We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right- the Cidadela Hotel, Cascais”
Review of Hotel Cidadela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cidadela
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We travelled as a couple and needed a place on the Lisbon Coast with good connections to Sintra for a friend's wedding. We were very pleased with our choice of Cascais ( a lovely resort with lots to do, good restaurants and little tourist tat). The Cidadela is a three star, but it had all we needed- a good breakfast(regularly topped up supplies of fruit salad, eggs,bacon and bread). Quiet, soundproof rooms for a restorative sleep with blackout curtains, pool and air conditioning. The room also had good lighting for reading. We paid extra for a sea view,(room 538). The staff we dealt with were practical and helpful- they even checked us in on line for our return flight. We paid 9 euros for safe rental for the the week.Unfortunately, there is no fridge/ mini bar in the room and no tea making facilities. There is a hair dryer which was fine to use hidden away in a dressing table drawer. The shower, bath and double sink were all functional and clean although a little old. Towels were changed everyday. The hotel is up a hill from the main drag, but we soon got used to this- it was no problem. I wouldnt want to negotiate the pavements in high heels as they were uneven and slippy. We found Cascais to be well located with a couple of restaurants we would recommend- the Flecha Azul at Avenida Valbom no 8B- unpretentious cafe run by three brothers- we enjoyed the fresh grilled fish here, they also do Sagres beer and cakes/ desserts for a good price. A bit different is the House of Wonders at Largo da Misericordia http://www.facebook.com/houseofwonders, they serve lovely cakes and blended tea on a Moroccan style rooftop, for a lovely chill out. We travelled out a couple of times to Lisbon which is very easy on the train and to Sintra on the bus ( a long and twisty journey on the 403, better route on the 417). Links to the Airport in Lisbon were also straightforward using the Aerobus which links directly with the Cais de Sodre Station for the train to Cascais and Estoril.

Room Tip: we were pleased with our 5th floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CroydonPixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were a group of 4 people who were in Portugal to visit the Optimus Alive festival just out on the outskirts of Lisbon. We wanted a reasonably priced hotel with a pool to relax in the day time. Admitedly the hotel is a few years old, but the furniture and fixtures where of good quality. In a few years time it willl be retro-chick!! The rooms were large and airy with great views out to sea - we were in 532 and this had fab views.

The reception staff where really helpful and always on hand to help solve any problems.

We would definitely recommend this lovely (if not a little quirky) hotel to future guests

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosiejoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Old decor and a tired image. The room was adequate though the bathroom had inground dirt. All a bit old fashioned. Lovely to sit on the balcony on an evening if only the beeping of the pedestrian crossing would stop it went off every minute.

The pool was nice enough if a bit cold you had to really want to swim. We ended up walking to the beach rather than staying at the hotel.

Breakfast was nice enough for the first week but got a little boring in the second.

The lady on reception was just rude at times and very grumpy! No matter how many times we greeted her in Portuguese!

We would not stay again if we could get somewhere else of similar price.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank Tuckumbo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

To my opinion, the price is too high for the place that haven had cosmetic repair for that long. There is that characteristic smell of an old place, although the room was quite clean, the wardrobe doors smelt, the toilet that was just cleaned still had some sort of smell, tiles were old and one of two sinks was damaged, so water was running when tap opened. Also the hotel has around 150 rooms, but only 12 or even 8 have double beds, the rest are twin. That made us move beds together but that wasn’t the comfort we expected having paid over 100 eur a night. The hairdryer was weirdly located in one of the cabinets of TV table in the room, cord going though the hole in the back of the table to the socket, so you couldn’t take it out, the only option is dry your hair in front of TV. We ve checked our friends room- it was the same. And even though the breakfast was very nice, those little thing did leave the impression we wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Check if you are getting the bed you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Helpful, knowlegeable, and above all, very friendly staff. This is the second time we have stayed here and the experience was identical. Yes, the hotel hasn't been re-furbed for a while, but standards here are perfectly good and clean. Breakfast, cleanliness and all standards in fact, compare with much more expensive and high rated hotels we have stayed at in Lisbon itself. The rooms are larger than normal, and you will find the ensuites massive compared to most. Yes it is on high ground - but that means the balconies have a great view over the town to the Tejo and over to Caparica. You can also see the Christos Rei if you look carefully and it is not misty! Consistently good standards seem lilkely and I would book with confidence now. No complaints about the hospital noise possible now as it closed a couple of years ago! It is easily walkable into town by the way - 15mins (and I am NOT athletic).

Room Tip: I suspect there is a high ratio of twin rooms to doubles, so be specific if you want the latter - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedodgerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is a bit cheaper because it is not right in the heart of the city, but it is on a busy road, so if you sleep with the windows open – it can be loud when the Street sweepers go by.
The staff was very helpful and helped us some with our Portuguese. The pool would be even better in the summer (it was too cold for most in April ), but it is long enough to actually swim laps in (at least 20 m). It's beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jtellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

On the circular bus route from the train station. Reasonable prices available online. Basic rooms. Adequate breakfast. Pool is great but very cold even in August. Stayed here two consecutive summers with my family. Main concern is the abruptness of staff and a general unhelpfulness. We still visit Cascais but we have found a friendlier (alas more expensive) alternative hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naissuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#12 of 17 in Estoril
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#3 of 17 in Estoril
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#11 of 39 in Cascais
769 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alvorada
Hotel Alvorada
#8 of 17 in Estoril
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidadela

Address: Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: £38 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cidadela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment-style Hotel in busy residential area, about 600 yards from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cidadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidadela Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing