachcomplimentary portsmall poololder partport winesea viewtrain stationbreakfast serviceocean frontsmall hotelcobbled streetssound of the waveswonderful hotelpool arealovely roombreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel to attend a conference in June 2014, and our accommodation was paid for. Having said that, we found it very pleasant.

Our sea-facing room was comfortable and well-appointed. On sunny days it was noisy, as the pool was directly beneath, and every word spoken there was audible in the room, so I didn't have lengthy naps in the afternoons! But can one seriously object to the sound of people having some innocent fun in the sun?

The staff members we encountered were all polite, friendly and helpful. They made us feel very much at home. The food was good and plentiful.

This not a budget hotel, but it is a very pleasant stop in Cascais.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eindelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel has the most perfect setting, in the old part of Cascais, right by the sea. But it badly needs re-vamping. My heart sunk as I arrived to find a very dull reception area, and when I was taken to my suite I almost refused it. Although spacious and comfortable with a little balcony overlooking the sea the bed was in an alcove which had a very dark mural painted on all walls and ceiling and created a very sinister, creepy scene. At night it made me think of a Hammer Horror Vampire movie setting.
The service and the staff were good, but little touches like comfortable cushions on the sun beds were missing. There was rust stains on the outside walls, and a general lack of care.
With a little overhaul this could be a fabulous hotel, as I'm sure it once was. But for what I paid it was very poor value.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get room 306
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Twenty long time friends stayed at the Albatroz in May. Everyone in the group was delighted with the property. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The view from our rooms was perfect and fabulous weather helped!! We found the meals to be just what we wanted. Breakfast buffet is very generous. The bar and outside area was a favorite place to gather for conversation and cocktails. Highly recommend. This was our second visit in 6 months.

Room Tip: worth the price to have a room with a view of the pool or beach
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARNCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We nearly visited the Albatroz 12 years ago while staying in the Hotel da Lapa (now the Lapa Palace) in Lisbon, as at that time the Albatroz was in the same ownership. Circumstances prevented, and 12 years on we finally booked a stay.
This is a truly excellent hotel in all aspects. The staff are formal but helpful and friendly. Our room had a magnificent view over the bay, and was perfect to watch the sun go down. The hotel provided a complimentary decanter of Port and some mini meringues to help the relaxing. Having had a long drive, we had a room service dinner on the balcony, which was very efficiently brought up. The bed was very comfortable and sleep came easy! Breakfast was unhurried, and the variety of food on offer was truly excellent.
Our only hitch was to arrive initially at the nearby Villa Albatroz and be redirected (the wonders of sat-nav) which seemingly is a common occurrence!
There will certainly be a return trip here!

Room Tip: A good sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Albatroz is a very nice hotel, well located, with good views and we enjoyed our stay.

The atmosphere at the hotel is pretty quiet and those who go there are not looking for an action packed time, but a relaxing holiday with little activity.

Check in was quick and throughout the stay we felt the staff were attentive, if somewhat serious. The rooms are nice, but not a five star standard. Ours was clean, but we felt it was tired and in need of updating. We overlooked the back of the hotel, where the car car park is, which was fine for us. Not everyone can have a sea view. The slight problem was that people were coming and leaving the hotel at all hours. I certainly would not call the room noisy, but there was enough noise to interrupt my husband's sleep. It is slightly baffling that they haven't installed better sound insulation.

The pool area was well maintained and had beautiful views over the coast. My only complaint was that the water in the swimming pool was very cold, to the point to which very few guests, including ourselves, wanted to use it. For a hotel that it is meant to be 5 stars and charges a lot of money to its guests, this was a major stumbling block. At a lesser hotel, you can suck these things up, but when we are being charged a lot of money, we expect a certain standard.

The food was good. Breakfast is a buffett, with a variety of things to choose from. We only had lunch at the hotel once, but we enjoyed it.

Overall, we liked the hotel, but it needs to work on a few things.

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the car park. It isn't noisy, but if you are a light sleeper, you may get disturbed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews