We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salazar era hotel.”
Review of Hotel Cidadela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cidadela
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Sydney
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Salazar era hotel.”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

While appearing dated with it's dated 60's decor, Cidadela Hotel turned out to be a wonderfully relaxing and friendly hotel. We appreciated the upgrade to a very spacious double room. The staff were very helpful and attentive, while the hotel has a fabulous deep pool and garden area. After exploring Lisbon etc during the day, we loved coming back to this hotel to relax by the pool.
The location is good if you don't mind a short walk into Cascais. From Cascais we easily caught a train to Lisbon (40 minutes) or local bus to Sintra (bus 117) which the hotel staff told us about. While in Cascais itself there are many restaurants, beaches and nightlife. The only downsides to Hotel Cidadela were some dated plumping in the bathroom and the average breakfast. However, overall we were very happy at Hotel Cidadela.

Room Tip: All the hotels have balconies, but the higher rooms have good district views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    95
    80
    25
    21
See reviews for
52
114
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We are a couple in our late twenties and stayed here for a weeks holiday. Staff are helpful and the rooms are very clean but I must admit I was disappointed by the decor and general atmosphere in the hotel.

It is very dated ( 1960's)and the decor is dull and generally depressing. It would be fine for a short stay but we stayed here for 7 nights. It just didnt have the fresh, bright feeling that a hotel on your foreign holiday you've saved hard for should have.
I wasnt expecting the Hilton but one should feel excited on entering a hotel room at the start of a holiday. There should be some glamour. Sadly this place just did not have it.

The swimming pool is clean but is beside a busy road with car horns sounding all day.
As for access to the local amenities, the hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the centre so as long as you are mildly fit you wont mind the short walk to the town. We didn't.

Visitors during our stay were mostly young families and eldery couples but there was no one our age. I would not recommend this place to young people craving some fun!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honesteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cascais hotels

Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

cozy hotel with beautiful view on boat, We stayed there from 17.06.11 - 24.06.11

the staf were very friendly.

the room was clean and large, with balcony.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natelav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Got a bargain deal at yeego.com incl. breakfast and compared with other hotels in Cascais, it was an outstanding price. Hotel itself is really ok. We´re not talking Sheraton here, but its very clean. Room is perhaps old fashioned, but still functionable and just as clean as the rest of the hotel. Got a fabulous view over the city and the sea, which was great waking up to. Pool area was wonderful and the poolbar too. Breakfast has everything you might need. Its a 7-8 minute walk from the city square, but that might be needed after being out having heavy dinners etc. So whats not so good about this place? Its staff! The guy at the poolbar was great and so were the maids. But the guys at the reception are so slow in understaing good service. Since we were missing the refrigerator that was supposed to be there, we asked for one. They told us they were gonna fix it at once. Nothing happened. Asked 3 times. Nothing happened. So we gave up...Another member of staff that does not understand good service is the man in the main bar. Unfriendly character... Would we come back though? Yes! For the price paid, its a must!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larzon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The Citadela was our last choice but it was the week of 1st May we didn't have much of a choice. We paid euro 120 and for that price we didn't expect the spartan beds and thin pillows. Worst of all the room was stuffy and smelt stale. Thankfully we had a balcony and could leave it open but the noise from the street made it annoying as we were supposed to be on one of the best beaches in Portugal!
The light on the lift landing was out and dark and we made an effort to inform the reception and upon returning around 11pm, found that nothing had been done to change the bulb or ensure that the lift landing was lighted!
We were disappointed that the staff in general, wore a mask of dis-interest and at breakfast when we asked for our table to be set, we were told to "wait a minute"... We asked because we didn't want to be impolite to do the work of the waiter but after having asked twice, and 15 minutes later, hungry, we helped ourselves...
We certainly do not recommend this hotel ~ not at Euro 120 as it qualifies for a back-packer, budget type of accomodations. The hotel seriously needs a renovation both in infrasturcture and staff service attitudes.

Room Tip: There does not seem to be good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dvinemsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edfen, Prospective Owner at Hotel Cidadela, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
I have been carefully observing the operation of this hotel for the past several months on a daily basis.The Cidadela often described as dated has excelled in my opinion in capitalising on its maturity and charm and this has applied considerably to the exceptional staff.
Not for one moment would the hotel in what I have witnessed in a critical form qualify for a negative report as described .On the contrary in my opinion it is undergoing a consistent renaissance as will be seen from the previous reports.
The restaurant is a generous 100 seat inviting eatery probably one of the best of its example in space and service level and to be seated at a prepared place would be instantaneous,with no waiting.I would have been present at the time described when the hotel was comfortably 70% occupied .I never witnessed anyone having to wait for a table as would easily be seen to be the case with 100 seats available excluding the adjacent overflow with a further 50 seats.The atmosphere during the first week of May was a happy enjoyable one ,healthy activity with a quiet efficient and friendly management by the experienced staff.
The large landings [incidentally with huge windows with illumination from outside in addition] like in many hotel establishments are energy switch sense controlled and not one landing has been allowed to have non functioning lights.
All bedding is of the highest quality,top end mattresses and pillows for example with pure cotton cover and 100% polyester filling supplied by well known professional proprietary hotel suppliers .No complaints have ever been received in this regard.
The hotel has no rooms opening onto a street.In fact the nearest main rd that the hotel overlooks with the sea beyond is interfaced with the large swimming pool and lush tropical garden with furthermore pine and then a colonnade of oak trees before the road.
No room is rented without having full housekeeping and check that all airconditioning and services are fully functioning.Cidadela prides itself on a head house keeper of 30 years plus experience and a deputy for each of the 4 bedroom floors in addition to a 2 person chambermaid team per floor .
No complaints were registered with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Just a short walk from the beach and all the restaurants, this hotel could not have been better. Paid 50 euros for a double ensuite room with a balcony overlooking the sea. Whilst the hotel was built in the 1960s, this seemed to add to its charm. Plenty of choice for breakfast, minibar in the room, comfortable beds and helpful staff.
We slept with the balcony doors open, but this could be a little noisy with the traffic. However the rooms do have aircon and the doors shut out the noise completely.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMJWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Having been to Oz and several other places in 2010 we were on a budget hence we booked this three star hotel and expected it to be very basic and run down having read the reviews. I thought it definitely should have been a 4 star. We had twin sinks, soap dispencer all the ususal complimentary toiletries. Lovely view from our veranda. Not only were towels supplied but most days a young man brought them to our loungers and directed the sun shade where we wanted it. Upon request they supplied a kettle and cups etc: we supplied out own tea, coffe etc: but this was such a bonus drinking coffee on our verranda with a cake from the local bakery. Carpets were all new and fresh. Sheets/towels were changed daily . I could find absolutely nothing to complain about. Our return flight was canelled due to A French air strike and we were accommadated in the Sheriton. The view from our room with no balcony was abysmal and the room was dark and depressing. Obviously 5 star treatment but I preferred the cidadela, I cannot recomend it enough..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette555716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#3 of 17 in Estoril
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
965 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#13 of 17 in Estoril
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidadela

Property: Hotel Cidadela
Address: Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cidadela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment-style Hotel in busy residential area, about 600 yards from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cidadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidadela Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing