We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming place with great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charm of Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charm of Cascais
Ranked #3 of 39 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Veghel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming place with great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We made just one mistake when booking at The Charm of Cascais and that is that we just booked for one night. The hosts are extremely helpful and their house is just great. In the evening when there was some rain they drove us to the old city center and gave us good advice for dinner. The next morning again some great advise about things to see in the neighborhood. Next time we'll definitely stay longer.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Guests

Your stay was short but we are sure that you will come back in order we can thank you in style for your fantastic review

Regards

Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
136
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had five nights at Susanna and Ruys fantastic house in Cascais. It was the best nights (and days) of our stay in Portugal, and it was actually sad that we had to leave. The resort is not very large, nor is it the most luxurious place, but it is without doubt the most charming place we have ever been. Laid back and elegant Susanna making the best drinks, and charming Ruy making great food or help you choose great wine/port. We`ll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlimmyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Friends

The best part of your review was when you say you will come back , that's the reason for our hospitality.

Thank you for all

Regards

Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice villa with swimming pool made as a guest house, in the quite heart of the city, very close to main places of interest. Rooms, breakfast, service... Everything is just perfect. The owner and his wife will kindly take care of your stay. By the way, this is the only hotel with its own private yacht in Cascais. You can sail everyday and mr. Captain will teach you basic thinks and tricks. It was amazing. Highly recommended for all types of tourists.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Friends


Sorry about the delay of my answer but the Summer is quite busy thanks to good reviews like yours , Thank you . Next time we will sail again , Yes ??

Regards

Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would really recommend this accommodation. The owners are very friendly and hospitality is very high. We arrived the first day at 10 am and were directly offered some breakfast. The rooms are very clean, nice decorated and it is close to the centre of Cascais (1,5 km). The owner also cooks dinner and it was delicious.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sjoerd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Good evening

Sorry for the delay of my answer but just have a little time to do it , you know as it is , dont you ?

Thank you for your nice review and hope to welcome you in the close future

Regards

Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

When we made our reservation there was just the standard room left so on arrival we were very pleasantly surprised, the room was spacious, beautifully decorated and with a very large airy bathroom. We were warmly welcomed and were soon enjoying a pre-dinner drink in the beautiful sitting room. Dinner was excellent and good value for money. All the comments on previous reviews regarding the fantastic hosts, Ruy and Susana, are spot on. They are masters in the art of charming hospitality. We observed that every guest seemed to be treated with the appropriate amount of attention, the hosts skilfully judging the needs of each with genuine warmth. We were delighted when Ruy offered to show us the sailing yacht moored close by at Cascais Marina, spending a day or two sailing on this beautiful boat would be amazing! We would very highly recommend this wonderful place and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Good evening

Thank you very , very , much the excelent revue that I've read in July but only can answer today, sorry for that .You need to come back in order I can to thank your in person , so please let me know when ?

Regards

Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay at the Charm of Cascais was delightful from beginning to end. All the staff were lovely and very attentive particularly Susana, who couldn't be more helpful if she tried. We, agree it is
quite a walk into town, but we needed the exercise after being treated to such wonderful breakfasts. An added bonus was also having the swimming pool to take a refreshing dip after walking back from the town in the afternoon, a very relaxing area. The only disappointment was that our room faced the road which we found a bit noisy with traffic at night and the local dogs barking. The owners dogs were no problem and it was lovely to see them as they were very well behaved. The walk down to Boca do Inferno and along the Marina into the town is a lovely walk, although a bit longer. The restaurants in Casa de Guia whilst a little bit more expensive are very good and have a wonderful setting by the sea.
We found we did not need a car due to the excellent public transport. You can use bicycles for free, one pick up point is Casa de Guia but you must provide two forms of ID , a contact phone number and the details of where you are staying. You also need to get there early as the bikes are popular and there are a limited number. The bus service is very easy to use and has regular services to all main routes. Would be well worth picking a route planner up at the beginning of your holiday to plan ahead. The train service is also excellent and regular services run direct from Cascais to Lisbon. You will be given green ticket when you buy a train fare. You need to keep this if you intend to use the rail service more than once as you are charged for this, we think about 50 cents per ticket. When you purchase your next train fare hand this over to the cashier and they will reuse the ticket.
We really enjoyed our first visit to Portugal and found Susana's local knowledge very helpful.
Thank you Susana, Ruy and staff for making our holiday a week to remember

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the house as the front rooms face quite a busy road and can be noisy at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our house and thank you for a so realistic review. You have touched some important points to future guest understand what are we offering,, handmade hospitality

Regards

Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Unfortunately I have been able to make a last minute reservation only for three nights, but my stay was excellent and it seemed that I had a long holiday! Normally after the exhausting flight from US the first day in Europe does not count, but not this time! The limo met me in the airport and I was right on time for the divine breakfast. Moreover, a homemade dinner was promised for the evening and after a little nap in my beautiful room, I felt in a different world.

This Bed and Breakfast definitely stands out because of the following reasons:
1. The owners Ruy and Susana treat guests as personal friends. The cooking (breakfasts and dinners) is most sophisticated. Transportation provided!
2. The rooms are beautifully decorated. I loved my balcony!
3. The stuff does an excellent job and the rooms are very clean. Nice soaps and creams are provided.
4. B&B is located in a quite part of Cascais. You would need to walk to downtown, but for me it was an advantage.
5. It is a wonderful place to socialize with other guests, but it is also a great place if you want to do some reading.

I will be back for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony! Make your reservation in advance as this place is very popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lovebrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Hi my friends

Sorry about the delay of my answer but Summer has been very busy, thanks god.

Beautifull review , thank you .

Hope to see you again next Winter

Regards

Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charm of Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charm of Cascais

Property: The Charm of Cascais
Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 669 | corner with Av Pedro Alvares Cabral, Cascais 2750-170, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charm of Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charm of Cascais is a unique property located on a peaceful and residential area at a walking distance from the town center and the sea , the Marina and the Guincho Road fish restaurants. It is an impressive beautiful and well balanced house surrounded by a nice Mediterranean garden with some fruit trees and a bio cooking herb agriculture production used for the home cooking at our restaurant .A 10x5 swimming pool will make your days fresher . Free use of hotel special towels at the pool. Enjoy our Sun lying on our sun lounge beds .Only 8 en-suite Rooms with all the comfort, large private bathrooms , bathrobes , safe deposit boxes, deluxe amenities, LCD TV , direct phone (at a cheap price to keep you in touch) , WIFI free internet, air conditioning/heating, Hair Dryer etc .The lounge will be the meeting point , Pool table , bar sofas e maples , LED TV Tea room - every day at 5pm your tradicional Tea and Scones Vinoteca - Oporto Wine tasting AreaGarden Restaurant – Light meals at lunch time by the pool and garden Breakfast room Restaurant with fine wines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Charm of Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing